| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 06:34:40
Subject: Exarch Powers: Who is Affected?
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
Hey guys,
please forgive the wall of text.. I tried to be as thorough as possible...
Alright, so it's pretty clear that exarch powers are only extended to autarchs and aspect warriors in the same unit as the model that owns the power. Because of this, I have been under the impression that, for an example, a farseer within a dire avenger unit, would not benefit from the "defend" power.
However, not all exarch powers affect the models in the aspect warrior unit. As an example, the banshee exarch's "warshout" affects enemy models, rather than the banshees. With this in mind, I read the "defend" rule more closely, and it appears that this power, rather than affecting the aspect warriors themselves, affects the enemy. If this is so, would the power not be required to be extended to the farseer, in order to work to his advantage?
The rule reads:
"Enemies directing their attacks towards the exarch's squad lose one attack in each assault phase (to a minimum of 1.)"
When broken down it appears:
Who is affected?- "Enemies directing their attacks towards the exarch's squad."
What triggers the power?- "directing...attacks towards the exarch's squad."
What happens to the affected model(s)?- "lose one attack in each assault phase."
It looks pretty solid to me, the only argument I can possibly see against it is that for the purposes of allocating attacks, independent characters are considered separate units and therefor the farseer is not a member of "the exarch's squad,"... how ever I do not believe the rule should be interpreted that way, because to do so would mean that a space marine chaplain could never let his unit re-roll hits in close combat, as he would be his own separate unit under that interpretation, and to accept that would be just silly.
What do you guys think?
|
Eldritch Raiders 2500
Ogre Kingdoms 1500
LotR-Mordor 750 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 08:21:00
Subject: Re:Exarch Powers: Who is Affected?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The text which will defeat this is: "Note that Exarch powers can only ever effect Aspect Warriors and Autarchs in the same squad as the Exarch using them." This defeats the claim that Defend is somehow affecting the enemy squad because my quoted text now says "Okay, then it doesn't do anything to the enemy squad because it can only affect the squad."
The power affects the specified models in the squad by causing their opponents to lose attacks. Because the codex says that the power can't affect the farseer.
Better luck next time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 08:44:40
Subject: Exarch Powers: Who is Affected?
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Also, in cc, the farseer is a separate unit (as an IC).
Models targetting him aren't targetting the DA squad so wouldn't be affected.
Either way he won't benefit.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 13:05:44
Subject: Re:Exarch Powers: Who is Affected?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Nope. Defend does not work with a Farseer, for the reasons already shown.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 21:40:43
Subject: Re:Exarch Powers: Who is Affected?
|
 |
Shrieking Guardian Jetbiker
Los Angeles, CA
|
solkan wrote:The text which will defeat this is: "Note that Exarch powers can only ever effect Aspect Warriors and Autarchs in the same squad as the Exarch using them." This defeats the claim that Defend is somehow affecting the enemy squad because my quoted text now says "Okay, then it doesn't do anything to the enemy squad because it can only affect the squad."
The power affects the specified models in the squad by causing their opponents to lose attacks. Because the codex says that the power can't affect the farseer.
Better luck next time.
Yeah, the RAW here cannot be refuted, but then by RAW, neither defend nor the banshee's warshout powers work, ever, since they affect enemies, rather than the unit whos exarch uses the power.
chromedog wrote:Also, in cc, the farseer is a separate unit (as an IC).
Models targetting him aren't targetting the DA squad so wouldn't be affected.
Either way he won't benefit.
Well I suppose one could interpret the IC in close combat rule that way, but as I mentioned in the original post, if youre willing to interpret it that way, all the sudden you have chaplain and chaplain equivalents who are unable to give the units they are in their ability to re-roll attacks in close combat, because, by this interpretation, the chaplains (as IC's) are seperate units.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/20 21:41:45
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 23:15:42
Subject: Re:Exarch Powers: Who is Affected?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Falconlance wrote:solkan wrote:The text which will defeat this is: "Note that Exarch powers can only ever effect Aspect Warriors and Autarchs in the same squad as the Exarch using them." This defeats the claim that Defend is somehow affecting the enemy squad because my quoted text now says "Okay, then it doesn't do anything to the enemy squad because it can only affect the squad."
The power affects the specified models in the squad by causing their opponents to lose attacks. Because the codex says that the power can't affect the farseer.
Better luck next time.
Yeah, the RAW here cannot be refuted, but then by RAW, neither defend nor the banshee's warshout powers work, ever, since they affect enemies, rather than the unit whos exarch uses the power.
What you write is true only if you attempt to use the interpretation of "affect" which you used in your original post. If one interprets "affect" as "is given the benefits or use of", then both Defend and War Shout work fine while still denying a Farseer the benefit of defend.
Complaining that your own argument breaks even more of your army's abilities isn't a winning strategy.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/20 23:16:56
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|