Switch Theme:

Orks, 19" Flat Out Disembark?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





I was just wondering if Orks have a special rule for this or something. The way I see it is, Open Topped you can disembark and assault afterwards. Fast Vehicles say you can't disembark if you move Flat Out (or embark if its going to move Flat Out).

So how do Orks move Flat Out, disembark, shoot, assault?

2,500pts Hive Fleet Goliath - Tyranids --- W-10 . . D-4 . . L-5
2,000pts Empire of Quatar - Tomb Kings W-3 . . D-1 . . L-6
1,000pts Angry Marines - Blood Angels --- W-1 . . D-0 . . L-0
They shall be my finest warriors, these men who give of themselves to me. Like clay I shall mould them, and in the furnace of war forge them. They will be of iron will and steely muscle. In great armour shall I clad them and with the mightiest guns will they be armed. They will be untouched by plague or disease, no sickness will blight them. They will have tactics, strategies and machines so that no foe can best them in battle. They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my Space Marines and they shall know no fear.

+++ The Emperor of Mankind, on the Creation of the Space Marines +++  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







HiveFleetGoliath wrote:I was just wondering if Orks have a special rule for this or something. The way I see it is, Open Topped you can disembark and assault afterwards. Fast Vehicles say you can't disembark if you move Flat Out (or embark if its going to move Flat Out).

So how do Orks move Flat Out, disembark, shoot, assault?
Quite simply, they don't. What made you think they could?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/16 16:31:23


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





So I might have to talk with a friend about his Orks....

2,500pts Hive Fleet Goliath - Tyranids --- W-10 . . D-4 . . L-5
2,000pts Empire of Quatar - Tomb Kings W-3 . . D-1 . . L-6
1,000pts Angry Marines - Blood Angels --- W-1 . . D-0 . . L-0
They shall be my finest warriors, these men who give of themselves to me. Like clay I shall mould them, and in the furnace of war forge them. They will be of iron will and steely muscle. In great armour shall I clad them and with the mightiest guns will they be armed. They will be untouched by plague or disease, no sickness will blight them. They will have tactics, strategies and machines so that no foe can best them in battle. They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my Space Marines and they shall know no fear.

+++ The Emperor of Mankind, on the Creation of the Space Marines +++  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







HiveFleetGoliath wrote:So I might have to talk with a friend about his Orks....
Yes, I think you should!

Orks can, at most, move 13" (RPJ) and still disembark.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Angry Blood Angel Assault marine





Ok, my understanding of vehicles is probably complete. I used to only run Tyranids and never used a vehicle before, now I have Blood Angels and now that I have Vehicles (Fast ones too) I had to re-check the rules on them and that brought up an incident in the last tourny I played.

Thanks.

2,500pts Hive Fleet Goliath - Tyranids --- W-10 . . D-4 . . L-5
2,000pts Empire of Quatar - Tomb Kings W-3 . . D-1 . . L-6
1,000pts Angry Marines - Blood Angels --- W-1 . . D-0 . . L-0
They shall be my finest warriors, these men who give of themselves to me. Like clay I shall mould them, and in the furnace of war forge them. They will be of iron will and steely muscle. In great armour shall I clad them and with the mightiest guns will they be armed. They will be untouched by plague or disease, no sickness will blight them. They will have tactics, strategies and machines so that no foe can best them in battle. They are my bulwark against the Terror. They are the Defenders of Humanity. They are my Space Marines and they shall know no fear.

+++ The Emperor of Mankind, on the Creation of the Space Marines +++  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Essenmtially you have two restrictions:

1) you CANNOT disembark after moving flat out
2) models that disembark from a moved vehicle cannot assault

While Open Topped does raise the restriction on 2), but says nothing about 1)
   
Made in ca
Member of the Malleus





Canada

ok just to double check for my new BTemplar Army, if I jump out of sasy a Rhino before it moves, my squad can move and assualt normally correct

 
   
Made in gb
Morphing Obliterator





doubled wrote:ok just to double check for my new BTemplar Army, if I jump out of sasy a Rhino before it moves, my squad can move and assualt normally correct


Yup. The squad is free to do what it likes if it disembarkes before the transport moves.

taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live?
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





It's maximum 21 inches in the sense that the vehicle moves 13", the models disembark 2", and then they assault 6" but if it moves farther than 13" they can't jump out.







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Regwon wrote:
doubled wrote:ok just to double check for my new BTemplar Army, if I jump out of sasy a Rhino before it moves, my squad can move and assualt normally correct


Yup. The squad is free to do what it likes if it disembarkes before the transport moves.


There is a catch to that though. The Rhino in question can't have even pivoted for the marines to be able to assault

To the main topic though, I'm surprised the Ork player could make that mistake. It is possible to get further then 21' with either WAAAGH! 22-27 with the normal one and if you rule Thraka as granting an auto 6 them 27 for his.
   
Made in us
Impassive Inquisitorial Interrogator





Anywhere worth being

Keep in mind that, though you can't disembark after moving flat out, if you ram forward 19" and hit a vehicle, you're going to be putting a strength 6 hit on your Trukk, which stands a decent chance of wreaking it. On the Ramshackle table, every result includes the Boyz "disembarking," so if you're opponent rolls a 5 or 6 to penetrate, then a 4+ for a Ramshackle result, you have a decent chance of having your Boyz out and ready to charge.

Mathammer says you have a 19.2% chance of getting a Ramshackle roll off of a 18" ram, and then you just have to hope, if you get a 3-4, that the scatter is good.

"Don't put your trust in revolutions. They always come around again. That's why they're called revolutions. People die, and nothing changes."

In the grim darkness of the 41st millenium... there is only brand loyalty
   
Made in ca
Member of the Malleus





Canada

OK if I through my shoota boyz in a trukk say, and the truck shoots and kills target A, can the embarked squad pick a new target or are they SOL??

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Given that the Trukk and the embarked unit are seperate units, you can ALWAYS shoot a different target to the target the trukk has shot at.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: