| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/24 23:49:28
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
Hi guys,
Please help with my questions.
1) If Parasite of Mortrex joins with a Deathleaper before deployment. Do they must start the game in reserve? Do they deep strike with a scatter dice or chameleonic skin? They can only walk up from the board's edge?
2) Tyranid Prime joins with a Deathleaper. When my opponent shoots at them, do they take "Where is it?" test?
3) Let say my opponent have 10 models and 8 of them are inside difficult terrain and 2 are standing outside of the terrain. The 2 models outside are the closest models to me. When I assault them with 6 models, do I have to take a difficult terrain test? Can I pile everyone on those 2 models?
4) Can Parasite of Mortrex ( IC) join a Mycetic Spore before deployment?
5) My opponent deploys 10 guardsman at from of his Chimera. Is the guardsman tall enough to grant the Chimera cover save? 4+, 5+, or 6+?
6) A Carnifex hides behind a GW standard tree, is it possible to get cover save? 4+, 5+, or 6+?
7) When my psyker cast a psychic power within range of 3 Space Wolves Rune Priest, do I have to roll against 3 runic weapons? How about multiple psychic hoods?
8) What upgrade or which version grants a Leman Russ throwing 3 large blast per shooting phase?
9) Is the Tyrant Guard tall enough to grant a Carnifex 4+ cover save?
Thanks for helping me out.
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 00:02:44
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
New Player wrote:Hi guys, Please help with my questions. 1) If Parasite of Mortrex joins with a Deathleaper before deployment. Do they must start the game in reserve? Do they deep strike with a scatter dice or chameleonic skin? They can only walk up from the board's edge? 2) Tyranid Prime joins with a Deathleaper. When my opponent shoots at them, do they take "Where is it?" test? 3) Let say my opponent have 10 models and 8 of them are inside difficult terrain and 2 are standing outside of the terrain. The 2 models outside are the closest models to me. When I assault them with 6 models, do I have to take a difficult terrain test? Can I pile everyone on those 2 models? 4) Can Parasite of Mortrex ( IC) join a Mycetic Spore before deployment? 5) My opponent deploys 10 guardsman at from of his Chimera. Is the guardsman tall enough to grant the Chimera cover save? 4+, 5+, or 6+? 6) A Carnifex hides behind a GW standard tree, is it possible to get cover save? 4+, 5+, or 6+? 7) When my psyker cast a psychic power within range of 3 Space Wolves Rune Priest, do I have to roll against 3 runic weapons? How about multiple psychic hoods? 8) What upgrade or which version grants a Leman Russ throwing 3 large blast per shooting phase? 9) Is the Tyrant Guard tall enough to grant a Carnifex 4+ cover save? Thanks for helping me out.
1) You cannot do that. The Deathleaper unit is ALWAYS 1 model. IC's may not join such units, as per the rules for IC's in the BRB. 2) See #1 3) This has been argued to death somewhat. It boils down to Yes, No, maybe. 4)... No? You mean "embark" on one? Still No. 5) It depends on where the firing unit is. Get down and Check, that's the only way to know. 6) No. Read the rules for MC's and Cover in the MC rules. 7) This was cleared up in the GW Errata. The RP get 1 Chance. 8) Get a IG codex and Find out. 9) Again, get down and Check. it depends on where the firer is.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/25 00:02:57
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 00:05:57
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Some of these questions are impossible for us to answer. Especially those involving granting coversaves. Most of them are very dependant on angle and placement.
Those can only be answered by you, by taking a models-eye-view.
The rest of the answers can be found by looking in the relevant codexes, rulesections and FAQs.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 00:08:51
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
New Player wrote:Hi guys,
Please help with my questions.
1) If Parasite of Mortrex joins with a Deathleaper before deployment. Do they must start the game in reserve? Do they deep strike with a scatter dice or chameleonic skin? They can only walk up from the board's edge?
2) Tyranid Prime joins with a Deathleaper. When my opponent shoots at them, do they take "Where is it?" test?
3) Let say my opponent have 10 models and 8 of them are inside difficult terrain and 2 are standing outside of the terrain. The 2 models outside are the closest models to me. When I assault them with 6 models, do I have to take a difficult terrain test? Can I pile everyone on those 2 models?
4) Can Parasite of Mortrex ( IC) join a Mycetic Spore before deployment?
5) My opponent deploys 10 guardsman at from of his Chimera. Is the guardsman tall enough to grant the Chimera cover save? 4+, 5+, or 6+?
6) A Carnifex hides behind a GW standard tree, is it possible to get cover save? 4+, 5+, or 6+?
7) When my psyker cast a psychic power within range of 3 Space Wolves Rune Priest, do I have to roll against 3 runic weapons? How about multiple psychic hoods?
8) What upgrade or which version grants a Leman Russ throwing 3 large blast per shooting phase?
9) Is the Tyrant Guard tall enough to grant a Carnifex 4+ cover save?
Thanks for helping me out.
1) IIRC the Parasite walks on while the Deathleaper uses his skin. The chameleonic skin does not count as moving, so they can be placed separately but will not be joined together if they do so.
2) Yes, they are shooting at the Deathleaper. EDIT: hey, that was a trick question
3) Maybe. The rule requires that you take a difficult terrain test if you will have to move through difficult terrain. It is not clear whether this takes precedence over the order of priority for making assault moves. One set of rules says "If possible, do this" while the other rule says "Do this if you have to."
4) No. I honestly have no idea why you would want to.
5) You tell me.
6) See #5.
9) See #6.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/25 00:10:07
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 00:29:39
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! is spot on with his answers, the only one of his I am going to modify (not saying it is wrong, as much like he said, it depends on the situation) is the third one. Because the figures do not have to move through cover by assaulting the two guys out of cover (not making the roll to move through cover as thebetter1 suggested), you are not assaulting through cover and thus strike at your normal initiative.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 00:41:41
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend
|
But units always move at the speed of the slowest model in that unit...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 03:25:35
Subject: Re:Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
As for question 1, replace Deathleaper with Lictor. Do they must start the game in reserve? Do they deep strike with a scatter dice or chameleonic skin? They can only walk up from the board's edge?
For question 5, the firing unit is at front of the tank and looking at the front armor of the Chimera, 10 guardsmen standing b2b forming 2 lines of 5 at front of it. Are the Guardsmen tall enough to grant cover save to that Chimera?
Thanks for clearing up some these questions.
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 03:27:26
Subject: Re:Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
New Player wrote:As for question 1, replace Deathleaper with Lictor. Do they must start the game in reserve? Do they deep strike with a scatter dice or chameleonic skin? They can only walk up from the board's edge? For question 5, the firing unit is at front of the tank and looking at the front armor of the Chimera, 10 guardsmen standing b2b forming 2 lines of 5 at front of it. Are the Guardsmen tall enough to grant cover save to that Chimera? Thanks for clearing up some these questions.
1) The Game Breaks, since the Lictors MUST Deploy by chameleonic skin (which is very clear how it works, have a read of it) while the Tyranid Prime Cannot. So Don't do it. As for #5, like we said, Get down and look. That is THE ONLY WAY to tell.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/25 03:29:02
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 08:44:39
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
s2ua7 wrote: Because the figures do not have to move through cover by assaulting the two guys out of cover (not making the roll to move through cover as thebetter1 suggested), you are not assaulting through cover and thus strike at your normal initiative.
You need to be careful about making such blanket statements to a new player.
If you read his question, you'll notice that the pivotal question being posed is; "Can I pile all my charging models onto the 2 in the open to avoid having to roll a difficult terrain test, and thus being slowed down?"
This implies that several friendly models can actually reach enemy models in cover, but he chooses not to in order to avoid having to take the difficult terrain test.
The answer should be more along the lines of; "Yes, you can, but you still need to be able to do so following the assault rules. Keep in mind that once the 2 enemy models in the open is in base to base contact with any of you models, then any remaining friendly models must assault enemy models not yet contacted if possible. This can lead to the third, fourth or fifth friendly model having to take a difficult terrain test thus slowing the whole assault down".
To the OP.
Remember to include all the pertinent facts when asking rules questions.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 13:13:14
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
6) A tree 'can' give cover to a fex, but again, you need to look for yourself to make that determination.
1a) I would say the Parasite needs to enter via board edge, and the Lictor needs to enter via Chem skin, and be in coherency with the Parasite.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/26 07:35:37
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
coredump wrote:
6) A tree 'can' give cover to a fex, but again, you need to look for yourself to make that determination.
1a) I would say the Parasite needs to enter via board edge, and the Lictor needs to enter via Chem skin, and be in coherency with the Parasite.
Let say starting them as a separated unit, the Parasite deep strike in first as its own unit, and then the lictor shows up 1" next to the parasite, and join the two as one unit? Or is it the other way around (lictor shows up first, and then Parasite deep strike next to it and join them as a unit).
Thank you s2ua7 and Steelmage99, that really sums up what I'm looking for for question 3.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/26 07:37:33
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/26 09:20:10
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Just dont attach IC's to Lictors, the game breaks as there is no "RAW" way for the unit to arrive.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/26 10:24:24
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I've actually talked with some guys on another forum and came to a single conclusion on Lictors and ICs joining them:
The only way an IC could join a lictor is to have everyone start in reserve. When it's time for the unit to deploy, they must deploy on the board edge. Since the only restriction is on the IC, you deploy him normally. Then the lictors deploy within coherency since they can deploy anywhere they wish.
Kinda defeats the purpose of the Lictors, I guess it COULD work with the Parasite for Deep-Striking, but there is no RAW that really backs it up. You'd be rolling for scatter for the Parasite though and he would lose his extra 6" movement.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/26 10:24:46
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/27 02:42:42
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
Thanks for the help guys.
I was desperately trying to collect that 3+ cover save using parasite with lictor. I'll just use rippers.
Someone once told me that if an IC deep strike 2" next to an unit, the IC can declare to join them, but like Hoodwink said, I can't find the rule to back it up either.
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/27 10:05:47
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The IC doesnt "declare" being part of the unit, it MUST be part of the unit if it ends its movement phase within 2" of a unit it can join.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/27 10:28:54
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend
|
The only time you need to declare ICs being parts of units, that's if they end up in coherency of more than one unit. They you have to say which of the units the character is joined to.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/27 22:17:57
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
Aw, so the deep strike in to join an unit works.
How about the IC deep strike in first, and then the lictors come in next to the IC? Can that make them one unit at the end of the movement phase?
Thanks
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/27 23:36:17
Subject: Re:Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
All this to get the Parasite of Mortrex a cover save?
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/28 23:30:31
Subject: Re:Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
California
|
puma713 wrote:All this to get the Parasite of Mortrex a cover save?
yes, and I want the rules to be clear so I don't have to end up debating over the table.
|
DEATHLEAPER and MAWLOC are born to WIN objective games! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/28 23:49:45
Subject: Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
Considering how tricky the subject is, you will get discussions over the table anyway.
|
-------------------------------------------------------
"He died because he had no honor. He had no honor and the Emperor was watching."
18.000 3.500 8.200 3.300 2.400 3.100 5.500 2.500 3.200 3.000
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/29 06:39:12
Subject: Re:Random questions (mostly Tyranid related)
|
 |
Plaguelord Titan Princeps of Nurgle
Alabama
|
New Player wrote:puma713 wrote:All this to get the Parasite of Mortrex a cover save?
yes, and I want the rules to be clear so I don't have to end up debating over the table.
But why? I mean, it's much less trouble to simply attach him to a unit of deep striking gargoyles. Say, 20 or 30. You can get 20 gargoyles with toxin sacs and adrenal glands for 160 pts. Doubtful someone is going to chew through that. Not to mention on the next turn, detach the parasite (if you so choose), and assault the unit you'd like while still maintaing the gargoyles to attack something else.
Just seems like a lot of trouble to get the Parasite a cover save when there are much more efficient ways to get him into the fray unscathed.
|
WH40K
Death Guard 5100 pts.
Daemons 3000 pts.
DT:70+S++G+M-B-I--Pw40K90-D++A++/eWD?R++T(D)DM+
28 successful trades in the Dakka Swap Shop! Check out my latest auction here!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|