Switch Theme:

Brother Corbulo  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Brother Corbulo. His ability of Far-Seeing Eye. Would this allow you to re-roll the die you rolled to who deploys first?

Why conquer worlds when you can simply create them. My blog. http://natfka.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




I would say yes, since it specifies, "even to seize the initiative." Since that has pretty much the same requirements and setup as the deployment roll.

Unless:
There is a consensus stating that you have to have a model on the board for its special ability to work, (except in the case of abilities that tell you how to get on the board), so the "seize the initiative roll" may be assuming that Corbulo is on the board at that point. If this is the interpretation, then I would say no.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





That would not make sense with corbulo on the seize inititive roll though since he could be held in reserve and the listing doesnt clarify, except that he must not have been killed yet.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I would also think that the re-roll a dice might apply to random game lengths? Just food for thought.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/04 08:06:40


Why conquer worlds when you can simply create them. My blog. http://natfka.blogspot.com/ 
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block




*Technically,* after you roll to end the game (and the game ends), the game is over, and the rules wouldn't actually have any effect, since you aren't playing anymore. Although you could re-roll if you're trying to end the game.

But that does seem silly, so I don't think I'd play it that way.

I'd say the intent of the rule appears to be literally any roll, so if I was playing against someone including this unit, I would allow them to re-roll absolutely anything.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






This is an interesting one.

Corbulo: "Corbulo allows you a single re-roll once per game. This can be any roll that you have made, such as [list of examples],even to sieze the initiative. If Corbulo is slain then before this re-roll is used then it is lost."

The last sentence is especially interesting - not "while he is alive" or "while he is on the table." Is this supposed to be a new variation or is it just sloppy?

In his list of example he's already being given explicit permission to re-roll a die that's rolled before the game starts. As long as we consider that list to be examples (i.e. not exhaustive) then he certainly can re-roll the deployment die.

Whilst I'm sure that we will get some people claiming that the list is exhaustive (see the debates on targetting non-humanoid models...) the omission of rolls to wound strongly suggests that it is not.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Krall wrote:*Technically,* after you roll to end the game (and the game ends), the game is over, and the rules wouldn't actually have any effect, since you aren't playing anymore. Although you could re-roll if you're trying to end the game.


But the roll would not take effect until after a potential re-roll had been carried out. Also, Corbulo already has explicit permission for re-rolls outside the game anyway.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/04 08:49:51


 
   
Made in de
Wrathful Warlord Titan Commander






germany,bavaria

As corbulos re-roll is there for the whole Game,
if corbulo is alive, it should be possible to reroll if the game ends.

Target locked,ready to fire



In dedicatio imperatum ultra articulo mortis.

H.B.M.C :
We were wrong. It's not the 40k End Times. It's the Trademarkening.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Actually, outside of battle missions, "A Player" rolls to see if the game ends, so unless your opponent is really nice and lets the BA Player roll it, Corbulos re-roll cant be used on the Game Ending Roll.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in se
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Corbulo can only re-roll a roll "you" have made. So only if you roll the game end die you can re-roll it.

As a non blood angels player I can assure you that I will insist on that it should be me rolling the game end die in any game versus blood angels that have a living Corbulo that has not yet made his re-roll.

In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... 
   
Made in au
Longtime Dakkanaut






4+

"I already told you son, that milk isn't for developing bones. It's for developing character." - C&H 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






Gwar! wrote:Actually, outside of battle missions, "A Player" rolls to see if the game ends, so unless your opponent is really nice and lets the BA Player roll it, Corbulos re-roll cant be used on the Game Ending Roll.


Hmm, that's an good point.

In that case I'll be needing a houserule that corbulo can't re-roll that one or something to determine who gets to roll it.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: