| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/04 19:59:15
Subject: Liber Heresius
|
 |
Awesome Autarch
|
OK, so I was thinking about using this nifty piece of wargear and wanted some rules justification for its proper application.
This piece of wargear states you take a leadership test and if passed, choose your deployment zone without rolling any dice.
In 5th edition you roll for first turn AND your deployment zone.
To me this means that you get to choose your deployment zone and go first, which obviously is huge for some armies.
Is their a FAQ dealing with this? Any standing rules decisions?
Thanks, fellas.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/04 19:59:33
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/04 21:17:44
Subject: Liber Heresius
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You've got it backwards unfortunately - there IS no roll to determine whcih deployment zone you get, there is only a roll to choose first or second.
As such I dont believe the book does anything.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/04 22:45:54
Subject: Liber Heresius
|
 |
Awesome Autarch
|
The roll to go first is also the roll to determine deployment.
I think it is reaching a bit, but I also believe there is a strong case for it.
Does anyone know if this has been FAQ'd or if it is in the INAT FAQ?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/05 00:38:06
Subject: Liber Heresius
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Except it is NOT a roll to determine deployment, it is a roll to determine who goes first - THEN that player gets to choose deployment.
They are not the same.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/05 01:20:37
Subject: Liber Heresius
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
The GW FAQ specifically says this piece of wargear does not function in standard 40k games anymore. There are some battle missions it still works for, I think.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/05 02:25:20
Subject: Liber Heresius
|
 |
Awesome Autarch
|
Thanks Kartofkelkopf, that answers it then.
And it is a roll to determine who goes first and for deployment, Nosferatu, you just said it yourself. The winner of the roll chooses his or her deployment zone.
But it is a moot point if it has been FAQ'd.
Thanks for the help.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/05 11:47:20
Subject: Liber Heresius
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, the roll is to determine who goes first. That is what the roll determines - it states exactly this.
If you choose to go second, despite winning the roll off, you do NOT get to choose deployment zone - as I said, they are *different*, and the FAQ confirms this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/05 11:50:08
Subject: Liber Heresius
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
To stave off another round of the Monty Python Argument Sketch, this one can take a rest...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|