Switch Theme:

WE spirit sword interaction with screamingbell/furnace?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Freaky Flayed One






Sprit sword states "...any enemy that suffers one or more unsaved wounds from the spirit sword must roll a d6 and add their LD the wielder does the same. For each point the wielder wins by , his opponent loses an additional wound..."

now the screaming bell/furnace has a LD (-) the WE faq says that the spirit sword "It has no effect on models with no leadership value" so bad grammer aside the WE faq indicated that the spirit sword will have no effect.
But then I read the skaven Faq and in response to the question "What is the leadership value of the Bell/Furnace" the answer is "they have LD 0 (-)"

I am confused. Is a LD 0 the same as not having a LD, or is a zero a value and therefore the spirit sword will work on the bell?

I know that to some it seems like it may be simple, but I want to be sure how this works so no one gets hosed.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Ld(-) is EXACTLy the same as Ld0, it tells you this in the rulebook.

Not having a Ld would be not having the stat listed at all, or something else in place of "-"
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

Essentially, spirit sword would most likely not effect the bell as your own example: "It has no effect on models with no leadership value"

Just smack the grey seer, or start chopping would at the unit itself.

Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




njpc wrote:Essentially, spirit sword would most likely not effect the bell as your own example: "It has no effect on models with no leadership value"

Just smack the grey seer, or start chopping would at the unit itself.


But it *does* have a Ld value - Ld0. You are *specifically told* that Ld(-) == Ld0, therefore it has a Leadership value.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




The skaven FAQ about LD was written specifically do deal with situations like this (and the blade of realities, etc). Treat the LD of the bell as 0. If it has to make a leadership test, it auto-fails. It seems pretty clear that in this situation, the same principle applies (and if I'm reading the rule right, you have the potential to auto-kill bells and furnaces, etc).

Manchu wrote:It's a lie, K_K, pure Imperial propaganda. Where's the Talon of Horus, huh? Plus everyone knows the Imperium planned and carried out the invasion of Cadia itself. Bin Abaddon was just a convenient scapegoat.
 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

I would definitely agree with the others. You are explicitly told the Bell/Furnace profile's "Ld: -" value is to be treated as Leadership score of 0. This is not "doesn't have a leadership score". It is explicity 0.

 
   
Made in us
Freaky Flayed One






that was my thinking. I just know that when I use that sword, (on a certain player that likes to run a bell and furnace) I wanted all my ducks in a row for when the complaints start rolling in.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

I just wanted to clarify this- what about other things that are "models with no leadership value"? If leadership "-" is the same as "0", then what model has no leadership value?

I would assume that this ruling about "-" = "0" for leadership is only true for the items in the skaven army book that it refers to- not a general ruling for all models with leadership "-" (since the wording of the wood elf FAQ makes it clear that this sword can't hurt something)...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it is a ruling in the BRB, where it tells you that characteristics of "-" = 0. The FAQ simply reiterated this.

If you dont have any value listed you have no Ld value. If you have a Ld value of "-" then you *do* have a Ld value - just sa very poor one.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Cool, I see that now- thanks for clarifying.
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: