Switch Theme:

What profile is used for resolving wounds in Close Assaults?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

OK, another dumb question - sorry.

The rulebook indicates that if a unit is allowed a save normally, it may take one in close assault (discounting things like power fists etc). Maybe it's because I've been looking at this stuff all night and my brain is fuzzing, but - how do you determine what the strength was for calculating if a wound was scored on the "To Wound" chart? It just says in the RB "as with shooting", so do you use the weapon they have equipped or the unit str?

IE, if an Ork Boy (S3) is armed with a big shoota (S5), what was the S of the close combat attack - S3 or S5? Am I to assume he used the Big Shoota like a giant S5 club? Or that he used a Choppa on his back with his S3 arms?

(fixed that big shoota typo)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/20 14:18:04


 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

You do not use the shooting weapon unless it has special rules saying to do so. Normally, it's the strength of the model, in your example, S3. Certain special close combat weapons do provide strength boosts by adding +1 or +2 or doubling/tripling the users strength, these will be noted in the weapon's profile.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ouze wrote:OK, another dumb question - sorry.

The rulebook indicates that if a unit is allowed a save normally, it may take one in close assault (discounting things like power fists etc). Maybe it's because I've been looking at this stuff all night and my brain is fuzzing, but - how do you determine what the strength was for calculating if a wound was scored on the "To Wound" chart? It just says in the RB "as with shooting", so do you use the weapon they have equipped or the unit str?

IE, if an Ork Boy (S3) is armed with a big shoota (S6), what was the S of the close combat attack - S3 or S6? Am I to assume he used the Big Shoota like a giant S6 club? Or that he used a Choppa on his back with his S3 arms?
You use the strength of the model unless a rule tells you otherwise.

And just for the record, Big Shootas are S5, not S6.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/20 14:02:13


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

Oops, I sort of mingled 2 questions here. I mean, how do you calculate AP, for determining if they are allowed a save? Re-reading my post, I was confusing as hell. I apologize for that, too. Long night at work.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/20 14:20:35


 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in gb
Elite Tyranid Warrior





Generally speaking, models in close combat attack with one of the following-

'Normal' attacks - This is the default close combat attack, and has no AP property. Saves are taken as usual.
'Power weapon' attacks - A specific type of attack, conferred by a power sword/fist/claw/monstrous creature/force weapon. No armour save may be taken, invulnerable saves may be taken.
'Rending' attacks - They work like 'normal' attacks, unless you roll a 6 (or whatever the rending value might be) to wound, in which case tehy work like 'power weapon' attack.
Other - All the wierd, unit specific stuff that has it's own rules.
   
Made in us
Last Remaining Whole C'Tan






Pleasant Valley, Iowa

So essentially, every "normal" close combat attack will allow an armor save, assuming the unit has one?

 lord_blackfang wrote:
Respect to the guy who subscribed just to post a massive ASCII dong in the chat and immediately get banned.

 Flinty wrote:
The benefit of slate is that its.actually a.rock with rock like properties. The downside is that it's a rock
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Ouze wrote:So essentially, every "normal" close combat attack will allow an armor save, assuming the unit has one?
Yes.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




AP is NOT used in close combat - look at page 42 (i think) which lists the different types of close combat weapons and their effects.
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Remember that CC attacks not having an AP does not make them 'AP -' when it comes to assaulting vehicles either.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

nosferatu1001 wrote:AP is NOT used in close combat - look at page 42 (i think) which lists the different types of close combat weapons and their effects.


Though it might make sense of they did...if I had a melta gun...you can be sure that I am going to close range melta some guy in the chest if given the opportunity.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




But you arent given the oppurtunity.
Plus you REALLY dont want to wave a melta gun round in CC - your unit really wouldnt appreciate it!
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

Can't ork burnas do something like this if they dont fire their flamers though?

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ductvader wrote:Can't ork burnas do something like this if they dont fire their flamers though?
No, it is nothing like this.

They count as PW if they don't fire.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, but only because the specifially are allowed to, and even then it isnt a straight "AP" swap to CC - instead of an AP5 burna you get to use it as a power weapon, which denies all saves.

Which is why AP doesnt below in CC - its all or nothing
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

Gwar! wrote:
ductvader wrote:Can't ork burnas do something like this if they dont fire their flamers though?
No, it is nothing like this.

They count as PW if they don't fire.


Well actually its something very much like it. The terminology is different but the method is the same. Which is all I was talking about.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







ductvader wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
ductvader wrote:Can't ork burnas do something like this if they dont fire their flamers though?
No, it is nothing like this.

They count as PW if they don't fire.
Well actually its something very much like it. The terminology is different but the method is the same. Which is all I was talking about.
Actually, what you are talking about would be counting the Burnas as S4 AP5 weapons in CC.

Counting as a Power Weapon is nothing like this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/20 21:53:13


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

Gwar! wrote:
ductvader wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
ductvader wrote:Can't ork burnas do something like this if they dont fire their flamers though?
No, it is nothing like this.

They count as PW if they don't fire.
Well actually its something very much like it. The terminology is different but the method is the same. Which is all I was talking about.
Actually, what you are talking about would be counting the Burnas as S4 AP5 weapons in CC.

Counting as a Power Weapon is nothing like this.


You're not understanding that I am not debating rules but fluff.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in au
Sniping Gŭiláng






ductvader wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
ductvader wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
ductvader wrote:Can't ork burnas do something like this if they dont fire their flamers though?
No, it is nothing like this.

They count as PW if they don't fire.
Well actually its something very much like it. The terminology is different but the method is the same. Which is all I was talking about.
Actually, what you are talking about would be counting the Burnas as S4 AP5 weapons in CC.

Counting as a Power Weapon is nothing like this.


You're not understanding that I am not debating rules but fluff.


why debate fluff in a rule's forum?


 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

Ha...because this is where the topic popped up...no worries though.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: