| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 05:32:36
Subject: Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
I'll keep it simple to start off with:
Can a 10-man tactical squad with a dedicated transport allocated to it, do the following:
-Deploy 5-man combat squad, reserve 5-man combat squad?
-Deploy 5-man combat squad, with 5-man combat squad in transport?
My understanding of the RAW is:
Tactical squad is one unit before deployment.
Tactical squad can not be divided into combat squads until deployment.
Placing unit in reserve is done instead of deploying.
Entire unit must be deployed in transport if the transport is to be loaded when deployed, otherwise it is empty.
The particular example:
If i have a razorback with a 10 man squad, i believe i can not deploy this squad in the transport as it exceeds the size, and therefore must deploy the unit as standing as 10 men + razorback.
While deploying outside of the razorback i decide to combat squad the tactical squad. Once deployed they act as independent units and one unit can then embark into the razorback, however may not be deployed within the razorback as i can not embark during deployment.
I believe it to also be perfectly legal to place one of the now two squads within range to embark and once deployed can embark during the movement phace, but then can not disembark or shoot in that same turn (in the case of a heavy weapon).
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 05:37:17
Subject: Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
True. Combat Squading is done after the unit is deployed. Thus meaning that one half can't be kept in reserve. However, it is my understanding that you can start with one combat squad in the transport and one out. As this is just like deploying one on one side of the board and one on the other. =]
Oshova
|
3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP
DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 05:41:43
Subject: Re:Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
So you can then embark into a transport while deploying?
By extension: I have a land raider that currently has no unit in it... i combat squad my guys, i can then deploy the second combat squad in that?
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/25 05:44:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 05:47:59
Subject: Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Stealthy Kroot Stalker
|
Indeed you can. Unless the Land Raider is a dedicated transport ofcourse. =p
Oshova
|
3000pts 3500pts Sold =[ 500pts WIP
DS:90S++G++M-B+IPw40k00#+D++A++/fWD-R+++T(S)DM+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 05:50:00
Subject: Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Oshova wrote:Indeed you can. Unless the Land Raider is a dedicated transport ofcourse. =p
Oshova
Correct. If it is not a Dedicated transport, any unit may begin inside it.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 05:58:24
Subject: Re:Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
Part of the motivation behind this query is that I was under the belief that you could not embark a unit during deployment, they either start as a unit in or out of a vehicle, as you define at the start of the game (when detailing your reserves) what is in a vehicle and what is out of them.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/25 12:39:42
Subject: Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Part fo deployment is determining what is inside and out side a vehicle, using you rmethod you could never start a unit inside a non-dedicated transport.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/26 01:20:23
Subject: Re:Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
if i've defined them at the start of the game as starting in the vehicle its in the vehicle...
If i change my mind while i'm deploying then i'm changing the state of play, which, if i've deployed second could impact on how my opponent would have deployed, and i would view that as a dirty move.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/26 09:44:55
Subject: Flogging a dead horse? Combat squads, Deployment/reserves/transports.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You dont have to decide anything until you deploy. Once you have deployed you CANNIOT change your mind about where things are.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|