| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 15:41:54
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
Hello everyone! I've come across other sites that say something along this lines:
When a black templar unit gets shot at, it can go to ground. If I take wounds and fail a save (so a model did die), I still roll to move forward (if I pass the leadership). However, after I move forward the models are no longer considered going to ground, so next turn they act normally and do not lose their turn.
Is this true? The wording on going to ground combined with the outdated Black Templar's codex makes it confusing.
If someone thinks this works the way it does stated above, can you help me navigate the rulings and wording? I have some majorly condescending rule lawyers at my shop and need to be able to defend myself
thanks Dakka!
|
Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 15:45:24
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
[DCM]
Dankhold Troggoth
|
Hmm... seems tricky. One the one hand, saying they don't run forward means that going to ground is a great way to keep your unit where they are, if you want to for some reason. On the other hand, what you're describing sounds really unfair.
I'm not sure how I'd handle it... like you say, it's a byproduct of a very outdated codex...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 15:53:57
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
i don't see anything in your righteous zeal rule that says the consolidate move breaks you out of going to ground. it simply says you consolidate forward if you pass it; it says nothing about being able to ignore the "can do nothing by their own volition" clause of voluntarily going to ground.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 15:59:12
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
You only stop being "gone to ground" if you fall back. Consolidating does not end this.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 16:04:46
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Well, I do see where he's getting it. The GtG rule says that you still react as normal and then mentions Falling Back in the next line as "return to normal immediately". Therefor we have Marines that can GtG, use Combat Tactics to fail their Morale test, and then use ATSKNF to act as normal on their own turn.
So, if the Falling Back bit is just an example and not the sole exception, then any special rule that causes you to have to move after GtG will break the GtG. The INAT ruled otherwise, saying that the BT make their consolidate move and then return the GtG.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 16:06:18
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Except the falling back bit is not an example...
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 16:09:00
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
and that his rule (the one he is trying to use and specially replaces falling back) mentions nothing about returning to normal. he stays on the ground and the "majorly condescending rule lawyers" have every right to not allow him to do anything with those units.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 16:25:31
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
Implacable Black Templar Initiate
|
warboss wrote:and that his rule (the one he is trying to use and specially replaces falling back) mentions nothing about returning to normal. he stays on the ground and the "majorly condescending rule lawyers" have every right to not allow him to do anything with those units.
Um... first off I've never actually used this rule. My problem with people like them is that EVERYONE gets rules wrong (even rule lawyers). If someone isn't being an ass when asking for a rule, I don't like it when people are elitist back. I take 40k seriously, but it IS a game.
This is a ruling I've found on other forms that I wanted to check to see if it works the way other sites have mentioned. If it doesn't work it's cool, I found the ruling last night. I've never used the rule and I wouldn't be losing anything. If it does work, I'd enjoy having a rule like this.
|
Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/22 16:46:04
Subject: Black Templar Love going to ground? (with no drawback)
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Gwar! wrote:Except the falling back bit is not an example...
Maybe, maybe not. It could be a follow-on line to the previous sentence or it could be a stand-alone. I dunno one way or the other.
warboss wrote:and that his rule (the one he is trying to use and specially replaces falling back) mentions nothing about returning to normal. he stays on the ground and the "majorly condescending rule lawyers" have every right to not allow him to do anything with those units.
Of course it doesn't. Since GtG didn't exist when it was written...................................
Whatever, doesn't matter to me one way or the other, just pointing out why some people think it might work that way.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|