| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 10:06:04
Subject: Assualting multiple units...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Was doing some reading and this seemed to be an issue. Can a single character of mc assualt more than one unit in a single assault?
I had always believed they cannot. However this seemed to come up and I wanted to be clear if I was correct on this ruling.
Here is what the rulebook says pg 34. "The closest attacking model must be moved to contact the closest model in the enemy unit against which the assault was declared. Then remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units, as long as they keep following the rules for moving assaulting models."
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/12 10:09:19
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 10:14:40
Subject: Assualting multiple units...
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Nope. You posted the applicable rule. "remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units". Ummmm, there are no remaining models if the assaulting unit consists of a single model.................
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/12 10:14:59
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 10:27:30
Subject: Assualting multiple units...
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
thanks. I wont mention the site i was reading on, but when they.... the experts get it wrong, I start questioning if I missed something somewhere.
Thanks again.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 10:29:52
Subject: Assualting multiple units...
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Hmmm, musta been BoLS..........
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 11:25:23
Subject: Assualting multiple units...
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
I suppose something like a trygon might be able to contact the nearest model and also be able to contact a model in another unit....
Very difficult to do since you can't move enemy models out of the way.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 11:58:48
Subject: Assualting multiple units...
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
|
don_mondo wrote:Nope. You posted the applicable rule. "remaining models can assault models belonging to other enemy units". Ummmm, there are no remaining models if the assaulting unit consists of a single model.................
So what happens if "the shortest path" to an enemy model leaves you in base contact with another unit?
This happened to me during a game against Tyranids a while ago. My Deff Dread moved into base contact with a unit of Hormagaunts, following all the assault rules, and ended up also in base contact with a unit of Genestealers. We decided that he was locked with both of them.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 14:54:52
Subject: Re:Assualting multiple units...
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
I'm not looking at my rule book atm, but I believe if you're in base-to-base with any unit during the Assault move you are locked. I think you played it right.
|
Zain~
http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/12 16:02:04
Subject: Assualting multiple units...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Nope. There is a rule in there that seems meaningless. It basically says you can't get into base with any unit you are not assaulting. Normally this is a matter of definition, except for the *first* model.
So the first model assaults the 'target' unit, is not a remaining model, so can't assault a separate unit, and can't get into base with any unit it is not assaulting.
Which, kinda makes my hive tyrants grumpy....
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|