Switch Theme:

Eldrad's Redeployment  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Slaanesh Chosen Marine Riding a Fiend






The sink.

Can Eldrad use his divination ability to place units in reserve that were initially deployed on the board?
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Noisy_Marine wrote:Can Eldrad use his divination ability to place units in reserve that were initially deployed on the board?
No.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in au
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator






and vice versa.

 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper





The wording is a little vague, but note the line 'no unit may be moved outside of its deployment zone'.

If a unit has been deployed in reserve, it's deployment zone is in reserve. If a unit has been deployed on the board, it's deployment zone is the area of the board the mission allows you to deploy units upon. You cannot use this power to change the deployment zone of a unit.

Go Sonic the Ultramarine! Zap to the Extreme!
 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Striking Scorpion



Oregon

I don't have the codex with me (or the rulebook), but I don't recall putting a unit into reserve having wording which "changes its deployment zone to reserve". Furthermore, I'm pretty sure eldrad's divination reads something like "redeploy d3+1 units". I'll check when I get home, but if my recollection is correct.... I don't see why you can't. Especially since it happens after infiltrating and reserve/DS is announced.

I'm willing to be that its going to be inconclusive in the end - won't say you can, won't say you can't, because whoever wrote eldrad's divination probably didn't consider it.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






"After both sides have deployed at the start of a game, the Eldar player may reposition D3+1 units in his army. No unit may be moved outside of its deployment zone."

Personally, I would say that taking a deployed unit and putting it into reserve is moving it outside of it's deployment zone. However, taking a unit in reserve and putting it on the table is moving it into it's deployment zone.

Only one thing is designated as "deployment zone" - the space on the table. This talk about reserve being a deployment zone is not in the RaW.


Incidentally, by RaW, this rule doesn't work for female Eldar players!

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/03/29 19:12:58


 
   
Made in gb
Bounding Ultramarine Assault Trooper





Scott-S6 wrote:"After both sides have deployed at the start of a game, the Eldar player may reposition D3+1 units in his army. No unit may be moved outside of its deployment zone."

Personally, I would say that taking a deployed unit and putting it into reserve is moving it outside of it's deployment zone. However, taking a unit in reserve and putting it on the table is moving it into it's deployment zone.

Only one thing is designated as "deployment zone" - the space on the table. This talk about reserve being a deployment zone is not in the RaW.


Ah yes, I was incorrect. Hmm, checking the reserve rules it says 'players may choose not to deploy one or more of the units in their army and instead leave them in reserve'. Although whether a unit deploys or not, the player still has a deployment zone. A unit in reserve still has a position (even if that position is in reserve/off the board) so it can be repositioned.

You're correct, a unit can be removed from reserves and placed into the player's deployment zone, but not vice versa.

Scott-S6 wrote:Incidentally, by RaW, this rule doesn't work for female Eldar players!


By RaI this power lets you automatically win the game, as Eldrad divination means if you're deploying at all it's because he knows you've already won! That's obviously what the author intended, after all. ;P

Go Sonic the Ultramarine! Zap to the Extreme!
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: