Switch Theme:

Black Templar Drop Pods forgot HQs at home?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate






OK so I've come across another tricky situation from the Black Templar rules (stupid outdated codexes!).

I've read on other form sites that Black Templar units that take drop pods can not have HQ's drop with the squads. For instance, a unit of 9 crusaders in reserve with a drop pod could not have a chaplain join them and drop with them. (Most of this issue comes from the fact that the army entries themselves do not say units can take drop pods, it is only discussed on page 22 of the codex. Page 22 covers which units can take a drop pod).

It seems page 22 has the answers to this type of question buried inside it somewhere. The Marshal and Chaplain entries direct you to page 22 for dealing with characters. Here it states that HQ can "join and leave squads as described in the Warhammer 40k rules for Characters." Also on page 22, they cover drop pods. It says, "Any command squad, sword brethren squad, dreadnought or crusader squad and all types of terminator squads that model ten or less may take a drop pod."

So it never really says if they can or if they can't. IMO it's pretty obvious that HQs can't just take their own drop pod alone, they are not covered in the units that are allowed to take drop pods.

But if I'm reading it right and they act just as described in the 40k rulebook, they could join a squad and deep strike in.

I'll be honest, if they can't go in the pods I've got to rework some lists I'm taking to tournaments. I just bought my first 5 drop pods for a list, never used them before but I'd hate to get there only to have to either rework my list or bug out. It seems like a no brainer but I have doubts about what is truly correct.


Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life!  
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok






Columbia, SC

Check out what the BRB has to say about ICs joining units held in reserve. So long as there is space available in a Dedicated Transport, the IC can legally join the squad that purchased the transport, and the squad is riding in the DedTrans, there shouldn't be a problem.

So, the Emperor's Champion can, as far as I can tell, ride with a crusader squad in DP, so long as the Crusader Squad + EC is 10 models or less.




 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate






Cool so that should apply for Marshals and Chaplains too.

I was a little worried that I actually couldn't take them in the pods, would have sucked. I do love throwing holy orbs and I can't wait to throw my first one out of a drop pod squad.

Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life!  
   
Made in us
Boom! Leman Russ Commander








Can you post these other threads/forums? I'd love to see the reasoning....

.Only a fool believes there is such a thing as price gouging. Things have value determined by the creator or merchant. If you don't agree with that value, you are free not to purchase. 
   
Made in us
Implacable Black Templar Initiate






It was somewhere on bolter and chainsword, I've spent about 20 minutes trying to find it but can't anymore. I wish I could, all I saw was one post about it but can't find it again to see the responses to the person who thinks it doesn't work.

Rejoice in furious challenge, and avenging strife, whose works with woe embitter human life!  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: