Switch Theme:

Transport for independent characters  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker






The Commissar lord can purchase a chimera dedicated transport. Can a heavy weapon squad start the game in the chimera if the commissar lord is also in the chimera?

-Any terrain containing Sly Marbo is dangerous terrain.
-Sly Marbo once played an objective mission just to see what it was like to not meet every victory condition on his own.
-Sly Marbo bought a third edition rulebook just to play meat grinder as the attacker.
-Marbo doesn't need an Eldar farseer as an ally; his enemies are already doomed
-Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain
-Sly Marbo still attacks the front armor value in assault, for pity's sake.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, as the IC joins the HW team and is therefore NOT the same unit as the transport was bought for.

If you are asking if the HW team can remain seperate frmo the IC, then this is not possible.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







To put what Nosferatu1001 wrote slightly differently, only the only units which can be deployed in a dedicated transport is the unit for that transport and additional independent characters.

So the Commissar and an several of his closest IC friends could get in during deployment, but but no non-IC units can.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/21 07:03:50


 
   
Made in us
Revving Ravenwing Biker






To put what Nosferatu1001 wrote slightly differently, only the only units which can be deployed in a dedicated transport is the unit itself and additional independent characters.

So the Commissar and an several of his closest IC friends could get in during deployment, but but no non-IC units can.

Ya thats what I was thinking, but it seems like a weird situation that the commissar joined to another unit is no longer a commissar

-Any terrain containing Sly Marbo is dangerous terrain.
-Sly Marbo once played an objective mission just to see what it was like to not meet every victory condition on his own.
-Sly Marbo bought a third edition rulebook just to play meat grinder as the attacker.
-Marbo doesn't need an Eldar farseer as an ally; his enemies are already doomed
-Sly Marbo was originally armed with a power weapon, but he dropped it while assaulting a space marine command squad just so his enemies could feel pain
-Sly Marbo still attacks the front armor value in assault, for pity's sake.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







It's just as weird to suggest that the heavy weapon team was suddenly promoted to the commissariat (or whatever would happen if it was still a 'commissar' unit) because the commissar joined them. Promotion in the IG isn't that easy.

Keep in mind that the IC rules are pretty consistent about the fact that IC's join units to become part of the unit, not the other way around. There's that whole section about whether or not a unit's USR's apply to attached IC's (or are lost, etc.) and all of those other rules which reinforce the concept.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/21 07:19:35


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







It can happen the other way around because the rules say it can, however (that is, an IC joining a unit inside their Dedicated Transport).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in fi
Confessor Of Sins




Gwar! wrote:It can happen the other way around because the rules say it can, however (that is, an IC joining a unit inside their Dedicated Transport).


Which is all well and good.

As for the OP, did any lone IC have the option of buying a dedicated transport before the Comissar Lord came along? I suspect the writers just didn't know that the deployment rules makes it impossible to use the transport to full effect, ie. arriving from reserves with IC+squad aboard. Kind of like Shrike who can't actually infiltrate with the squad he grants Infiltrate to.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Spetulhu wrote:As for the OP, did any lone IC have the option of buying a dedicated transport before the Comissar Lord came along?


Yup. Ork Warbosses had the option to buy a Truck in the last codex.


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: