| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 09:16:30
Subject: Template weapons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Can a template weapon be fired at units who are in close combat if it doesn't hit any of your friendly units? I was told it could but i didn't see any where in the rules that specified either way.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 09:26:25
Subject: Template weapons
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
No shooting at CC, if the weapon was aimed at another unit and then it hit some enemies in CC without hitting friendlys then by RAW it should be able to wound them, as weird as that seems.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 09:30:27
Subject: Re:Template weapons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
you said "fired at" you did not say hit... so if i fire at a squad that is not locked in cc and the template does not reach them can i still wound models under the template who ARE in cc? I just looked and it doesnt SAY i have to target units that are within range of my template anywhere in the rulebook.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/20 09:33:47
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 09:36:54
Subject: Template weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Firstly, nomenclature:
- Template refers to the teardrop shaped piece of plastic. THese typically are used for flamers (heavy, normal, hand, etc)
- Blast markers. The round markers with a hole used for basilisks and the like, large or normal blast. These DO scatter.
So if you fire a flamer, using the teardrop template:
1) You CANNOT target units in CC. CANNOT. This is a shooting prohibition that would need *specific* verbiage to override.
2) While you can target a unit (not locked in CC, have LOS) that is out of range, as soon as you find it is out of range the shot automatically misses - regardless of their being models underneath or not. If the target is out of range, the shot misses. Again, basic shooting rules.
That is why it doesnt say you cannot shoot at units outside your range - it tells you waht happens if you DO shoot at targets outside of range.
If you fire a blast weapon, such as a Leman Russ Battle cannon, then the following applies:
1) You CANNOT *target* a unit in close combat, as you follow the normal shooting rules.
2) IF the shot scatters and *then* hits a unit in close combat - that is perfectly fine, and covered in the rules for blast weapons.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 09:42:47
Subject: Re:Template weapons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
ok but as long as I target (and hit at least 1 model) not in CC then any enemy models in cc still get hit...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 09:44:32
Subject: Template weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, as you have still tried to cover models in close combat, something explicitly denied you in the rules for Template weapons.
Have a look in your rulebook under template weapons, note the restrictions there on hitting friendly and models locked in close combat.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 09:49:09
Subject: Re:Template weapons
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
I have read through the section several times and see no reference to models locked in cc. i does mention friendly models but not enemy models in cc.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 10:08:36
Subject: Re:Template weapons
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You will also want to read the last three paragraphs on page 40, Shooting Into & Out of Close Combat.
In particular, the beginning of the second paragraph: "While blast markers and template may not be deliberately placed such that they cover any models locked in combat, ..."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 12:09:21
Subject: Template weapons
|
 |
Cosmic Joe
|
Ahh solkan finds the true answer.
|
Nosebiter wrote:Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 13:57:00
Subject: Re:Template weapons
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Just for the record, these people are correct, you cannot shoot at models in close combat, however, if some guys assault your tank, you could have a different unit of your own shoot a flamer at them so long as no part of the template touches any part of your vehicle's hull. Models assaulting a vehicle can still be shot at.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/20 15:32:03
Subject: Template weapons
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Because they do not count as "being in close combat", hence the question never arises...
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|