Switch Theme:

Combat Squads and dedicated Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Drone without a Controller




I'm a Dark Angels player and I recently bought a razorback. I wanted to know if it is legit to use it as a dedicated transport for a 5 man combat squad out of a 10 man tactical squad, or if it technically has to be a transport for the whole unit and thus it can't fit the whole unit inside.

If this is legit, can you take TWO dedicated transports for TWO combat squads within the same unit or do they have to be two separate tac squads? I can't find any rulings on this in either the rulebook or DA codex.

Thanks!

-Grorx

A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men...

1500 pts
1500 pts
2500 pts
2500 pts 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




If the DA lets you buy a razoback for the whole squad, then you can combat squad and put the 5 models inside - and do this at deployment, as they ARE the unit the transport was bought for.

You cannot, however, take TWO transports, as you are only given permission to buy 1 transport per squad.
   
Made in us
Drone without a Controller




Great! Is that a written rule somewhere or just implied and generally agreed-upon?

A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men...

1500 pts
1500 pts
2500 pts
2500 pts 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Its actually written somewhere. The rule about the Razorback is under the dedicated transport section of the BRB. If you split at unit into combat squads, are they not still the squad that purchased the Razorback as a dedicated transport?

I'm not sure for BA, but I know that my IG Veterans say I may take *A* chimera as a dedicated transport implying one chimera may be taken, but that would be in your codex AFAIK. I am not sure what the BA say as I dont own their codex
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The codex states that the unit may buy a (singular) transport. The unit does not become two units until deployment, when you choose to Combat Squad.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

As long as the DA codex doesn't limit the purchase of the transport based on the size of the unit (which it doesn't), you're good.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: