| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 23:17:44
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
My friend and I aren't sure about this. If a weapon (that doesn't require line of sight) can't see the enemy, do they get a cover save?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 23:37:33
Subject: Re:If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Yes, they get a cover save, unless the weapon in question also has special rules for determining coversaves, in which case the rules stated in the weapons description apply. Which weapon are we talking about here?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 23:40:02
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Leman Russ Battle Cannon, and a Demolisher cannon. Both those do not ignore cover saves (I'm pretty sure).
I honestly think that's kind of stupid, in my opinion. A vehicle that doesn't require line of sight can obviously shoot over cover, and a vehicle that can shoot over cover would obviously remove any advantages from being in cover (unless there's like, a roof above you). Oh well, though.
EDIT: Wait... wait... wait. I think we've been doing this wrong. Ordnance weapons require line of sight, only barrage weapons do not require line of sight. I think. Is that right?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/13 23:45:11
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 23:49:54
Subject: Re:If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
I just saw your edit. Yes, that is right, Ordnance weapons do require LoS.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/13 23:55:48
Subject: Re:If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator
Ephrata, PA
|
The blast starts in the center of the template, so if there's a terrain piece between your models and the hole in the template after scatter, you get a save. If the center of it is over your unit after scatter, your pretty screwed...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 00:03:34
Subject: Re:If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
Inquisitor Lord Bane wrote:The blast starts in the center of the template, so if there's a terrain piece between your models and the hole in the template after scatter, you get a save. If the center of it is over your unit after scatter, your pretty screwed...
No no, that's also the rules for BARRAGE weapons. Battlecannons & demolisher cannons, being Ordnance weapons just calculates cover in the same way normal weapons do, from the point of view of the firing weapon.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 00:11:40
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Wait, wait, guys. I'm confused. On page 80 of my Codex, it says that the Demolisher cannon is simply "Ordnance 1'. However, on page 144 (the weapons summary) it lists the Demolisher cannon as "Ordnance 1, Barrage". So is it barrage or not?????
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 00:18:01
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
The New Miss Macross!
|
which codex?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 00:20:49
Subject: Re:If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Brainy Zoanthrope
|
If the weapon description and the summary contradicts each other GW has said to ignore the summary. And no, it is not a barrage weapon.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/14 00:22:01
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 00:31:01
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
I am sure he is talking about Nids.
Either the doom of M. or Guards
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 00:51:38
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
BobTheChainsaw wrote:Wait, wait, guys. I'm confused. On page 80 of my Codex, it says that the Demolisher cannon is simply "Ordnance 1'. However, on page 144 (the weapons summary) it lists the Demolisher cannon as "Ordnance 1, Barrage". So is it barrage or not?????
That would be Codex: Space Marines.
It's been errata'd in the GW FAQ.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 00:58:36
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Barrage grants cover saves if the unit is in AREA TERRAIN.
It ignores INTERVENING cover elements (units/obstacles between the firer and target).
If you were in ruins or woods, then yes, a cover save applies (if the ruins were agreed to be area terrain).
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 06:50:19
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
chromedog wrote:Barrage grants cover saves if the unit is in AREA TERRAIN.
It ignores INTERVENING cover elements (units/obstacles between the firer and target).
If you were in ruins or woods, then yes, a cover save applies (if the ruins were agreed to be area terrain).
Not entirely true.
Instead of working out cov er from the firing model, you work out cover from the centre of the blast. So if the blast hole is the other side of a low wall from your unit you are likely to get a cover save, despite not being in area terrain.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 10:24:29
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
True, but he did say "between the firer and target", not "Between the Center of the Blast and the target".
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 10:42:08
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
The first sentence implies only area terrain would grant a sve....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 14:10:40
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Ordnance works the same way as every other gun in terms of cover saves, unless it says "ignores cover" or something similar in the description. Barrage lobs shells over intervening terrain but as a result you dont get to reduce the scatter using you BS.
One thing to remember (i think this is right). If it is an Ordnance, barrge you can choose to fire directly (LOS) or indirectly (No LOS, no scatter reduction, cover save from impact point).
Thinking about the cover saves logically. A unit of marines is in cover behind a wall/building whatever. A Barrage weapons lobs a shell towards them. The shell land on the near side fot he wall (so from the guns perspective it goes SHELL-WALL-TARGET - they geta cover save. If the shell scatters over the wall and lands behid them it goes WALL-TARGET-SHELL. there fore they dont get a cover because there is nothgin protectign them from the big explosion.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 14:14:22
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Just to nitpick, you can fire Barrage and still get the Ballistic Skill subtraction, and that is when the Unit is also in LoS to the model firing the barrage weapon.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 14:17:15
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Yes, there are essentially 3 "modes" of fire for a Ordnance barrage weapon:
1) In LOS "direct" fire - cover worked out as normal, BS reduction to scatter
2) In LOS "barrage" fire - cover worked out from centre of blast, BS reduction to scatter
3) Out of LOS "barrage" - as 2, but no reduction in scatter from BS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 14:18:44
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Pretty much, and a difference between normal and Ordnance Barrage is that normal Barrage only has the options of 2 and 3, it cannot pick option 1.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/14 14:19:05
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 14:19:46
Subject: If a unit is in completely in cover from a weapon that doesn't require LoS, does it get a save?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
It's why i want Bassies to eb legal for my IW army.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|