Switch Theme:

Dawn of war?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Kriel Warrior





On page 93 of small book the example say that player b deployed a unit in dedicated transport which counts as his second troop.Is this right?So say I have a unit in a dedicated transport that counts as 2 troops?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Yes. A squad and its transport are two separate units.

Dawn of War lets you deploy two troops units. In the example given, the squad is one, the transport is the other.

 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver






the man with the sinister cat avatar is correct
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

Correct, though I have never seen anyone play it that way.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

How do you usually see it played?

 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

I have seen it played that way...but wonder how you can deploy a tank this way as a troop but then not count it as a troop for objectives.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

A dedicated transport is a Troops unit because it comes from a Troops selection on your army list.

It doesn't count for objectives because the rules for scoring units say that vehicles (whether or not they are Troops) don't count.


 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

I know this...just stating that its funny...cause technically there always is the crew as well.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

In every tourney or friendly game I have ever played no one count the DT as a seperate troop choice. Most of the time I see people deploy whatever the HQ is attached to/embarked in as well for their HQ choice. This would mean if you had a seer council with Farseer in a serpent, and two DA squads in serpents then you deploy all three.

RAW you are correct though, the transport is separate a troop choice and RAW if an HQ is not attached to a troop choice then it can't come on the board unless it's solo.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

It depends on the unit it is purchased for.. if it for the HQ you cannot deploy the hq and the transport in DOW as the transport will count as a hq unit (one or both will need to be kept in reserve )

likewise if it was purchased for an elites unit (it would then be classified as an elite)
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

BlueDagger wrote:In every tourney or friendly game I have ever played no one count the DT as a seperate troop choice. Most of the time I see people deploy whatever the HQ is attached to/embarked in as well for their HQ choice. This would mean if you had a seer council with Farseer in a serpent, and two DA squads in serpents then you deploy all three.


Interesting. I've heard of a few people playing that way, but only out of a misunderstanding of the DoW rules. Not as a deliberate change.


RAW you are correct though, the transport is separate a troop choice and RAW if an HQ is not attached to a troop choice then it can't come on the board unless it's solo.


To be clear, a dedicated transport is not a separate troop choice. It's a separate Troops unit. The dedicated transport and the squad for which it is bought are a single Troops choice... but DoW doesn't allow you to deploy two Troops choices... it instead aks for two Troops units.

Having a HQ attached to a Troops unit makes no difference. He would need to be solo, or have a retinue.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





US

insaniak wrote:Having a HQ attached to a Troops unit makes no difference. He would need to be solo, or have a retinue.


He can be attached to the troop choice that is coming in as a troop choice.

Most people have played it that way that I know of simply due to the wat of a turn that it typically causes otherwise. Not may people I know what a single troop in a rhino to be 12" out in front of their army to be shot to hell round 2.

Craftworld Uaire-Nem pics "Like shimmering daggers of light our fury shall rain down and cleanse this battlefield." Autarch of Uaire-Nem
BlueDagger's Nomad pics - "Morality, my friend, is merely a price tag." - BlueDagger, Contraband Dealer. Holo-recording played during the murder trial of an undercover PanOceania officer. Court Record 9002xaB, . Infinity Nomads - Come see what it's all about!
|Looking for War-gaming matches in the Colorado area? Colorado Infinity
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

BlueDagger wrote:
insaniak wrote:Having a HQ attached to a Troops unit makes no difference. He would need to be solo, or have a retinue.


He can be attached to the troop choice that is coming in as a troop choice.



Sure. But he still counts as your single allowed HQ.

 
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

BlueDagger wrote:
insaniak wrote:Having a HQ attached to a Troops unit makes no difference. He would need to be solo, or have a retinue.


He can be attached to the troop choice that is coming in as a troop choice.

Most people have played it that way that I know of simply due to the wat of a turn that it typically causes otherwise. Not may people I know what a single troop in a rhino to be 12" out in front of their army to be shot to hell round 2.


thats what smoke launchers are for - if you get lucky with the rolling you draw alot of fire which could have been directed at the rest of your advancing army - chimera's with searchlights are good in turn1 (especially if you go first) as a spotting unit.. provided they deploy something on the table
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

It's why if you think that your opponent will be able to shoot you, you don't deploy the rhino.

The rules work just fine with the transport counting as one of your units, to play against the rules, despite knowing the rules, is kind of silly.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






It's not hard to hide in night fight conditions. Or you could keep everyone off.
   
Made in us
Kriel Warrior





Ok one more thing for IG do Infantry Platoons counts as 1 troop or does 1 of the squads?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Is each squad a seperate unit? Yes? Then you can bring in two squads and one HQ unit.

Easy way to do this is to work out if they need to keep coherency - if they do then they are, by definition, a unit and countas such for DoW purposes.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

BlueDagger wrote:In every tourney or friendly game I have ever played no one count the DT as a seperate troop choice. Most of the time I see people deploy whatever the HQ is attached to/embarked in as well for their HQ choice. This would mean if you had a seer council with Farseer in a serpent, and two DA squads in serpents then you deploy all three.

RAW you are correct though, the transport is separate a troop choice and RAW if an HQ is not attached to a troop choice then it can't come on the board unless it's solo.


Whereas I have never seen it played other than by the rules............... Probably because I point out the rules whenever I'm playing someone that tries to do it wrong.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
BlueDagger wrote:
insaniak wrote:Having a HQ attached to a Troops unit makes no difference. He would need to be solo, or have a retinue.


He can be attached to the troop choice that is coming in as a troop choice.

Most people have played it that way that I know of simply due to the wat of a turn that it typically causes otherwise. Not may people I know what a single troop in a rhino to be 12" out in front of their army to be shot to hell round 2.


So how do you handle an IG player that maxes out two Troops platoons? Do you advocate letting him deploy all 40 units?

Hjoey75 wrote:Ok one more thing for IG do Infantry Platoons counts as 1 troop or does 1 of the squads?


The key thing to remember is that it is by "unit", not Force Organization selection. So while a platoon counts as a single choice on the Force Org chart, it can have up to 20 units. You can only deploy 2 of those "units" in Dawn of War. Now IG can merge Infantry squads to start more bodies on the table, so your two Troops units could be two 55 man blobbed squads, each consisting of 5 x 10 man Infantry squads with a Commissar per squad. But you'd have to leave their 10 Chimeras off table.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2010/04/13 12:33:30


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

one platoon is a troops choice - each squad is a troops unit.. the whole platoon needs to deployed at the same time meaning one platoon would be deploying a min of 3 troop units (in other words platoons need to start off the table in DOW)

also when in reserve you only roll one dice to see if the entire platoon arrives
   
Made in us
Junior Officer with Laspistol






The eye of terror.

Catachan_Devil wrote:one platoon is a troops choice - each squad is a troops unit.. the whole platoon needs to deployed at the same time meaning one platoon would be deploying a min of 3 troop units (in other words platoons need to start off the table in DOW)

also when in reserve you only roll one dice to see if the entire platoon arrives


A platoon can start on the board when combined at the least.

Why did the berzerker cross the road?
Gwar! wrote:Willydstyle has it correct
Gwar! wrote:Yup you're absolutely right

New to the game and can't win? Read this.

 
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

willydstyle wrote:
Catachan_Devil wrote:one platoon is a troops choice - each squad is a troops unit.. the whole platoon needs to deployed at the same time meaning one platoon would be deploying a min of 3 troop units (in other words platoons need to start off the table in DOW)

also when in reserve you only roll one dice to see if the entire platoon arrives


A platoon can start on the board when combined at the least.


this is true also


Automatically Appended Next Post:
but having said that if you take special and hvy weapon squads combined squads does not help

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/14 00:17:28


 
   
Made in au
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard






Newcastle, OZ

Indeed, I did this in one of my tourney games last weekend.

Dawn of war setup.

Two infantry squads, platoon command squad (that was one platoon) and a company command squad. Combined both infantry squads into one big one.

Two troops (blob squad+PCS)
One HQ (CCS).

I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.

That is not dead which can eternal lie ...

... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

Catachan_Devil wrote: the whole platoon needs to deployed at the same time


This is not true. Reread the note at the top of page 96.
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

MasterSlowPoke wrote:
Catachan_Devil wrote: the whole platoon needs to deployed at the same time


This is not true. Reread the note at the top of page 96.


yeah it says the platoon is rolled for collectively when rolling for reserves - i read that as one roll for the whole platoon (they deploy at the same time) i might be wrong though

how do you read it??


Automatically Appended Next Post:
also it states that it is one choice for the purposes of deployment - to me that also states that you get one choice to deploy or place in reserve

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/14 02:10:48


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

You only roll one die for all the units of a platoon in reserve, yes.

The "counts as one Troops choice for the purposes of deployment" means that in missions where you deploy a set number of Troop choices (like back in the day when you alternately deployed choices), you can deploy all the units in a platoon in one step. Currently, there aren't any missions where this rule is used, though.
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

yeah i am not sure on that one - never looked at it like that.. so you are saying that you can place some of the platoon on the table and the rest in reserve.. then only require one dice roll for the remaining units in reserve

i suppose it could be taken either way.. and my thoughts the intention of the rule is to keep the platoon under direct control of the PCS (fluff wise is guess)

i might try playing it that way too
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, you can partially deploy the platoon, and any elements not deployed will arrive with one roll.
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Yes, you can indeed deploy elements of a platoon while leaving other elements of the same platoon in Reserves.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in au
Hardened Veteran Guardsman



Melbourne, Australia

thanks guys - as i said i never thought to read it like that

oh well.. learn something new everyday
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: