Switch Theme:

THROT  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

Must he accompany a unit of giant rats or rat ogres, or am I right in interpreting his rules to say that he may accompany them, and if he does so then he counts as a packmaster for Ld, etc? In other words, I want him in my clanrats not my rat ogres - legit?

- Salvage

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

Tough call- the only thing implying that he might have to be put in a unit of Giant Rats or Rat Ogres would be the first line:

"Throt counts as a Packmaster for the purpose of leading Giant Rats and Rat Ogres."

And under the Packmaster's entry (NOT Throt's) it says:

"Packmasters and Master Moulders lead units of Giants Rats or Rat Ogres. They cannot leave their unit or join another."

I dont see it saying he HAS to accompany a unit of giant rats or rat ogres- it also says that any of those units within 12" can use his leadership, and from the description, sounds like he might lead a number of these units into battle (and not be tied to one unit).

This would also lead me to believe that if he DOES join a unit of Giant Rats or Rat Ogres, he could leave the unit- since it only says he "counts as" a packmaster "for the purpose of leading" one of those units (not that he actually IS a packmaster... if that makes sense).

So I agree with the "may" not "must" interpretation. Sounds legit?
   
Made in us
Savage Minotaur




Chicago

If it says he counts as a packmaster, then he follows the rules for the packmaster thing.

I'd say he HAS to lead a unit, because if he counts as one, then he has to follow the rule, if they wanted him to be different, GW wouldn't have wrote "counts as a packmaster"

Get my meaning?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




To my knowledge, he is akin to a Skaven Grimgor with the Rat Ogres / Giant Rats being the bodyguard. He may join a unit, but the only units which he may join are either the Rat Ogres or Giant Rats. You could, if you so desired, run Throt naked. Why you'd do that I can't quite fathom, but you could.
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

I am of the opinion that that statement is qualified by when he's in a rat / ogre pack or not. Here's a clause reordering: "For the purpose of leading giant rats and rat ogres, Throt counts as a packmaster." Nothing has changed except that the qualifying clause comes before the clause suggesting his ability to count as a packmaster. If this rule were NOT there, then the unit would suffer stupidity or mandatory movement as both of those unit rules require a 'packmaster' or 'master moulder'.

What the rule doesn't say is that Throt is a packmaster flat out. He only operates like one in those units that care.

- Salvage

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
Savage Minotaur




Chicago

Ah, I see, yeah, he doesn't have to.
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

I agree... you can't drop the second half of the sentence. It's not just "counts as a packmaster".

It's: "Throt counts as a Packmaster for the purpose of leading Giant Rats and Rat Ogres."

As Salvage says, if this rule were not there, then that unit would act as if it had no leader even if he were in there.

I think it's much more consistent with the rest of the book to allow Throt to join any unit. You can put a plague priest in a unit other than plague monks, even though it doesn't make sense. You can have him leave that unit. You can do the same with everything except the large warmachines (screaming bell and plague furnace). I think Throt's the same... he has the benefit of counting as a packmaster should he choose to join a unit of Rat Ogres / Giant Rats but is an independent character and so can leave and join the unit as he sees fit- not like the packmaster / master moulders that can be purchased as upgrades for that unit.

I'd like to see someone list examples of other special characters that are forced to lead only a certain type of unit... I bet the wording is much more explicit. From what I can see, there is not requirements like that for any of the characters of the different clans in the skaven books (assassins, engineers, plague priests, etc...) they can all join the different skaven units, even though they're best suited to a certain one.

It also wouldn't make sense. Throt is expensive, and should act as a character, being able to leave and join units. If you extend the wording to make him an actual packmaster (rather than counting as one) then he can't leave his unit!? That wouldn't be consistent with any of the other characters of the skaven book, or fantasy in general, I think.

Again I'd like to see examples from other army books of characters that must lead certain unit types. I think it will be much more exlpicit, such as it is for the screaming bell: "The Screaming Bell must be deployed in a unit of Clanrats or Storm Vermin."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/19 14:44:07


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He doesnt have to - he only "counts as" a Packmaster for a specific purpose: leading and controlling the rats. That is the ONLY way he counts, and therfore can join another unit.

Why you wuold use Throt i dont know....
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Because he's the only character who, as a packmaster, can go in the back of a unit of giant rats/rat ogres. Every other character (including Master Moulders) must stand in the front rank and take their lumps, entirely against character. But them's the rules...

CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

Can Throt actually stand at the back? The FAQ declared that my master moulder has to ride the front as a champion, do characters have the option to not? I've actually been unclear on this in the new book, whether my characters can deploy in the rear any more like the old book. The rule letting them still help is there, but I wasn't sure it was legal to start out in rear ranks, not just get challenged-refused back ...

I keep going back and forth on Throt, and the thing for me is that he causes fear. His abilities are ok, and a warlord is much more survivable with the same Ld, but causing fear solves at least one unit's problems with fear / terror. Kicking my rat ogres into core also means I've got a special slot open for some PCB

- Salvage

KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth






Shadeglass Maze

I got the impression from reading the book (disclaimer: not a skaven player) that characters had to be deployed in the front of a unit, but could refuse a challenge and go to the back, but still use their LD, etc.

I didn't see anything about deploying in the back of a unit in the new book...
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

I have a sneaking suspicion it's technically allowed in the BRB (though the character essentially vanishes in terms of items, abilities, Ld, etc), but I keep forgetting to dig up that long forgotten section

- Salvage

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/19 20:07:43


KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, characters must be deployed - you can only be deployed in the 2nd rank if there isnt enough room to deploy at the front.

Verminous valour just lets them retire to the back ranks if they refuse a challenge, and the dont suffer the ill effects of retiring, so the unit can still use their Ld, they can cast, etc.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Hunh. I though that counting as a packmaster, he could deploy as a packmaster too.

But then, thinking about it, master moulders are packmasters too... okay, my mistake!

CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. 
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin





At risk of being OT, I would like to raise a question in regards to Master Moulders. The FAQ claims that they are unit champions and thus go in the front rank. However, they are also packmasters, and thus can be deployed in the rear ranks. Is there some rule that says the main book supersedes specific army books? If Master Moulders are champions more than packmasters, then you don't randomize to hit them with shooting, right? But if they are more packmaster than champion, they get to sit in the back but might get shot by accident.

I agree with this thing on Throt, though. He'd technically go in the front, according to RAW.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If they are champions then thehy MUST go on the front ranks.

the AB says they "can", the rulebook says they "must" - the rulebook is more specific and wins out.
   
Made in us
Evasive Eshin Assassin





True enough. So then, as the count as champions in "all respects", they can't be randomly hit and aren't killed until attacks are directed at them. Actually, it's a pretty fair exchange.

 
   
Made in us
Omnipotent Lord of Change





Albany, NY

Warpsolution wrote:True enough. So then, as the count as champions in "all respects", they can't be randomly hit and aren't killed until attacks are directed at them. Actually, it's a pretty fair exchange.

You actually do randomize to shoot them - partially because they're still packmasters for mixed unit purposes, and partially because they're champs who likely don't have 5 RNF models accompanying them. Overall a pretty dense call IMO, means that the electro-whip can literally never be used as a whip, only a +D3 magical ahw That on top of making the unit ugly rank-wise.

- Salvage

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/07 21:32:52


KOW BATREPS: BLOODFIRE
INSTAGRAM: @boss_salvage 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Warpsolution wrote:True enough. So then, as the count as champions in "all respects", they can't be randomly hit and aren't killed until attacks are directed at them. Actually, it's a pretty fair exchange.


They CAN be hit, if there are less than 5 RnF
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: