| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 11:45:56
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Ok I've got a Land Raider Crusader with a multi melta. POTMS lets me fire at two different targets. So I fire the multi melta first, at my first target which is a transport and blow it up. I then fire the remaining weapons at the troops inside; this is my second target.
Can I do this? As I'm just breaking down the weapons by firing one weapon at one target and then the other weapon(s) at another target.
Or do I have to say the multi melta is firing at the transport and the other weapons firing at something else - as I cannot say firing at the unit inside because they cannot be picked as a target.
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 11:49:05
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
|
The unit inside the transport is a different target so can be targeted. Even if I'm wrong. PotMS dosn't say you HAVE to target a different target so IF the unit was counted as with the transport you could still fire at it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 11:49:35
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
mercer wrote:Ok I've got a Land Raider Crusader with a multi melta. POTMS lets me fire at two different targets. So I fire the multi melta first, at my first target which is a transport and blow it up. I then fire the remaining weapons at the troops inside; this is my second target. Can I do this? As I'm just breaking down the weapons by firing one weapon at one target and then the other weapon(s) at another target.
No, you cannot do this. All Shooting is Simultaneous. You Declare that the MM is Shooting at Target A, and Declare that Everything else is Shooting at Target B. Only THEN do you roll to hit, and at that point you cannot change the Targets of your shooting. Automatically Appended Next Post: wizard12 wrote:The unit inside the transport is a different target so can be targeted. Even if I'm wrong. PotMS dosn't say you HAVE to target a different target so IF the unit was counted as with the transport you could still fire at it.
What? You cannot target it because it is Inside the Transport. You declare your targets BEFORE rolling to hit with any of the weapons. Since you cannot target it, you cannot shoot at it.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/07 11:51:04
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 11:51:35
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
ALL firing from the unit is simultaneous.
So, you declare the bolters are firing at the troops inside, you then check shooting requiresments - and you fail as you caqnnot draw LOS to the troops inside the vehicle, meaning your target is not valid.
In short: you could do this, except for the fact you cannot draw LOS to the unit inside the vehicle at the time you resolve all the shooting, so it fails.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 11:55:31
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
wizard wrong, Gwar and Nosferatu right. Nuff said?
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 11:56:05
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Gwar is correct the shooting happens simultaneously. You have to declare all the targets your lR is firing at before rolling any dice to hit at that point you can't target the unit inside the transport. How a lot of poeple play is they'll target a unit with one weapon fire it and then decide what to target with another. This is however breaking the rules and gaining an unfair advantage (the number of times I've seen 2 Long Fang missile launchers fire at a vehicle and failed to destroy it, then for the next 2 to decide to target the same vehicle...) It is this play that makes what you are saying seem possible. However as Gwar has pointed out this is not allowed by the rules.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/07 11:56:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 12:00:16
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Prospector with Steamdrill
|
If thi is the case it answers a question I had the other day. If two units are shooting at an enemy unit which is partially obscured by area terrain. The first unit shoots, kills x amount of the enemy and the models that are removed are the only ones visable then the second unit can still shoot at it's target?
Also presumably the rule that says that if over half a unit is in cover then the whole unit counts as in cover only applies at the begining of the turn so a player can not bring remove models not in cover until he has brought the percentgae above 50?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 12:02:56
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
tp_1983 wrote:If thi is the case it answers a question I had the other day. If two units are shooting at an enemy unit which is partially obscured by area terrain. The first unit shoots, kills x amount of the enemy and the models that are removed are the only ones visable then the second unit can still shoot at it's target? Also presumably the rule that says that if over half a unit is in cover then the whole unit counts as in cover only applies at the begining of the turn so a player can not bring remove models not in cover until he has brought the percentgae above 50?
No. All Shooting from a Single Unit is simultaneous. (Yes, my bad I made a boo boo). If the 2nd unit now cannot see any of the unit, it cannot shoot at it. And no, it applies whenever the unit is shot at. If less than 50% are in cover when shot at, it doesn't get the cover save, period.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/07 12:03:47
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 12:05:06
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Prospector with Steamdrill
|
Sorry for being thick here, but does a transport and carried troops not count as two units? Automatically Appended Next Post: sorry, just reread first post.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/07 12:06:17
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 12:07:10
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
tp_1093 - as Gwar! stated, you determine if a unit is "in cover" every time a unit wants to fire - and in the same way you determine if the unit has LOS to the target unit seperately for each unit.
So if one unit A fires at an enemy unit and the owning player removes models such that unit B cannot see any of the enemy unit, when unit B tries to fire it cannot shoot at the enemy unit - it does not have LOS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/07 12:20:40
Subject: POTMS?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Thanks! Looks like I got it wrong!
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|