Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 19:12:46
Subject: Does Descent of Angels confer to a transport (From INAT thread)
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote:Does Decent of Angels transfer to Dedicated Transports that are purchased with squads that have this rule...
Example. A squad of assault marines trading their jump-packs for a Drop-Pod. Does the Drop Pod get to reroll failed Reserve Rolls and only roll 1d6 for scatter, does the same apply to Deep Striking Land-Raiders taken by Assault Marines?
Nothing currently in the rules prevents this, if anyone could help with a few second opinions (I am of the opinion that it DOES NOT confer DoA to the Xport) and a bit of backup (as to why it does not) I (and my gaming group) would be most appreciative.
No, it doesn't. Does the transport have a jumppcak? No. Does anything say that DoA is conferred to a transport that a DoA capable unit is embarked in? No. Simply put, nothing says it does confer, so it doesn't.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 19:16:43
Subject: Does Descent of Angels confer to a transport (From INAT thread)
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
don_mondo wrote:Daemon-Archon Ren wrote:Does Decent of Angels transfer to Dedicated Transports that are purchased with squads that have this rule...
Example. A squad of assault marines trading their jump-packs for a Drop-Pod. Does the Drop Pod get to reroll failed Reserve Rolls and only roll 1d6 for scatter, does the same apply to Deep Striking Land-Raiders taken by Assault Marines?
Nothing currently in the rules prevents this, if anyone could help with a few second opinions (I am of the opinion that it DOES NOT confer DoA to the Xport) and a bit of backup (as to why it does not) I (and my gaming group) would be most appreciative.
No, it doesn't. Does the transport have a jumppcak? No. Does anything say that DoA is conferred to a transport that a DoA capable unit is embarked in? No. Simply put, nothing says it does confer, so it doesn't.
Agreed. For this to be True, Ultramarines Land Raiders can Teleport into battle with Terminators Inside and Imperial Guard Chimeras have Stealth if the Unit inside has Camo Cloaks.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 15:15:02
Subject: Re:Does Descent of Angels confer to a transport (From INAT thread)
|
 |
Cackling Chaos Conscript
|
I may just looking at this as a hopeful, but from the GW Dark Angles FAQ (page 3) it clearly states that the embarked troops can’t assault as they have deployed by deep strike that turn and troops that deep strike can’t assault. Why is this big deal? Because it clearly labels the method on which embarked troops deploy by the transport they are in – deep strike.
DoA isn’t lost by a unit when they trade in their jump pack, right? But the unit did lose the ability to deep strike without them. The Drop pod gave them back that deployment method. I agree with the others, the pod gives them Deep strike, but does not have the DoA special rule. I just wanted to point out where confusion could come from.
|
The handsome face of 2T1C |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 15:19:35
Subject: Re:Does Descent of Angels confer to a transport (From INAT thread)
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
I'll add another agreement. Without any specific rules supporting the transfer, there's nothing suggesting the ability transfers or should transfer to the transport. Permissive ruleset, etc. etc.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/13 15:20:22
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 15:45:21
Subject: Does Descent of Angels confer to a transport (From INAT thread)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I don't own the codex. What does the decent of angels rule say exactly?
ex. If the rule says something like "infantry with jump packs that deepstrike..." then it is clear they need to have jump packs. But, if it doesn't mention jump packs in the rule and only mentions "deepstrike" or something, then there maybe something to this.
|
DA 3rd Co. w/duelwing 6000+ pts
Mostly tanks 2000+ pts
Ultras 3rd Co and 1st Co. 7000+ pts
Harald Deathwolf's Co. 7000+ pts
4000+ pts (Daemonhunters)
Kabal of the Hydra 5000+ pts
Skullrippa'z Freebootaz 6000+ pts
Plague Marine Force 2000+ pts
and not finished until I own some of every army
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 15:57:44
Subject: Does Descent of Angels confer to a transport (From INAT thread)
|
 |
[ARTICLE MOD]
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gwar! wrote:Ultramarines Land Raiders can Teleport into battle with Terminators Inside and Imperial Guard Chimeras have Stealth if the Unit inside has Camo Cloaks.
I gotta put this in my sig.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|