Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 15:31:52
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Reading - UK
|
Ok, so I have a Tyrant with TL devourers in each arm with BrainLeech worms. How many shots does that give me?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 15:44:18
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
So your tyrant is equipped with a twin-linked Devourer with Brainleech worms in each arm.
You have 2 arms for this. Therefore you have 2 twin linked devourers with brainleech worms.
Does twin-linked grant extra shots? No.
How many shots does each devourer (w/ BL) get? 6.
You have 2. Thus you get 12 shots, with re-rolls to hit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 15:45:33
Subject: Re:QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
also remember that MC's can only do 2 shooting attacks so taking 2 guns reduces your ability to make psychic shooting attacks.
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 15:52:11
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Correct. A Dual Ranged weapon Tyrant can fire either:
Both Ranged Weapon
One Range and two Power
Two Powers
Nothing
It cannot fire 2 Powers AND 2 Guns.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 15:56:20
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Reading - UK
|
Thank you. I was playing Motaro on Vassal at the weekend and he was adament I only had 6 shots, 3 shots with each arm re-rollable. That clears it up for me. I knew I was right and now I can link him back to this.
Thanks guys,
LF
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 18:53:47
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
Is your tyrant only armed with Devourers? Or does it also have another weapon? You get 6 shots per pair of arms re-rollable to hit.
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 20:59:04
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Gwar! wrote:Correct. A Dual Ranged weapon Tyrant can fire either:
Both Ranged Weapon
One Range and two Power
Two Powers
Nothing
It cannot fire 2 Powers AND 2 Guns.
Not quite.
The HT can *not* fire two powers, as it has not rule allowing that. But otherwise the point is still made.
.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 21:05:36
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
coredump wrote:Gwar! wrote:Correct. A Dual Ranged weapon Tyrant can fire either: Both Ranged Weapon One Range and two Power Two Powers Nothing It cannot fire 2 Powers AND 2 Guns. Not quite. The HT can *not* fire two powers, as it has not rule allowing that. But otherwise the point is still made.
Point noted. I was Mixing the rules of the Swarmlord and the Hive Tyrant in my befuddled brain. The Swarmlord can use 2 Powers, but doesn't have any ranged weaponry!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/14 21:05:58
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 21:55:03
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Reading - UK
|
For the record, my Tyrant is only armed with Devourers.
TL Devourers on the Left arm with BL Worms
Right arm he has TL Devourers with BL Worms.
So this is 12 shots re-rollable right?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/14 21:58:59
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
quick question from me, if my tyrant is equipped with a stranglethorn cannon, would he shoot once with the cannon and use 2 powers or 1? i havent played with my nids yet so ide really like a heads up.
|
You cant spell slaughter without laughter, nor funeral without fun!
'Did you know my blood is black?' - Crona Gorgon
Perils of the Warp
"Orks cannot possibly be female.....It's even less likely than female space marines or grey templars. Or male sisters of battle. Or not-gay Tau..." - Samus_aran115 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 00:26:05
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
@lordf1end If you have no other weapons on him then you would get 12 shots if you paid for the upgrade twice. But if only the right and left arm (singular in both instances) have a devourer it would only be 6 shots. The Devourer comes in pairs. One right arm and one left arm are 6 twin linked shots. 2 right arm and 2 left arm are 12 twin linked shots. Sounds more like a modeling problem. @Stasis 1 cannon and 1 shooting power i think. But it's not something I've been really worried so I could be wrong on this.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/15 00:27:08
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 15:50:55
Subject: Re:QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Arch Magos w/ 4 Meg of RAM
|
you got it.
for the "one gun" guy: I'm probably about to get gwar'd for this, but that is one way of making a HT, since you are rerolling 1's and hitting on 3's, you dont really lose much cc for taking one weapon.
also i'm pretty sure you could shoot at a far away unit, then use psychic scream (or the other scream power) to hit a closer unit, making it a valid assault target.
|
Godforge custom 3d printing / professional level casting masters and design:
https://www.etsy.com/shop/GodForge |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 16:15:51
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Reading - UK
|
"If you have no other weapons on him then you would get 12 shots if you paid for the upgrade twice"
Yep. I payed for the upgarde twice. That's where I lacked understanding, so all four arms are taken up with Twin linked devourers if you take the upgrade twice, excellent, really appreciate your help guys.
Well I really hope the Forge World Hive Tyrant has 6 arm slots so I can fit on a pair of wings and four TL devourer arms...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 20:26:00
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Okay, there is some confusion with last edition going on.
Last edition, having two of the same gun was treated as having a single TL gun of that type. So last codex, having two devourers was the 'same' as having a TL devourer.
That is not the case this codex.
So it comes down to modeling. (Really did for last codex also.)
You can have 4 guns, and call them 2 TL guns, or you can have 2 TL guns. Your choice. If you are going with wings, just go with the TL guns.
And no, you would never have 4 TL guns. (Unless just having fun modeling...)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 20:27:19
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
-Mispost- :(
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/15 20:27:55
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/16 13:21:47
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
Reading - UK
|
Thanks coredump, that summs it up for me, so Ill just add two arms, one on the left and one on the right with TL devourers as I took this upgrade twice which does indeed give my Tyrant 12 shots re-rollable.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/17 02:58:48
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Malicious Mandrake
|
coredump wrote:Okay, there is some confusion with last edition going on.
Last edition, having two of the same gun was treated as having a single TL gun of that type. So last codex, having two devourers was the 'same' as having a TL devourer.
That is not the case this codex.
So it comes down to modeling. (Really did for last codex also.)
You can have 4 guns, and call them 2 TL guns, or you can have 2 TL guns. Your choice. If you are going with wings, just go with the TL guns.
And no, you would never have 4 TL guns. (Unless just having fun modeling...)
Having 2 TL guns has always = 2 TL guns.
|
Nids - 1500 Points - 1000 Points In progress
TheLinguist wrote:bella lin wrote:hello friends,
I'm a new comer here.I'm bella. nice to meet you and join you.
But are you a heretic? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/17 13:08:33
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Well, at least it all got cleared up
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/17 13:09:02
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 01:19:11
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Lurking Gaunt
|
so , let me get this striaght, i usally run with heavy venom cannon, and the 2 powers are paroxym and lecch, if i am understanding this right, i can use 2 of the 3 shooting attacks? someone told me that i had to choose either the powers or the cannon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 06:36:05
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
For each weapon you can fire you can choose to replace it with a shooting attack. However you CANNOT use 2 psychic attacks, as psykers only have permission to use one psychic power a turn, unless you have been given an exception - such as the Swarmlord.
So you can shoot one power and the cannon.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 11:10:45
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:For each weapon you can fire you can choose to replace it with a shooting attack. However you CANNOT use 2 psychic attacks, as psykers only have permission to use one psychic power a turn, unless you have been given an exception - such as the Swarmlord.
So you can shoot one power and the cannon.
Correct. What you could not do is fire 2 Ranged weapons AND a Psychic Shooting attack.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 13:05:38
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Well, I did say "replace", which implies you cannot do both at the same time
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 13:57:55
Subject: QQ - TL devourers with Brainleech Worms.
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
|
And keep in mind that all the Tyrant's psychic powers are Psychic Shooting Attacks. So you can always only use 1 ranged weapon if you used a psychic power on a Tyrant that turn.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|