| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 20:28:07
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I hope this is not a repeated question; I searched the forums for a long while and could not seem to find it. If it is, please accept my apologies.
Question via example:
I have an ork trukk (open topped). In this trukk I have a unit of 11 Lootas and an Independent character (NOT attached) that in this case was the big mek w/ SAG.
My question is that since the HQ and the unit are NOT in the same unit via the independent character special rule, and that all the models can fire in the shooting phase due to it being open topped, can the Big Mek fire at a different target than the Lootas in the same shooting phase since they are not in the same unit, but only sharing a vehicle? (I know that all units in a squad/unit must fire at the same target, however these two (Lootas and the Independent Character) are no in the same unit)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 20:33:31
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
the_unforgiven7352 wrote:I hope this is not a repeated question; I searched the forums for a long while and could not seem to find it. If it is, please accept my apologies. Question via example: I have an ork trukk (open topped). In this trukk I have a unit of 11 Lootas and an Independent character (NOT attached) that in this case was the big mek w/ SAG. My question is that since the HQ and the unit are NOT in the same unit via the independent character special rule, and that all the models can fire in the shooting phase due to it being open topped, can the Big Mek fire at a different target than the Lootas in the same shooting phase since they are not in the same unit, but only sharing a vehicle? (I know that all units in a squad/unit must fire at the same target, however these two (Lootas and the Independent Character) are no in the same unit)
Sorry, but if the IC is embarked with the unit, he is attached. If you don't like it, tough! The reason is, a Transport may only carry a single unit (plus any Independent Characters). If he isn't attached, you are breaking the rules by having 2 units embarked, so he MUST attach to them.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/12 20:36:06
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 20:38:55
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Ok, That makes sense.
However, a second scenario:
I have a battlewagon, with two squads of 10 Lootas. They are two squads, and cannot be treated as one squad because there is a cap of 15, and they are in the same vehicle. They should be able to fire at separate targets correct?
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 20:40:36
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
the_unforgiven7352 wrote:Ok, That makes sense.
However, a second scenario:
I have a battlewagon, with two squads of 10 Lootas. They are two squads, and cannot be treated as one squad because there is a cap of 15, and they are in the same vehicle. They should be able to fire at separate targets correct?
Thanks.
You cannot have 2 units embarked. A Transport may only have a single unit embarked unless the transports special rules say otherwise. A battlewagon does not say otherwise.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 20:41:37
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
As I now see the second line of your response... Yeah. My bad
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 20:42:05
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
You are missing the point that Gwar! expressed saying that only one unit may be embarked on a vehicle. Yes there is a cap of 15, but only one of those units of 10 may be embarked in the vehicle at any given time. I am at work so I cannot provide the page number for verification, but I know that Gwar! is right about only one unit being in the vehicle.
Edit: Wow, I'm slow  You both beat me to it
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/12 20:42:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 20:42:23
Subject: Re:Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Deranged Necron Destroyer
|
You still can't put two squads in one transport
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/12 20:44:46
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Sorry about that, The second line of your reply, to my eye at least, blended with the "This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/12 19:36:06" at the bottom. Didn't see it til after I posted that second part.
Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 21:32:05
Subject: Another Question
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If a unit that has the infiltrate special rule is placed in reserve, you would roll for reserves as normal (I presume) and if that unit is brought into play, it is deployed as per the infiltrate special rule right? The main question being does the Infiltrate special rule apply to units in reserve?
Also, is this still the case in the basic planetstrike scenario?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 21:33:52
Subject: Another Question
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
the_unforgiven7352 wrote:If a unit that has the infiltrate special rule is placed in reserve, you would roll for reserves as normal (I presume) and if that unit is brought into play, it is deployed as per the infiltrate special rule right? The main question being does the Infiltrate special rule apply to units in reserve?
Also, is this still the case in the basic planetstrike scenario?
No. Completely wrong. It arrives from reserves as normal, or it can outflank.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 21:36:57
Subject: Another Question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
the_unforgiven7352 wrote:If a unit that has the infiltrate special rule is placed in reserve, you would roll for reserves as normal (I presume)
So far so good.
and if that unit is brought into play, it is deployed as per the infiltrate special rule right? The main question being does the Infiltrate special rule apply to units in reserve?
Not as such, no.
Infiltrators kept in Reserve can Outflank. Otherwise, they come on from the board edge (unless they can Deep Strike) like everyone else.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/20 21:37:14
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 22:53:49
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
But you have to declare if its outflanking at the time the reserve arrives, you cant say 'i'm going to outflank' roll a 1, then decide you'd rather come on from your table edge.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 00:52:12
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Seriphis wrote:But you have to declare if its outflanking at the time the reserve arrives, you cant say 'i'm going to outflank' roll a 1, then decide you'd rather come on from your table edge.
Actually, you have to declare it when you put them into Reserves, not when they arrive. See 'Preparing Reserves' on page 94.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 02:07:56
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Sniping Gŭiláng
|
You're right insaniak, i stand corrected.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 18:19:24
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Dam and here I was hoping that my Stormraven could hold 2 sets of units. . . .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 18:20:59
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Lysenis wrote:Dam and here I was hoping that my Stormraven could hold 2 sets of units. . . .
The Stormraven can hold 1 unit and a Dreadnought, because that is what it's special rules allow it to. It cannot hold, for example, 2 Assault Squads however.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 18:48:47
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
I was thinking along the lines of a Combat sqaded Tac team
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 18:52:41
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Nope, once you combat squad them they are two separate units.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 19:40:19
Subject: Multiple units sharing a vehicle
|
 |
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'
|
Thought so. . .dam wast of space in the Raven then. . .
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|