| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/30 22:31:34
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Can a Nob (attached to a boyz squad) embarked on a transport with boarding plank attack a vehicle within 2" if the squad shot at something different earlier in the round?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/30 23:47:33
Subject: Re:Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Poxed Plague Monk
AK
|
Yes.
The plank makes no distinctions of initiating the assault. It is just a single model making attacks against a target.
If you want to argue;
The limitation of assaulting only what you shot at in the same turn only affects choosing a target to assault.
The Trukk actually makes the targeting decision, since the plank is a vehicle upgrade, and nominates a model to make attacks as if charging.
There is no assault initiation and models do not get locked in combat.
You can shoot out of the vehicle at one unit and then plank another.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 00:04:38
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
I would disagree.
The plank allows the model to make an assault exactly as if it were disembarked and charging.
The plank facilitates the assault. It doesn't choose the target, or in any way change the normal rules for charging beyond allowing the model to assault without actually moving or disembarking.
So no, the limitation on assaulting what you shot would still apply.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 01:08:07
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
But didn't you yourself argue not too long ago (FD thread iirc) The the normal rules for assaulting didn't apply, such as BtB?
Also if the model was disambarked and charging wouldn't it be temporarily a different unit/able to choose it's own target.
And (weaker argument here... This one grasps at straws actually) couldn't it be considered that it's part of a multi-assault so as longs as the unit still assault what was orginally shot at the conditions of assaulting the unit shot at be met?
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 03:37:59
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
ChrisCP wrote:But didn't you yourself argue not too long ago (FD thread iirc) The the normal rules for assaulting didn't apply, such as BtB?
I argued that the vehicle being charged doesn't get to attack back because there is no base contact, and therefore no engagement zone.
That has nothing to do with whether or not the assaulting model follows those rules for assaulting that aren't over-ridden by the plank's rules.
Also if the model was disambarked and charging wouldn't it be temporarily a different unit/able to choose it's own target.
No. Whether or not it should be considered a unit of one model or not (and I see no reason it should be) if the model fired, it can only assault what it shot at.
And (weaker argument here... This one grasps at straws actually) couldn't it be considered that it's part of a multi-assault so as longs as the unit still assault what was orginally shot at the conditions of assaulting the unit shot at be met?
How is it a multi-assault? It's only one model using the plank. Single models can only engage a single enemy.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/31 03:38:37
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 04:49:28
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yep thanks.
Creation of a new unit - wouldn't share the 'memory' of what it's old unit shot at.
One model from a unit assaulting a different squad unit?
But now my brains slowly picking up speed, doesn't BP read more along the lines of "...allows a single embarked model to make it's CC attacks against an vehicle within 2" exactly as if it was disembarked and charging..."
So we are given specific permission to make CC attacks against a vehicle if it's with-in 2" which would over-ride the general one must assault the unit shot at, and what's more it isn't actually assaulting the vehicle it's 'as if'?
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 04:52:15
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
specific >general
Hit whatever vehicle is close enough with your plank
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 04:59:04
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
ChrisCP wrote:Yep thanks.
Creation of a new unit - wouldn't share the 'memory' of what it's old unit shot at.
It may count as a different unit, but it still shot at the same thing. So no, I'm not seeing that.
But now my brains slowly picking up speed, doesn't BP read more along the lines of "...allows a single embarked model to make it's CC attacks against an vehicle within 2" exactly as if it was disembarked and charging..."
So we are given specific permission to make CC attacks against a vehicle if it's with-in 2" which would over-ride the general one must assault the unit shot at, and what's more it isn't actually assaulting the vehicle it's 'as if'?
We're given permission to assault a vehicle, but no specific rule that over-rides any others that may apply to the situation. You're looking for a rule that says '...against a vehicle within 2" regardless of whether or not the model shot at a different target in the shooting phase...'
The BP rule doesn't say that. It gives you permission to assault a vehicle that you otherwise would have to disembark to assault. That's all.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 05:15:20
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I'm sure it allows CC attacks to be made as if, not an actual assault however... Codex quote time =P
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/31 05:15:42
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 05:44:19
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Well it looks like insaniak has it " a boarding plank allows a single embarked ork to make its close combat attacks against an enemy vehicle within 2" exactly as if the ork were disembarked and charging" p.93
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 06:34:41
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Mmm, but it allows you to make CC attacks on a vehicle within two inches. It then goes on to say exactly as if so we can conclued it's not actually an assault just performed in the same fashion - I still don't understand how we're going from an enmany vehicle with in two inches to their actually assaulting so please make the following checks...
One could use a BP through a wall for example because one doesn't need to be in BtB as we're not actually assaulting.
|
"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 08:23:24
Subject: Re:Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
As if, peapole, as if. Thus its not an assault it makes attacks that the model would make in an assault.
Saying assault rules apply is like saying a unit that counter attacked benefits from furious charge, because it says it gets an extra attack as if it was charging.
Clearly counter attack dosent make it a true charge, and neither does a plank make a true assault, it just makes a dude hit a vehicle.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/31 08:24:01
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 16:02:24
Subject: Re:Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Thanks for the info so far, it seems like it could be ruled either way.
Anyone else care to chime in to help get a consensus?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 16:08:24
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
I agree with Hoverboy (and salute his Bulgarian flag! My wife is Bulgarian and I had a wedding there as well as over here; my in-laws are lovely people).
In a rare instance, I think Insaniak has a bad premise. The embarked Ork unit is not actually assaulting the vehicle, only making attacks as if they had done so. Since no assault is declared or made, the restriction on assaulting the unit one shot at does not come into play.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/03/31 16:12:05
Subject: Re:Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Awww someone knows Bulgaria my heart melted  to you and your wife... As long as you didn't go to Sofia, that place sucks i should know i live there
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/03/31 16:14:15
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/01 20:26:51
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
I've only spent a day and a half in Sofia, for a friend's wedding. It was a'ight, as the kids say. My wife's from Sliven, so that's where I've spent most of my time, with brief visits to Burgas, Plovdiv, etc. Nazdrave!
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/01 20:34:53
Subject: Re:Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Its one of those "nice to visit" places
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/02 00:38:48
Subject: Boarding Plank - Shoot and Plank-Assault Same Target?
|
 |
Furious Fire Dragon
|
I think Hoverboy's explanation makes more sense to me. I think you just check the logic in the sentence
Vehicle within 2"? Yes.
Got a model inside your vehicle? Yes.
Wanna make some attacks ..as if.. charging that other vehicle? Yes.
No one is really doing an assault.
|
Zain~
http://ynnead-rising.blogspot.com/
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|