Switch Theme:

Genestealers in reserve  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Europe

Infiltrate gives the genestealer the possiblity to outflank. But since I need to state that in deployment, may I instead use a tunnel made by a Trygon? (assuming that the Trygon arrives before the genestealers.)

Codex states that any infantry arriving from reserve may use the tunnel, does that override the fact that infiltrating units in reserve must outflank (if stated in deployment)?

8500p Plague Marines
Vote on my Titan on CoolMiniOrNot


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







a94marbo wrote:Infiltrate gives the genestealer the possiblity to outflank. But since I need to state that in deployment, may I instead use a tunnel made by a Trygon? (assuming that the Trygon arrives before the genestealers.)

Codex states that any infantry arriving from reserve may use the tunnel, does that override the fact that infiltrating units in reserve must outflank (if stated in deployment)?
Yes, they may use the Tunnel.

Just so you know, Infiltrators in Reserve do not HAVE to outflank. They have the option of declaring they are doing so.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/01 09:34:45


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Reading - UK

Aslong as your Genestealers are held in reserve and as long as the Trygon came up the turn before one unit can make use of the Tunnel that was specifically held in reserve/ouflanking once per turn.

I'd rather Outflank/Infiltrate personally because at least then you can Move/Run/Assault where as you can only Run if you come up through the tunnel.
   
Made in se
Jovial Plaguebearer of Nurgle





Europe

The reason I asked is that on page 94 it states that I need to declare if an infiltrating unit intends to outflank during deployment. Felt like I had to stick to that decision, and not suddenly decide to use the tunnel instead.
I can agree that it might be better to outflank, but depending on the situation it might be handy to have another choice of action.

8500p Plague Marines
Vote on my Titan on CoolMiniOrNot


 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Reading - UK

Sure, I agree, It could be useful for instance if you turn 4 a Trygon right next to an objective and then turn 5 tunnel your genestealers. If you weren't subject to the deep strike rules coming up from the tunnel then it would be truley awesome.
   
Made in us
Malicious Mandrake







L0rdF1end wrote:Sure, I agree, It could be useful for instance if you turn 4 a Trygon right next to an objective and then turn 5 tunnel your genestealers. If you weren't subject to the deep strike rules coming up from the tunnel then it would be truley awesome.
Why would you be subject to them?

Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:
bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic?
 
   
Made in gb
Dakka Veteran




Reading - UK

As far as I'm aware if you come up through the tunnel you can only Shoot/Run just like Deep Strike, that's the point i was trying to make.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




a94marbo wrote:The reason I asked is that on page 94 it states that I need to declare if an infiltrating unit intends to outflank during deployment. Felt like I had to stick to that decision, and not suddenly decide to use the tunnel instead.
I can agree that it might be better to outflank, but depending on the situation it might be handy to have another choice of action.


I had to read the paragraph on page 94 over again and the Subterranean Assault rules. Normally you would be correct about not being able to do this but the Subterranean Assault rules for the Trygon over ride the base rule.

The base rule being "If units in reserve have the 'deep strike', 'scout' or 'infiltrate' special rule, the player must declare to his opponent, during army deployment, whether they are going to use their special rules to deep strike/outflank or they are going to enter from his own table edge when they become available. This decision may not be changed later."

Fortunately the Subterranean Assault rule over rides then by stating "Any Tyranid infantry units (excluding those with wings) that arrive from reserve in subsequent turns may attempt to utilise this tunnel network and emerge from it instead of arriving as normal."
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Now we need to define 'as normal'.

Most folks I talk with define deep striking and Outflanking as *not* normal.

So if you want to 'tunnel' your stealers, you can't say they are going to Outflank, you have to just put them in reserve to walk on, and then they can use the tunnel.

.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







coredump wrote:Now we need to define 'as normal'.

Most folks I talk with define deep striking and Outflanking as *not* normal.

So if you want to 'tunnel' your stealers, you can't say they are going to Outflank, you have to just put them in reserve to walk on, and then they can use the tunnel.

.
Except, it is normal for Scouts and Infiltrators.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Or, "as normal" means "instead of arriving how you had declared them", whch is possible due to the context it is placed in.

Either way you can have them walk through the tunnel.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Gwar! wrote:
coredump wrote:Now we need to define 'as normal'.

Most folks I talk with define deep striking and Outflanking as *not* normal.

So if you want to 'tunnel' your stealers, you can't say they are going to Outflank, you have to just put them in reserve to walk on, and then they can use the tunnel.

.
Except, it is normal for Scouts and Infiltrators.

But that is not the same as "normal", that is a subset of units using a special rule to arrive. that is not the 'normal' way of arriving, they are additional rules.

Plus, the codex does not state it overrides the rule saying once you declare Outflanking, you can't change it. That caveat does not apply to the 'normal' way of walking on; so you can change that and arrive via tunnel.


"As normal" is just not a well defined term, nor a term that is easy to define.

   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




I declare deep strike, infiltrate, outflank, and reserves separately for each relevant unit during my own deployment, and I ask the same of my opponent. The guys I play with agree that 'Subterranean Assault' tunnels may only be used by units held in Reserves, NOT outflanking or deep striking.

This is not by any means definite, but this is how I organise my play to prevent such issues from arising.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Deep Striking/Outflanking is not 'normal'. If it was, every unit could do it without requiring a special rule to allow it.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I would agree with nos on this one. The context implies that it would replace whatever method the unit currently has declared with the option for Subterrean Assault. In no way do I see it attempting to define "normal" as walking from the table edge or it would have replaced normal with those words.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: