| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 07:09:25
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Can the scouts be inside the Storm when it is put into play (There is no list of scouts being able to select the Storm as a dedicated transport). I understand that the Storm can be deep striked, in that case, can scouts be deployed? The rules in both the codex and rulebook seem vague. What is the real rules here?
|
"Let the Orks come by the thousand, or by the tens of thousands; we shall be ready for them. This world is the Emperor's not theirs, and we shall wash it clean with their blood."
-Pedro Kanto. Master of the Crimson Fists |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 07:28:22
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
You can put them inside before deployment and they will arrive by whatever means the Storm does.
So, outflank, DS, normal deployment with a Scout move.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 08:39:50
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks, but how come in the Codex, it doesn't mention that scouts can be deployed using the Storm as a dedicated transport?
|
"Let the Orks come by the thousand, or by the tens of thousands; we shall be ready for them. This world is the Emperor's not theirs, and we shall wash it clean with their blood."
-Pedro Kanto. Master of the Crimson Fists |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 08:44:58
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Courageous Questing Knight
|
typo I guess?
It's on the storms page.
it's a much more minor weapon.
|
DR:90S+++G++MB+I+Pw40k096D++A+/areWD360R+++T(P)DM+
3000 pt space marine 72% painted!
W/L/D 24/6/22
2500 pt Bretons 10% painted
W/L/D 1/0/0
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/337109.page lekkar diorama, aye? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 09:04:53
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
StormBolter wrote:Thanks, but how come in the Codex, it doesn't mention that scouts can be deployed using the Storm as a dedicated transport?
Crazily enough because it's not a Dedicated Transport. It's why you hardly ever see them, they're not worth taking up an entire FA slot for.
|
You brighten my life like a polystyrene hat, but it melts in the sun like a life without love, and I've waited for you so I'll keep holding on without you.
"There's nothing cooler than being proud of the things that you love" - Sean Plott
Gold League - Terran |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 09:10:28
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Stormin' Stompa
|
It's all in the preparing reserves section, P94. Because it's not a dedicated transport. Some people get a little confused about the 'preparing reserves' section, and think that it is saying a unit can only be placed in a dedicated transport. It is actually saying that a vehicle which is a dedicated transport can only either be empty or carrying the unit that it came with.
As a LSS is a vehicle with the scout rule, any unit that can embark on it can enter via deepstrike, outflank, or whatever.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 09:15:15
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
StormBolter wrote:Thanks, but how come in the Codex, it doesn't mention that scouts can be deployed using the Storm as a dedicated transport?
Mainly because you dont need to have a Dedicated transport to deploy inside a transport at the start of the game?
It isnt a typo, just not needed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/19 11:12:01
Subject: Re:Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
If a transport is not a dedicated one, any unit can start the game inside it.
The Land Speeder Storm is not a Dedicated transport.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 06:27:30
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
And no, captain solon, it's not a typo.
Making them a dedicated transport for scout would make them much better. You could have six of them for a start and still have all your fast attack slots open.
Hmmm, a 15 speeder army might be amusing....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 17:31:15
Subject: Re:Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
Gwar! wrote:If a transport is not a dedicated one, any unit can start the game inside it.
The Land Speeder Storm is not a Dedicated transport. 
Ok now im confused...
In order to begin the game inside of it it has to start in reserve though correct?
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 17:31:56
Subject: Re:Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Shake Zoola wrote:Gwar! wrote:If a transport is not a dedicated one, any unit can start the game inside it.
The Land Speeder Storm is not a Dedicated transport. 
Ok now im confused...
In order to begin the game inside of it it has to start in reserve though correct?
No. It can start deployed inside it.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 17:38:15
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
So i can start a squad of ork boyz embarked in a battlewagon if i want to then...as long as this battle wagon isnt a dedicated transport?
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 17:51:50
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Shake Zoola wrote:So i can start a squad of ork boyz embarked in a battlewagon if i want to then...as long as this battle wagon isnt a dedicated transport?
Correct.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 17:53:45
Subject: Re:Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
On the train headin down to delicious town
|
Thanks!
This changes my deployment strategy quite a bit then!
|
loota boy wrote:Ah, I see you have run into the great Mephiston, Lord of Cheese! Not to worry, that block of chedder can be tied up easily with 30 boyz, can get his ass handed to him in a match with Ghazzy, and can be squigified with Zogwort. How satisfiying would that be? ....Squigfiston, Lord of gak...
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over." "WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 20:03:53
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor
|
Kinda makes me almost want to toss a Lone Wolf with wolves into a Land Raider to get him up to the lines faster.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 22:11:05
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Are you 100% sure about Ork Boyz being able to deploy in the Battle Wagon at the start of the game? I don't think that is right. Wouldn't be fair. I know a Trukk is a DT, and a BW is a dedicated transport for nobs
|
"Let the Orks come by the thousand, or by the tens of thousands; we shall be ready for them. This world is the Emperor's not theirs, and we shall wash it clean with their blood."
-Pedro Kanto. Master of the Crimson Fists |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 22:15:57
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
StormBolter wrote:Are you 100% sure about Ork Boyz being able to deploy in the Battle Wagon at the start of the game? I don't think that is right. Wouldn't be fair. I know a Trukk is a DT, and a BW is a dedicated transport for nobs
Yes I am. A BW is a Heavy Support Choice.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 22:17:02
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
StormBolter wrote:Are you 100% sure about Ork Boyz being able to deploy in the Battle Wagon at the start of the game? I don't think that is right. Wouldn't be fair. I know a Trukk is a DT, and a BW is a dedicated transport for nobs
Yes, if you are unsure PLEASE DO A SEARCH -0 this comes up at least twice a week.
Read the DT rules, what do they tell you is the only difference between them and normal transports re Deployment? So what does that mean normal transports can do? Got it!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 11:53:36
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So is everyone in accord with the Ork Boyz being able to deploy into the battlewagon even though it doesn't mention anything about them using it as a dedicated transport in the codex? Does this mean Terminators can be deployed in the Drop Pod since there is no mention of them not being able to use it in the codex?
|
"Let the Orks come by the thousand, or by the tens of thousands; we shall be ready for them. This world is the Emperor's not theirs, and we shall wash it clean with their blood."
-Pedro Kanto. Master of the Crimson Fists |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 11:59:57
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
StormBolter wrote:So is everyone in accord with the Ork Boyz being able to deploy into the battlewagon even though it doesn't mention anything about them using it as a dedicated transport in the codex? Does this mean Terminators can be deployed in the Drop Pod since there is no mention of them not being able to use it in the codex?
 Boyz can deploy inside a NON DEDICATED TRANSPORT Battlewagon (i.e. One taken as a Heavy Support) because it is NOT a Dedicated Transport. Drop Pods can ONLY be taken as a Dedicated Transport, and Terminators (non SW Terminators anyway) cannot take them, so cannot begin the game embarked upon them.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/21 12:02:42
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/21 14:54:59
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
How isnt it fair having boyz start in a battlewagon?
I use at least one group of boyz to fill my third battlewagon every game ...
|
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/24 01:04:34
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Makes it much harder to kill boys via artillery strikes at the start of the game. Deth Rollers and Troops inside is not a pretty sight
|
"Let the Orks come by the thousand, or by the tens of thousands; we shall be ready for them. This world is the Emperor's not theirs, and we shall wash it clean with their blood."
-Pedro Kanto. Master of the Crimson Fists |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/24 04:43:30
Subject: Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
StormBolter wrote:So is everyone in accord with the Ork Boyz being able to deploy into the battlewagon even though it doesn't mention anything about them using it as a dedicated transport in the codex? Does this mean Terminators can be deployed in the Drop Pod since there is no mention of them not being able to use it in the codex?
What part of drop pods being dedicated transports do you not understand?
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/24 05:49:32
Subject: Re:Scouts and Land Speeder Storm as dedicated transport?
|
 |
Slippery Ultramarine Scout Biker
|
For those of you that are having some trouble with this I will refer you to two sections of the rule book. In the bottom right corner of page 66 there is a box marked "dedicated transports" start by reading that. The first sentence is "Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex will include a transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected together with a unit." (66). A dedicated transport is a transport that is purchased with the unit (i.e. as part of the same FOC slot) like a rhino or chimera. A LSS is purchased as a separate fast attack choice so it is NOT a dedicated transport.
Now that the question of what is and is not a dedicated transport has been resolved we can have a look at the section on page 94 of the big rule book called "preparing reserves". The 4th paragraph in that section is the big one here. The whole paragraph is important but the 3rd sentence is the one that we need for this discussion. "Remember that a dedicated transport can only be deployed, and consequently can only be kept in reserve, either empty or transporting the unit it was selected with" (94).
So to sum up... A dedicated transport is purchased as part of the same FOC slot as the unit it is "dedicated" to. A squad of scouts is a troops choice. The LSS is a fast attack choice. Therefore the LSS is NOT a dedicated transport. This means that any five man unit of scouts can begin the game mounted in the vehicle, whether it is on the table or in reserves. This is because the restrictions on pg 94 only apply to dedicated transports and we have already established that a Land Speeder Storm is not a dedicated transport. This also applies to battle wagons purchased as a heavy support choice, valkyries and vendetta's, and most land raiders.
I hope this helps and my apologies for the long winded explanation.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/24 05:55:49
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|