Switch Theme:

Does the deffrolla affect how you can disembark out of the BW?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






So when you disembark out of the BW. Are you allowed to place your models 2" from the defrolla? Or 2" from the hull?

I.E. can you place your models 2" directly in front of the deffrolla when they are disembarking, or do they have to "hang back" a bit closer to the actual hull of the BW.

GG
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

2" from the hull, RAW. Just call 'wobbly model' and place dice on the rolla to show where your nobz/boyz are actually standing, should you need them to be there. Or just pivot before disembarking.

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






tetrisphreak wrote:Just call 'wobbly model' and place dice on the rolla to show where your nobz/boyz are actually standing, should you need them to be there.

Models are impassable terrain. You cannot place models in impassable terrain (sans special rules).
What is so hard to understand about this...

You measure disembarking distance from the hull. The rolla is not hull. You cannot place models on the rolla.
RAW, anyway. In before dozens of people who play the rolla as hull.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/04/02 04:41:45


 
   
Made in us
Huge Hierodule





Louisiana

There is an exception for vehicles which allows them to become dangerous terrain, after they have been wrecked of course.

In a friendly game discuss with your opponent pre-game.

In a tournament, you likely will not be able to put your orks on top of your rolling pin o' killy death. Adjust for that accordingly and waaaaaugh yourself to victory anyhow!

Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. 
   
Made in se
Been Around the Block




2'' from the hull, and not to be placed on the deffrolla. Even for orks it's a bit insane to jump from the vehicle on an oversized meat grinder.
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Battle Creek, MI

like said above I discuss the battlewagon before hand explain that all measuring is from the hull and the deffrolla doesn't could as the hull, I'll take mine off if am disembarking that way

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Omadon's Realm

We play deffrolla = hull, which does 2 things. It allows burna templates to be fired from the front and it allows the troops to be places at the front of the vehicle if disembarking.

Deffolla should count as cosmetic as with rams etc but that isn't practical.

Whilst this does allow an advantage of sorts, we also count the rolla as increasing the BW's footprint, so range of enemy fire and higher % of scatter weapons hitting it counterbalance that nicely.



 
   
Made in us
The New Miss Macross!





Deep Frier of Mount Doom

there is a poll asking the exact same question that's been on the front page for a few days already. also, several other threads asking the exact same thing have popped up over the past few weeks since the revised ork faq came out.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






warboss wrote:there is a poll asking the exact same question that's been on the front page for a few days already. also, several other threads asking the exact same thing have popped up over the past few weeks since the revised ork faq came out.


Hey... thanks for the heads up.

Also, I did some reading under the open topped rule and it says that they can disembark from anywhere on the "vehicle" not hull.

GG
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






generalgrog wrote:
warboss wrote:there is a poll asking the exact same question that's been on the front page for a few days already. also, several other threads asking the exact same thing have popped up over the past few weeks since the revised ork faq came out.


Hey... thanks for the heads up.

Also, I did some reading under the open topped rule and it says that they can disembark from anywhere on the "vehicle" not hull.

GG

No it doesn't. It says they can disembark within 2" of any point on the vehicle.
Which is a distance measurement involving the vehicle.
Which means it's measured from the hull.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






Vehicle = To the Hull (no deffrolla)
Model = To any part on the model (deffrolla)

My Models: Ork Army: Waaagh 'Az-ard - Chibi Dungeon RPG Models! - My Workblog!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
RULE OF COOL: When converting models, there is only one rule: "The better your model looks, the less people will complain about it."
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=
MODELING FOR ADVANTAGE TEST: rigeld2: "Easy test - are you willing to play the model as a stock one? No? MFA." 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






That's what I get for trying to be brief. I forgot that you can't use brevity in the YMTC forum, with all of the rules lawyers lying in wait to pounce on the slightest technical error.

But yeah, anywhere within 2" of any point of the vehicle. That doesn't invalidate my point however.

Anyway, nkelsh makes a good point with this:

Vehicle = To the Hull (no deffrolla)
Model = To any part on the model (deffrolla)

Not saying that I think that settles the matter, but certainly is food for thought.

Also since there is another thread allready going on about this very issue, I'm going to let this one die and monitor the other thread.

Thanks,

GG
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: