| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/19 14:53:24
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
The rulebook states that a character counts as an upgrade to his retinue, until the retinue dies, only then, does he become an IC.
So, if the character dies before his retinue is killed off, wouldn't that mean that the whole unit only counts as one KP?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/19 14:58:39
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, it is always worth 2KP regardless of the order of operation.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/19 15:10:44
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
the RAW is above, the RAI is that it's a balance for the fact that he can't voluntarily leave the squad. by losing IC status while in it, he/she can't be picked out in close combat while an IC attached to a squad can.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/19 16:32:54
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
They are always worth 2kp, no matter which one dies first.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/19 16:33:03
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/05 23:37:37
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
Page 48 of the Rulebook states that a character counts as an upgrade to his retinue until his retinue is destroyed. Once they are destroyed, then he counts as an Independent Character. So if the Character dies before his retinue does...the character never counted as an Independent Character and thus is not worth a separate KP as he was only ever an upgrade.
Anyone see anything wrong with this thinking?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/06 00:00:01
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Have a look at the Kill Point rules on page 91... The character and his retinue are specifically stated as counting for a kill point each.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/06 00:08:24
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
Ah...yes...yet another GW contradiction.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/06 00:13:40
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Kill Points are simply a way of tallying up who has won. They chose to count retinues as separate from their owning characters (I would assume) to keep things fair for the newer armies who largely don't have retinues.
So they count as a single unit during the game, but when determining what has been killed characters count separately.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/06 00:36:20
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
Company Command Squad Commanders, on the other hand, are neither characters nor do they have retinues. They make up for not being able to be targetted by sucking at close combat
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/06 03:44:01
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
Steadfast Grey Hunter
|
ductvader wrote:Page 48 of the Rulebook states that a character counts as an upgrade to his retinue until his retinue is destroyed. Once they are destroyed, then he counts as an Independent Character. So if the Character dies before his retinue does...the character never counted as an Independent Character and thus is not worth a separate KP as he was only ever an upgrade.
Anyone see anything wrong with this thinking?
Beside the point you have to apply wounds to like models first so for the most part the retinue tends to die before the IC anyway. Not always the case but mostly.
|
"So that's a box of lootas/burnas (there's only FIVE complete minis in here, and only four of them what you wanted!), a Dark Elf army book and two pots of paint. That will be your first born." - Kirbinator |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/06 04:05:37
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
TheBlackVanguard wrote:Beside the point you have to apply wounds to like models first...
Sorry, but there is no such rule.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/06 04:11:11
Subject: IC and retinue can count as a single KP
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
The rulebook only states the "returns to IC status after the retinue is destroyed" to show that he can then go on and join squads, is NOW targettable in cc, etc.
|
40k Armies I play:
Glory for Slaanesh!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|