| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 13:15:58
Subject: Orders in the dark?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
So its pretty clear, a commander needs LOS to order BiD or FomT against an enemy, so what happens during nightfighting or against stealthsuits?
Does he roll distance for that?
What happens if he fails? Is he unable to shoot anymore, as per nightfight rules BGB p95? What about more orders?
Can he use that roll to subsequently fire on the same target?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/12 13:24:44
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 13:24:54
Subject: Orders in the dark?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
LOS is NOT affected by Night Fighting / Stealth Suits, you only roll "spotting" distance when you want to shoot.
As the CCS is not "shooting" the unit spotting distance is not used.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 13:28:14
Subject: Orders in the dark?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
So can orders be used to make squads shoot without rolling to spot then, since the offencive orders say the ordered squad immediatly fires on the target, no refference is made to having to roll distance durin nightfighting, or even to the ordered squad actually needing LOS at all?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/12 13:30:52
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 13:28:17
Subject: Orders in the dark?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Night Fighting only affects unit actually firing. Anything needing LOS that is not shooting is not affected by Night Fighting.
So only the unit firing needs to roll the Night Fighting distance roll when using BiD or FomT.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/12 13:28:57
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 13:30:30
Subject: Orders in the dark?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Webbe and Nos have it correct. Night Fighting only affects shooting, it does not affect LoS for anything else.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 13:32:12
Subject: Orders in the dark?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
HoverBoy wrote:So can orders be used to make squads shoot without rolling to spot then, since the offencive orders say the ordered squad immediatly fires on the target, no refference is made to having to roll distance durin nightfighting, or even to the ordered squad actually needing LOS at all?
No, because when the unit you Order WANTS to shoot it *then* has to roll for spotting distance - only the CCS is exempt from needing to roll spotting.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 13:32:53
Subject: Re:Orders in the dark?
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Ahh, its all clear now thanks
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|