Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 01:18:40
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Sweden
|
Hi there people on Dakkadakka.com!
I´m brand new here on the forum, but it seems like a sweet place to get yourself some orky brainsurgery, so I´ll go straight ahead to asking!
(Background first ofc! :
We´re three friends just starting out collecting 40k. We´re Orks  , Necrons  and Spacemarines  . We´ve bought the "Assault on Black Reach"-box and got the minirulebook. Since we´re three people sharing one rulebook I had to go first, more or less reading it throu quickly to be able to pass it on to the next person, so if my questions seem stuipid or really obvious don´t chop my head of because of it  . And no... I´m not native english speaking, so I guess you have to exscuse my Orktounge!)
AND I´m not asking anyone of you to answear all my question, if you´ll just answear any question you feel like you can answear I´d be extremel grateful
Aight, ´enycase, ´ere we go...
1. BOYZ! On their "standard profile" they have 2 Attacks, a Choppa and Slugga (2 CC weapons!). Is this 2nd CC weapon already included in the profile, or does it just mean that they get an extra attack (to a totalt of 3) for free?
I´d guess they won´t have the huge number of 3 Attacks, but just if that might be the case I´ll ask anyhow, so I don´t miss some good wuppin´
2. WARBOSS! I saw here on the forum someone proclaiming that a WB with an attack squig got a totalt of 6 Attacks (7 on the charge), since he already had an additional CC weapon on his profile (other than his basic 4 Attacks)
I guess this has quite alot to do with my previous question, but what the fluff...
3. WARBOSS! Equipped with a powerclaw and a attack squig (+1 A)! Does he resolve that extra attack as a poweclaw-bash (I know, this sounds unrealistic, but it only says +1 A in the codex =.O), or as a normal attack S5 with the normal Initiative?
4. BIG MEKK! With a KFF! The rule says he gives any unit within 6" a cover save, thou it doesn´t say anything about how much of the unit that has to be within range to benefit from the cover save. Does this mean I can put him between two huge 30-boyz mobs, both within 6" but still all 60 boyz getting the cover save?
5. NOBZ! (etc.) This is a question that also is answered already at question 1 I guess, but hey... you know... hey!
A nob upgrading his weapon to a Big Choppa, does he loose an attack at the cost of the strength bonus, or does he keep it all?
6. OLD ZOGWORT! I interpret Old Zogworts "curse-the-enemy-into-squigginity" as a choice you do BEFORE you roll for psychic powers. Still, I see people
claiming in Ork tacticas that one of his huge pros is that if he´s really unlucky and in the end gets the first power on the psychic table, he can just choose
to go on cursing some IC instead of suffering the result.
So which is it? O.o
7. NECRONS! We´ve been discussing the Necrons phase out rule, and we´re a bit confused to what preportions it´s directed. Is it unitwise (a unit suffering 75 % casualties), or does it refer to the whole army loosing 75 % of its models/points/whatever? And whicever is correct, does the rule come into play the second he´s reduced to 75%, or at a ceratin phase, before or after "We´ll be back" etc. ?
My friends Necrons Codex is a bit old, a bit 2nd hand, and a bit... eh, coffe-crippled, so we really can´t figure this one out >.<
8. FEARLESS! Does this mean you never have to roll for morale? No pinning, no nothing? Or do I just remember it wrong!?
9. UNIT COHERENCY! Are you allowed to place your models closer to eachother than 2", or is 2" both minimum and maximum distance allowed?
(My thoughts go to when I´ll be getting the Trukk, and I might want to disembarking in a tightknit formation (maybe towards the front/rear, which isn´t as wide and has less space to disembark than the sides)... If I can and it´s desired!)
10. SPACE MARINE MEGABLAST! Since my friend has just got his Codex, he likes to mention (name slips my mind, orbital cannon, is it?) which more or less just seems to be too good to be true as cheap as he claims it to be :p
It´s supposed to be S10 AP1, unlimited range and comes with quite a few characters. So here´s my questionmarks about it:
A. Free?? Really? Just like that... is there relly no green-hided, roaring justice in this world?
B. He mentions that it´s a "once-per-game" weapon, but if he fields several HQ with the orbital cannon he can fire it several times per game. True? Please dont´say it´s so..
C. Does it require line of sight, or does it just alters the scatterdistance if the target is in LOS or not?
That´s all I can think of for the moment..
Thank you all in advance! May G/M -ork bless you all with less stinky feet! (I know you have them.. we all have  .  )
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 01:49:46
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
Answers to selected questions:
Omaeshin wrote:1. BOYZ! On their "standard profile" they have 2 Attacks, a Choppa and Slugga (2 CC weapons!). Is this 2nd CC weapon already included in the profile, or does it just mean that they get an extra attack (to a totalt of 3) for free?
I´d guess they won´t have the huge number of 3 Attacks, but just if that might be the case I´ll ask anyhow, so I don´t miss some good wuppin´
They do have 3 attacks total with a Choppa/Slugga. If you equip them with a Shoota, on the other hand, they only have 2. You're right in your instinct that it's an insane statline for a 6 point model.
4. BIG MEKK! With a KFF! The rule says he gives any unit within 6" a cover save, thou it doesn´t say anything about how much of the unit that has to be within range to benefit from the cover save. Does this mean I can put him between two huge 30-boyz mobs, both within 6" but still all 60 boyz getting the cover save?
Yup, they all do. Unless it states otherwise, when you need to measure the distance to a unit, you can measure the distance to the nearest model in the unit.
7. NECRONS! We´ve been discussing the Necrons phase out rule, and we´re a bit confused to what preportions it´s directed. Is it unitwise (a unit suffering 75 % casualties), or does it refer to the whole army loosing 75 % of its models/points/whatever? And whicever is correct, does the rule come into play the second he´s reduced to 75%, or at a ceratin phase, before or after "We´ll be back" etc. ?
My friends Necrons Codex is a bit old, a bit 2nd hand, and a bit... eh, coffe-crippled, so we really can´t figure this one out >.<
It comes into effect after the WBB rolls occur and applies to the entire army. If you are left with 25% or less of your Necrons (i.e. models with the "NECRON" ability), your entire army phases out.
8. FEARLESS! Does this mean you never have to roll for morale? No pinning, no nothing? Or do I just remember it wrong!?
yup, no pinning or falling back. But you do take wounds if you lose a combat, look up the "No Retreat" rule.
9. UNIT COHERENCY! Are you allowed to place your models closer to eachother than 2", or is 2" both minimum and maximum distance allowed?
(My thoughts go to when I´ll be getting the Trukk, and I might want to disembarking in a tightknit formation (maybe towards the front/rear, which isn´t as wide and has less space to disembark than the sides)... If I can and it´s desired!)
Of course you don't have a minimum deployment distance from each other, as long as the bases are not on top of each other
10. SPACE MARINE MEGABLAST! Since my friend has just got his Codex, he likes to mention (name slips my mind, orbital cannon, is it?) which more or less just seems to be too good to be true as cheap as he claims it to be :p
It´s supposed to be S10 AP1, unlimited range and comes with quite a few characters. So here´s my questionmarks about it:
A. Free?? Really? Just like that... is there relly no green-hided, roaring justice in this world?
B. He mentions that it´s a "once-per-game" weapon, but if he fields several HQ with the orbital cannon he can fire it several times per game. True? Please dont´say it´s so..
C. Does it require line of sight, or does it just alters the scatterdistance if the target is in LOS or not?
you don't pay for it separately, but it's included with more expensive characters than those that don't have it, so it's not really for free.
Yes, once per game. I'd think that if you had two you could do both on the same turn as well.
Doesn't require line of sight, but even if you have LOS it doesn't reduce the scatter distance.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 02:19:02
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
1. Boyz have 2 base attacks, the slugga/choppa attack is not included. This means a slugga/choppa boy in CC gets 3 swings, 4 on the charge. A shoota boy gets 2, 3 on the charge. 2. See 1, the squig is simply an additional base attack. A badly armed warboss (no PK) can indeed get 4 + 1(2 1handed CC weapons)+ 1 (charging)+1 (squig) = 7 attacks. 3. All attacks are PK attacks, you don't split them between offhand/mainhand or anything wierd. Note that PKs and PFs don't give a bonus attack when used with a normal CC weapon or pistol (see p42 BRB). 4. Yes, if any part of a unit is within 6" then the unit gains the cover save. Note that the save the kff obscurement grants to vehicles is a 4+. 5. He does not lose any attacks, he merely loses the bonus for the 2 singlehanded CC weapon combo. So his 3 base, 4 charging. 6. I'll have to check, I believe it's instead of rolling for a psychic power 7. Total army, and I believe the necron codex specifies at the beginning of the necron turn after WBB rolls. This is a huge part of playing Necrons, make sure your friend finds and understands this rule thoroughly. 8. It's a USR in the main rulebook, check it out then get back to us if you're confused. Note that it applies to morale/pinning tests only, not all leadership tests. 9. Closer is certainly allowed 10 I'll leave to a SM player
|
This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2010/04/15 03:05:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 05:51:53
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
California, USA
|
Gorkamorka has it all right, I'll just confirm one point.
Zogworts rule clearly states he "may use his curse as a psychic power INSTEAD [emphasis mine] of rolling on the weirdboy psychic power chart."
So no, you can't roll on the chart, and then decide to use his curse to avoid a bad roll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/15 05:52:44
1500 points Speed Freeks
WarOne wrote:orks practically live forever...until something like a boot to the head kills you. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 05:53:30
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Quick Clarifications:
2. He doesn't receive an extra attack for having an additional close combat weapons, as specified under the Power Fist rules on page 42 (Power Klaw is a Power Fist Equivalent). This brings his attack total with the squig to 5 normally, or 6 when he assaults.
6. Yes Old Zogwart's power is used "instead of rolling on the wierdboy psychic power chart." Anyone who tries to change his mind after rolling is cheating (possibly unintentionally) and should be shown the codex (p. 61)
9. Get your models as close as you want as long as they're not overlapping bases. Just beware of blast weapons like missile launchers if you're going to do this. Probably the only time you want models close together is to benefit from oddly shaped cover and to maximize attacking models during an assault.
10. The Orbital Bombardment can be used once per HQ with the ability (that's chapter masters only). This attack always hits the side armor of vehicles and takes the better of 2d6 when penetrating armor.
Take heart, however! 1st, it counts as heavy, meaning that if he moves his chapter master he may not fire it, although he may assault afterwards. 2nd, his ballistic skill makes no difference - if he rolls anything other than a direct hit it scatters the full distance (codex space marines p.52)
|
There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 06:04:57
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
MekanobSamael wrote: Take heart, however! 1st, it counts as heavy, meaning that if he moves his chapter master he may not fire it, although he may assault afterwards.
Is that specific to the ability? You can't normally assault after firing a heavy weapon. "Units that fire heavy weapons in the Shooting phase may not assault into close combat in the Assault phase."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/15 06:05:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 06:38:55
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
MekanobSamael wrote:10. The Orbital Bombardment can be used once per HQ with the ability (that's chapter masters only). This attack always hits the side armor of vehicles and takes the better of 2d6 when penetrating armor. Take heart, however! 1st, it counts as heavy, meaning that if he moves his chapter master he may not fire it, although he may assault afterwards. 2nd, his ballistic skill makes no difference - if he rolls anything other than a direct hit it scatters the full distance (codex space marines p.52) Some Clarifications: It does not always hit the side armour of vehicles, this only applies if the hole in the centre of the template is over the vehicle, of course, this is simply an aspect of the Barrage rules, if the hole is not over the tank, it hits the tanks armour side that is facing the hole, and at half strength for the weapon, although it will still get the 2d6 penetration. Furthermore, it does not count as heavy, it has a special rule which prevents him from firing it if he moved, which is awfully similar, but becomes particularly relevant with regards to terminator armour (Relentless USR) where, even though he is eligible to move and fire heavy weapons, he still cannot do so with the Orbital Barrage.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/15 06:39:12
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 06:45:21
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Actually it ISNT heavy, it is Ordnance.
So, you CANNOT move the Chapter Master if you want to fire it, as its special rules state so, even if you are Relentless - as this lets you count as stationary for heavy and rapid, so you stil l moved and it says nothing about Ordnance.
However you can then assault after, as it isnt heavy or rapid fire....
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 08:06:14
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Gorkamorka wrote:
7. Total army, and I believe the necron codex specifies at the beginning of the necron turn after WBB rolls. This is a huge part of playing Necrons, make sure your friend finds and understands this rule thoroughly.
Correction, you phase out when 75% of models with the necron special rule are destroyed (so don't count C'tan, pariahs, scarabs, spyders or monoliths)
Do read the WBB rule thoroughly and read the necron FAQ - it's a complicated rule and very important.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 09:18:00
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:Actually it ISNT heavy, it is Ordnance.
So, you CANNOT move the Chapter Master if you want to fire it, as its special rules state so, even if you are Relentless - as this lets you count as stationary for heavy and rapid, so you stil l moved and it says nothing about Ordnance.
However you can then assault after, as it isnt heavy or rapid fire....
Correct. The number of people I see get this wrong is mind boggling!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 13:42:50
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
5th God of Chaos! (Yea'rly!)
The Great State of Texas
|
Modqusiition on.
Gentlemen I applaud the posters here for the politeness of the thread to date. Quite refreshing. Please continue in this vein, and remember I don't think we're looking for pure RAW here but Rule as played if one of these is one of GW's famous items.
|
-"Wait a minute.....who is that Frazz is talking to in the gallery? Hmmm something is going on here.....Oh.... it seems there is some dispute over video taping of some sort......Frazz is really upset now..........wait a minute......whats he go there.......is it? Can it be?....Frazz has just unleashed his hidden weiner dog from his mini bag, while quoting shakespeares "Let slip the dogs the war!!" GG
-"Don't mind Frazzled. He's just Dakka's crazy old dude locked in the attic. He's harmless. Mostly."
-TBone the Magnificent 1999-2014, Long Live the King!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/18 12:50:01
Subject: Re:A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
Sweden
|
Whow!
This is an ever better respons than I had hoped for!
Thank you all very much for helping out! With this I have no hesitation to cloud my gaming!
Dakkadakka is (obviously) the schnitzel!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/18 16:33:48
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Storm Trooper with Maglight
Buffalo NY, USA
|
As a note that I am surprized no one here has mentiond in regards to the slugga boyz, when a units profile includes the extra bonus granted by his equipment it would be shown in the statline in this case A:2(3) and usually noted in the characters description, otherwise always assume that anything outside of braces represents base stats. This maybe on the way out, but you WILL run into it from time to time.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/18 16:34:41
ComputerGeek01 is more then just a name |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/18 18:44:03
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare
|
Couldn't see this point covered so: 10. It is not free it is effectively 25 points but is included in the characters price. For instance a Captain is 100 points and a Chapter Mastter is 125 yet both are identical in stats and armament except eth CM comes with an Orbital bombardment. It is a very powerful shot but it is once per game and always scatters maximum distance and is not effected by the BS of the firer. It is also something that comes on characters generally geared towards short ranged fire fights and CC and the model has to stay still to use it. This means your guy you need in the face of the enemy to do maximum damage has to spen a turn standing still and not in CC to fire the orbital bombardment. I opften run 2 CMs in a game and rarely use either's Orbital bombardment and I don't think I've ever used both in a game. It really isn't that an OP ability and to be honest I'd rather not take it if I could give up the points for it. But yes it is unlimited range and does not require LoS and is S10 AP1 large blast, but then so can your shock attack gun be...
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/18 18:44:36
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 21:02:33
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Omaeshin wrote:
10. SPACE MARINE MEGABLAST! Since my friend has just got his Codex, he likes to mention (name slips my mind, orbital cannon, is it?) which more or less just seems to be too good to be true as cheap as he claims it to be :p
It´s supposed to be S10 AP1, unlimited range and comes with quite a few characters.
Welcome to Dakka! Your English is better than my (insert another language here).
It looks like all of your questions so far have been answered, so feel free to come back when you have more!
I'd like to talk about the part in bold, above. There aren't "quite a few characters" that get Orbital Bombardment. It's only the chapter master. That's it. As he is an HQ choice, you can't have more than 2. And they only each get to shoot it once. I've seen it scatter off of the intended target so many times it's not even funny anymore!
Don't mind it too much. Try to keep your units in cover as much as you can, or spread out some so that he doesn't scatter off one unit onto another! Also, don't bunch your guys up so much that he can hit 7 at a time.
Enjoy the game! It's a fun one. And tell your necron friend to keep his necrons out of close combat of your orks if he doesn't like phasing out!
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 22:01:45
Subject: A couple of beginners questions, mostly about Orks & Necrons
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
kronk wrote:I'd like to talk about the part in bold, above. There aren't "quite a few characters" that get Orbital Bombardment. It's only the chapter master. That's it.
And Pedro Cantor, and anyone else who is a Chapter Master per the Codex. But yeah you get a maximum 2 per FOC.
|
|
 |
 |
|