Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 22:53:11
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Can you do this? Can you take a scout move and then pop smoke so that if your opponent goes first or seizes you get a cover save?Just came up, and I would like to know RAW and adepticon if they conflict. Thanks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/15 23:02:06
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
Grand Rapids Metro
|
Yes you can as per page 62...it says once per game after completing a move.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/16 00:22:22
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
NO.
scout move is not pe-se a move.
having said that, why? most scouts have stealth.
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/16 00:24:45
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Member of the Malleus
Pasadena, California
|
MAYBE.
No probly not. I just wanted to be different.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/16 00:40:18
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Slaanesh Havoc with Blastmaster
Orklando
|
Yes. Unlike some other rules that specify the Movement Phase, the rules for Smoke Launchers do not. They simply specify that they are launched after a move. Scouts get a move. I frankly don't see very much of an argument against it in the rules per se.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/16 01:00:07
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Captain Solon wrote:
having said that, why? most scouts have stealth.
...but their tranports dont.
|
taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/16 01:31:29
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.
|
I'd say yes.
The rules for Smoke Launchers just say "after completing it's move." I don't see why it wouldn't count for Scout moves, since the vehicle is in fact moving...
|
Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/16 03:38:13
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
ah, "move" one of the most ambiguous definitions in the rulebook.
Can scouts pop smoke after a scout move?
Can a deep striking vehicle pop smoke after it's deep strike scatter move?
Can a vehicle pop smoke after a Callidus Assassin uses "A word in your ear" to move it?
I believe GW (unfortunately) uses the term move interchangably to reference two different things:
A movement (not necessarily in the movement phase) which follows the rules of movement, and is affected by things such as terrain and intervening models
OR
The relocation of a model from Point A to Point B with no regard for what falls between those two points.
Obviously the movement phase itself falls into the first one, as does assaulting, running and probably a large number of other things. While I'm sure most people would agree, a deep strike scatter falls under the second definition, because if it didn't the mishap table would never have a chance to trigger.
Not all things easily or obviously fall into one of the categories though, such as my Callidus Assassin example, which merely states "can move one enemy unit up to 6" after both sides have deployed, but before the first turn starts". It could be a simple 6" relocation, or would you have the choice to "move" a tank through difficult terrain, hoping to immobilize it, or perhaps drive a bike unit through the same terrain in the hope of wounding them. There's really no sure way to tell.
With Scouts, it's definitely the first option because the move is said to be done "exactly as in their Movement phase", and as such, I would say smoke launchers can be used as part of this movement.
|
Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).
-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/16 13:23:18
Subject: Can you pop smoke during a scout move?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
I have to agree. It's not "at the end of the models movement phase" it's "at the end of the models move". Subtle Difference, but important.
So yes, you can pop smoke. Keep ya Baals Alive!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
|