Switch Theme:

Instant Death against T4(5)  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

So I understand the rules regarding S8 weaponry inflicting ID on a model with the T4(5) stat. However, how would the Swarmlord resolve his hits...Would he wound on a 2+ or a 3+ against plague marines etc? The way I'm readng it is that if a wound would inflict ID you don't get the benefit of the bonus:

"When it comes to instant death, such bonuses do not count"
and
"In these cases two values will be shown ...use the lowest vaue for working out instant death".

The first sentence seems to be refering to any hits that inflict ID, while the second seems to only apply to ID inflicted from weapons which are double the toughness.

So which is correct?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/19 13:27:17


Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Mesopotamia. The Kingdom Where we Secretly Reign.

The roll to wound is seperate from determining whether or not Instant Death takes place, first of all.

Roll to wound as normal, and then apply any special rules that the model doing the wounding might have. The t4(5) just means that if you're putting a wound on say, a plague marine, that you ID him with S8 and not s10.

Drink deeply and lustily from the foamy draught of evil.
W: 1.756 Quadrillion L: 0 D: 2
Haters gon' hate. 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Yes but the Swarmlord inflicts ID on all his hits...that's why I'm asking.

Perhaps I'm not understanding your answer...sorry.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Lukus83 wrote:Yes but the Swarmlord inflicts ID on all his hits...that's why I'm asking.

Perhaps I'm not understanding your answer...sorry.
He causes ID regardless of toughness, so he rolls to wound as normal, then causes ID whether the target is Toughness 3 or Toughness 10.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

so dos he roll to wound on a 2+ seeing as his hits all cause ID, or is that resolved after rolling to wound making it a 3+?

It's the wording that's puzzling me.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in gb
Plummeting Black Templar Thunderhawk Pilot






Worcester, UK

Mis read the OP, please disregard this post

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/19 13:32:49


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Lukus83 wrote:Yes but the Swarmlord inflicts ID on all his hits...that's why I'm asking.

Perhaps I'm not understanding your answer...sorry.


Instant Death is NEVER used to determine the value used to Wound someone, it is an *effect* that occurs when you cause an unsaved wound.

So the fact the unit is 4(5) is irrelevant to the Swarmlord, as he wounds againt T(5) and then causes instant death despite not being S8+, due to his special rule.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Instant Death is NEVER used to determine the value used to Wound someone, it is an *effect* that occurs when you cause an unsaved wound.

So the fact the unit is 4(5) is irrelevant to the Swarmlord, as he wounds againt T(5) and then causes instant death despite not being S8+, due to his special rule.
nosferatu1001 has it correct and true.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

But in the ID rules it does state that "when it comes to ID, such bonuses do not count".

So I guess the amended question is does ID resolve after wounding or before?

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Lukus83 wrote:But in the ID rules it does state that "when it comes to ID, such bonuses do not count".

So I guess the amended question is does ID resolve after wounding or before?
Such bonuses do not count when determining if they suffer instant death FROM THE STRENGTH OF THE WEAPON. If you cause ID regardless of Toughness, you cause ID regardless.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/19 13:36:32


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

From your answers I'm guessing after.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Thanks

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/19 13:35:54


Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
Made in us
Water-Caste Negotiator




Clinton, TN

It is resolved after wounding, as without a wound, there is not instant death. The "bonus" does not count for purposes of double toughness instant death. So a typical missile launcher (S8) would cause instant death to anything T4(5) as the +1 toughness "bonus" would not count. Special rules that cause instant death always wound based on strength versus toughness, the rule has no bearing on the difficulty of wounding.

Currently Play/Own
= 3500 = 3500 = 4000 = 2500 = 1000 = 500 = 3000 = 2000 = 1000 = 2500 = 1500

"Now the general who wins a battle makes many calculations in his temple before the battle is fought.
The general who loses a battle makes but few calculations beforehand." - Sun Tzu 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You roll to hit, then to wound. Any saves are taken, and if you fail them (or cant take e.g. armour against a power) you take a wound.

At that point IF you are a multiwound model (as otherwise you are dead ) you determine if the attack causes Instant Death. - but this is *after* you have wounded, so you only ignroie the (5) at this point, not when you wounded.

For a better example consider the old chaos Obliterators, that were T4(5) with a 2+ save and 2W:

1) If you fire a Krak Missile at them, you roll to wound against S8 Vs T(5), i.e. you wound on 2s.
2) The Oblit gets a 2+ Armour save - if it fails it you *then* check for ID conditions and find out it is only T4 when considering ID, meaning the model dies losing its last wound.
3) If the Oblit saves on a 2+ nothing more happens.

That is waht ID means by "ignored for the purposes of ID" - you roll to wound as normal, it is only *after* the target fails a wound, and you check to see if it was ID'd, does the number in brackets get ignored.
   
Made in cn
Blackclad Wayfarer





From England. Living in Shanghai

Thanks very much for all your speedy replies. Issue resolved.

Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: