Switch Theme:

Some Magical Questions! about death and dark elves :)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Knight Exemplar




In the Lore of Shadows.
The spell Creeping Death states if successfully cast the creeping death hits its target and etc etc..
Does that mean you can target anyone, as in a single character model to deal 3d6 hits on, or can you just say i wish to target that entire unit, Or just pick out a single person in that unit, as long as you have LoS and stuff?

Also a dark elf related question.

The black staff contains the bound spell, Power of darkness.
In the rule book it says a wizard may only attempt to cast each of their spells once.
Bound spells held in a magic item is cast in the magic phase like other spells.
So the wizard uses the magic item to cast the spell, or does it allow the wizard to cast the spell because of the item.
Which leads to if someone dispells the bound spell. Can the wizard still use her own version of the spell considering the magic item spell isnt her own its from the magic item?
also can the wizard use the bound spell, And her own version of the spell too (no definitive stating you can't do this in the rule book, That i can find anyway, i'd say no because it sounds a bit cheesy)
meaning i could have 2d3+2 power dice + how ever many for being X lvl wizard? etc

Thanks guys

Warmachine: Menoth/Cygnar/Mercenaries
40k: Tyranids!
Fantasy: Dark elves
Wood elves!  
   
Made in us
Wraith





Raleigh, North Carolina

I don't have my book on me, but I'm pretty sure Creeping Death hits a target unit, not a target model. If a character is running about by itself, then you can target the single character. If it is in a unit, you target the entire unit and if you roll enough in your 3d6 then you may allocate one onto the character/unique command.

The bound spell isn't really a Dark Elf-specific question, but I do see why you could see it as one. Bound items do not count as the bearer having cast that spell, so does not count against the wizard's ability to cast the spell on its own. Yes, a Lv.3+ Supreme Sorceress can take the Black Staff and effectively get 2d3+2 PD per turn if neither casting of Power of Darkness is dispelled. If you do not use these dice due to the magic phase ending early or lack of targets, though, that's a bunch of pain coming her way. It's also easier to miscast on that many dice simply due to odds.

The Black Staff and Sacrificial Dagger can make the relatively inexpensive combination of a Lv.4 and Lv.2 Sorceress into a very respectable offensive magic phase without a big investment in character slots and points. The problem for the Lv.2 is that you have to hope you roll the spells you want since only two out of a Lore isn't always the best outcome.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/30 15:12:13


 
   
Made in gb
Knight Exemplar




I have the 7th edition rule book here and it really does just say 'If successfully cast, the Creeping death hits its target and causes X and Y'
which made it confusing

Yeah its a dangerous tactics but i wanted to stick it on morathi for massive power pool and cast every spell

in the Power of darkness bit of the book it says you use different dice for these additional ones because they could kill you, But i dont see anything saying you can't just use all the bonus dice first before using your normal power dice.
So by using all the Darkness dice for top end spells then getting down to your original 4 for being a level 4 wizard that seems perfectly legit to me
Morathi with a potential 13 power dice <3

Only just started collecting and being poor all i have is a battalion box, 2 bolt throwers, 3 sorc's and morathi ;D makes 2000pts.

Thanks for the reply though! Will hopefully get to try it out in my first game when friends are home from easter hopefully she doesn't get eatten by the miscast daemon

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/03/30 15:50:36


Warmachine: Menoth/Cygnar/Mercenaries
40k: Tyranids!
Fantasy: Dark elves
Wood elves!  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




ANytime you see the word "target" you are restricted by what target means - and you target units, you can never target models within a unit.

Yes, you can use the bonus dice first, nothing stops you doing that - they are "normal" power dice, it is only if you dont use them you get hurt!
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block




Morathi cant use lore of death, only Lore of Dark Magic
   
Made in us
Deadly Tomb Guard




Payson Utah, USA

I also don't think you can put the Black Staff on Morathi as she is a special character and her equipment cannot be changed, unless she has a special rule that I don't know about, which she may have because I have never looked through the Dark Elf book, let alone read the thing.

I am a Utah man sir, I live across the green, our gang is the jolliest that you have ever seen, Our co-eds are the fairest, ans each one's a shining star, our yell you'l hear it ringing through the mountains near and far.
Who am I sir? a UTAH MAN am I. A UTAH MAN sir, I will be till I die.

KI-YI

Were up to snuff, we never bluff were game for any fuss, no other gang of college men dare meet us in the MUSS. So fill your lungs and sing it out and shout it to the sky, we'll fight for dear old Crimson for a UTAH MAN AM I!!

GO UTES!!!! 
   
Made in ca
Swift Swooping Hawk





Calgary, AB

So.

Creeping death is a magic missile. All rules for magic missiles apply (targeted at units, etc. see pg. 110)

Bound Spells.

The item automatically casts the spell, not necessarily the wizard. If you have a bound spell and the regular version of the spell, you can use both in the same turn.

The Battle Report Master wrote:i had a freind come round a few weeks ago to have a 40k apocalpocalpse game i was guards men he was space maines.... my first turn was 4 bonbaonbardlements... jacobs turn to he didnt have one i phased out.
This space for rent, contact Gwar! for rights to this space.
Tantras wrote: Logically speaking, that makes perfect sense and I understand and agree entirely... but is it RAW?
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Arion wrote:I also don't think you can put the Black Staff on Morathi as she is a special character and her equipment cannot be changed, unless she has a special rule that I don't know about, which she may have because I have never looked through the Dark Elf book, let alone read the thing.


Morethai can choose any one enchanted or arcane item. The Black Staff is a really nasty choice for her...

CHAOS! PANIC! DISORDER!
My job here is done. 
   
Made in us
Deadly Tomb Guard




Payson Utah, USA

Ahh, so there is a rule. cool, thanks for the info. Now that I think about it, Every time I've played against Morathi she has had this Item. I just didn't know it was a regular Arcane Item.

I am a Utah man sir, I live across the green, our gang is the jolliest that you have ever seen, Our co-eds are the fairest, ans each one's a shining star, our yell you'l hear it ringing through the mountains near and far.
Who am I sir? a UTAH MAN am I. A UTAH MAN sir, I will be till I die.

KI-YI

Were up to snuff, we never bluff were game for any fuss, no other gang of college men dare meet us in the MUSS. So fill your lungs and sing it out and shout it to the sky, we'll fight for dear old Crimson for a UTAH MAN AM I!!

GO UTES!!!! 
   
Made in gb
Knight Exemplar




Orkestra wrote:So.

Creeping death is a magic missile. All rules for magic missiles apply (targeted at units, etc. see pg. 110)

Bound Spells.

The item automatically casts the spell, not necessarily the wizard. If you have a bound spell and the regular version of the spell, you can use both in the same turn.


Didn't read the magic missile bit of the spell thanks! makes sense now

Thanks for the replies! thats both my questions answered yaay.
Only 1 week untill i can actually play woooo.

Warmachine: Menoth/Cygnar/Mercenaries
40k: Tyranids!
Fantasy: Dark elves
Wood elves!  
   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: