| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/16 22:30:49
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Brainless Servitor
|
this is an anomaly I discovered while researching psykers and force weapons. It concerns the Primaris Psyker of the IG codex so I'll use him as the example.
He is equipped with a force weapon and has two pyshic powers at his disposal one of which, the Lightning Arch, is a shooting psychic power. Per the rule book, page 50:
"Psykers can use on psychic power per player turn...Even if a psyker has a special rule allowing him to use more than one psychic power per turn, he can use only one psychic shooting attack."
Then, beneath that section is the listing for the force weapon:
"[force weapons] have the same effects as power weapon, but also confer to the wielder one additional psychic power, used in close combat...the normal rules for using psychic powers apply (rememver that a psyker may normally use only one power per turn)."
The question for me is whether or not The Primaris Psyker can shoot Lightning Arc at the unit he assaults in the subsequent assault phase. The wordage that complicates what should be simple is the force weapon listing, "but also confer to the wielder one additional psychic power."
I'm thinking is that the Primaris may shoot the lightning arc or wield the force weapon in close combat but not both.
Any input would be greatly appreciated.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/16 22:33:30
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
One extra power is not the same as "one extra power use". It's an Extra power, but he is still limited to 1 per Player turn. In short, he has an Extra power that he can choose to use, but that does not allow him to use multiple powers.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/16 22:33:57
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/16 22:36:21
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Raging Ravener
Sealed in a box- in a state of flux
|
When it says it gives the psyker an extra power, it refers to giving it the ability to ID something. It does not let you use an extra power each turn
|
DS:90-S+G++M--B--I--Pw40k06+D++A++/hWD300R++T(S)DM+
DerangdFlamingo wrote:Tau 1: Is that a black eye mate?
Tau 2: Yeah, i got lucky last night... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/16 23:06:39
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
the force weapon gives you it's OWN psychic power. as per above. the simple situation is you don't get an extra psychic attack of your choice, you get a specific one.
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/16 23:19:29
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
Also, he is free to wield the Force Weapon in the assault phase as much as he likes. If he has already used the maximum number of psychic powers for that turn (usually 1, force weapons DO NOT add to this), then he MAY NOT use the special ability of the force weapon to cause ID.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/16 23:55:16
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
Nope. Sorry. Wrong
Using a Force Weapon counts as a Psyckc Power. You have to do a psykic test, so it's a power.
So, if you're a standard psyker, you can use either a shooting/buff attack, or the Force Weapon - not both.
|
Codex: Grey Knights touched me in the bad place... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 05:44:09
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Alex Beisel wrote:"[force weapons] have the same effects as power weapon, but also confer to the wielder one additional psychic power, used in close combat.
It's the Instant Death effect of the FW that is a psychic power. A psyker that spent his power use in shooting can still attack with the FW as normal.
edit: even if he had a power use left nothing requires that he use it... it's optional, not mandatory.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/17 05:45:59
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/17 22:07:48
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
Chesapeake, VA / D.C. area
|
Miraclefish wrote:Nope. Sorry. Wrong
Using a Force Weapon counts as a Psyckc Power. You have to do a psykic test, so it's a power.
So, if you're a standard psyker, you can use either a shooting/buff attack, or the Force Weapon - not both.
this is interesting,. that you have a test.
|
4000 all painted
Tau 3000 paints base coated
Tyranids 16k - 75% painted
Orks - 5000k - 30% painted? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 08:22:07
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Auspicious Skink Shaman
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
|
He's free to swing his force weapon about all he likes, if it's got other powers like it being a power weapon, those are still good.
|
DS:80S++G++MB+I+Pwhfb05+D+A++/areWD-R+++T(D)DM+
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 15:07:54
Subject: Re:force weapons
|
 |
Elite Tyranid Warrior
Ontario
|
Can you use the ID ability on your opponents turn? As it says you can only use one per player turn.
If I remember correctly force weapons count as a power weapon so you always get that ability if you use a power or not.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 15:31:41
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes you can use it on the opponents turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 16:58:23
Subject: Re:force weapons
|
 |
Traitor
|
How does this interact with psychic shooting attacks? Let's say I have a Sorcerer with Warptime, Wind of Chaos, and a force weapon. I can use either Warptime and Wind, or Wind and the FW's ID, but not Warptime, Wind, and the FW ID all in the same turn, right?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 17:05:07
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It interacts in no way with PSA in any way different to another type of psychic power: a PSA is one psychic power, using the ID of the force weapon is another. If you have the abiltiy to USE 2 powers a turn then you can use both. If you have the ability to use 3 you could use all 3 - etc.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/19 01:23:18
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
With the Chaos Sorcerer you can give him the Mark of Tzeench which allows him to use two powers each turn, in that case he can use his Force Weapon and also use a second power. However, he can still only use a single shooting power each turn.
If you want more than one shooting power, you need a Tzeench marked Daemon Prince, since Monstrous Creatures are allowed to make more than one shooting attack. There is actually a good bit of explanation about this in Ahriman's FAQ. He gets three powers per turn and all sorts of shenanigans ensue.
|
From Iron, cometh Strength. From Strength, cometh Will. From Will, cometh Faith. From Faith, cometh Honour. From Honour, cometh Iron. This is the Unbreakable Litany, and may it forever be so |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/19 08:28:27
Subject: force weapons
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
England
|
just to clear things up a bit here.
the force weapon itself you can always use; it is essentially a power weapon just as you'd find on say, a captain. the ability it confers, to inflict instant death, is a psychic power that you can choose to cast.
so, say if a librarian, for example, casts smite at an enemy and charges on the same turn, he still gets the ignore armor save part of the force weapon. however he cannot choose to cast his instant-death force power.
this is different if he is allowed to use 2 powers per turn, of course.
|
sons of the tempest 10/1/1 WDL. 1000 points
Raynor's Raiders
WIP starcraft themed army, currently in buying stages
Unnamed Daemons
Glubzog Nutcracka's green tide
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|