| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 09:08:10
Subject: Executioners Axe with Std of Hag Graef and Conflaguration of doom targetting
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Had 2 previous games were some situations have occured that I have to call a few things into question because im pretty sure im right about the rulings however I was playing against fantasy vets and ive only been seriously playing fantasy for 6 months.
a) when you have a dreadlord with Executioners Axe who gets always strikes first (standard of hag graef in the black guard unit accompanying him in this case) against another model with ASF (in this came Grimgor Ironhide) who gets to strike first. Now RAR states that if you have 2 models with ASF then the model with the higher inititive strikes first which would be my dreadlord. A player in the game however said that any magic weapon with the strikes last rule goes after the opponent in an ASF scenario. Now we flipped a coin to resolve the dispute and my axe went first and ripped Grimgor a new one. Since the game though whether I was right in the first place or not has been driving me nuts and I cant find in either the BRB or in the FAQ anything stating that when it comes to ASF that you diver from the standard ASF > Inititave > roll off
b) If a unit is in close combat and an enemy wizard has los to the unit, can he cast conflaguration of doom. My understanding of the rules for magic is that unless it states that you are able to cast it into close combat, the spell cannot target a unit engaged in close combat. However in the case of conflaguration of doom the only targeting restriction it lists for itself is los
c) If I cast Black horror and hit a MR unit with it, do they get their MR against the spell? As much as Ive read up on it, It seems to ignore MR due to targeting the area and not a unit directly. Automatically Appended Next Post: Oh and yeah one more
d) Goblin Staff of sneaky stealing - if playing a 2 vs 2 game, does the staff get to take a 2 power dice ( 1 from myself and 1 from my partner) or does it just take 1 from 1 of us. Wording on the staff is it occurs at the start of each of your opponents magic phases however if we start our magic phase simultaneously would it only take 1 dice total instead of 1 from each player?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/18 09:15:16
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 09:55:44
Subject: Executioners Axe with Std of Hag Graef and Conflaguration of doom targetting
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
a) No, you are correct. The rules clearly state INitiative is what matters - SL is entirely ignored.
So you hit first.
b) It has to *specifically* state it can be cast into combat - that is what is required. If it does not state this it cannot be cast at units at combat.
c) Is black horror an area effect? If it effects an area (e.g. all units within X") then MR is neever triggered.
d) Work it out between you, the rules do not cover games of more than 1v1. I would recommend that both players share a single power pool and if you do this then it only steals one dice.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 15:42:54
Subject: Executioners Axe with Std of Hag Graef and Conflaguration of doom targetting
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Cherry Hill, NJ
|
I agree 100% with Nos. His answers are right on the money here.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 17:52:31
Subject: Executioners Axe with Std of Hag Graef and Conflaguration of doom targetting
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Black Horror is a template spell to which the first line read "place a template anywhere in 18 inches, any model touching the template is affected"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/18 18:01:26
Subject: Executioners Axe with Std of Hag Graef and Conflaguration of doom targetting
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
As such you are not *targetting* any unit, therefore MR will not be triggered.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/19 21:28:20
Subject: Executioners Axe with Std of Hag Graef and Conflaguration of doom targetting
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The template is placed after the spell is successfully cast. Until then, there IS no target, so no MR applies.
|
She/Her
"There are no problems that cannot be solved with cannons." - Chief Engineer Boris Krauss of Nuln
LatheBiosas wrote:I have such a difficult time hitting my opponents... setting them on fire seems so much simpler.
Kid_Kyoto wrote:"Don't be a dick" and "This is a family wargame" are good rules of thumb.
DR:80S++G++M--B+IPwhfb01#+D+++A+++/fWD258R++T(D)DM+++
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|