Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 16:07:06
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Alright, this has been bothering me for a long time. In the Daemonhunter Codex there is an upgrade for Psycannon Bolts. It explains this as replacing secondary weapon magazines with Psycannon Bolts instead of standard Bolter Ammunition. Continuing on it lists Heavy Bolters and Storm Bolters. From this could it not be inferred that this upgrade would carry over to Hurricane Bolters as well?
|
"United States Marine Corps: When it absolutely and positively has to be destroyed overnight"
"If all else fails, empty the magazine" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 16:30:45
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
No, it does not carry over to Hurricane Bolters.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 16:36:37
Subject: Re:Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Well damn.
|
"United States Marine Corps: When it absolutely and positively has to be destroyed overnight"
"If all else fails, empty the magazine" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 16:40:48
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Sorry,a Hurricane Bolter is not a Bolter in the same way a Storm Bolter is not a Bolter. Damn proper nouns
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 16:48:37
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Except a Hurricane Bolter "counts as three twin-linked boltguns" each, which is very different to Storm Bolters which make no mention of "counting as a bolter".
I'd say yes, you can combine them.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 16:53:42
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"Counts as" means you ARENT the thing. Otherwise you wouldnt be counting-as it, you would be it.
So no, it doesnt get the benefits. This isnt new, after many many years *nowhere* that I know of has *ever* allowed it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 16:58:54
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Think this is a semantic thing here, you want to do something that while sounds logical because it has the word "bolter" in its name. Because Psycannon doesn't say hurricane bolter, and the codex gives a specific list, storm bolter, bolter, combi-bolter, or bolt pistol, no mention of hurricane. I would check the tank vehicle upgrades, which says, storm bolter or heavy bolter (twin linked or otherwise). once again no mention of hurricane. just because it doesn't say you can't doesn't mean you can.
|
"Not all who wander are lost." -J.R.R. Tolkien
ARMIES:
5000+
2000+
1000+
1000+
2500+
1000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 17:02:56
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:"Counts as" means you ARENT the thing. Otherwise you wouldnt be counting-as it, you would be it.
So no, it doesnt get the benefits. This isnt new, after many many years *nowhere* that I know of has *ever* allowed it.
But where do you draw the line? If something "counts as" something else, then for all intents and purposes it is that thing. You can't just draw an arbitrary line - the Hurricane Bolters count as three twin-linked Bolters, so everything that a Bolter does (and that happens to Bolters) can be done by (and happen to) Hurricane Bolters.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 17:09:39
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Cheexsta wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:"Counts as" means you ARENT the thing. Otherwise you wouldnt be counting-as it, you would be it.
So no, it doesnt get the benefits. This isnt new, after many many years *nowhere* that I know of has *ever* allowed it.
But where do you draw the line? If something "counts as" something else, then for all intents and purposes it is that thing. You can't just draw an arbitrary line - the Hurricane Bolters count as three twin-linked Bolters, so everything that a Bolter does (and that happens to Bolters) can be done by (and happen to) Hurricane Bolters.
Except they aren't. They COUNT AS bolters else, because they aren't actually bolters.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 17:29:43
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Now I'm genuinely confused. Do I have a different definition of "counts as" to everyone else?
If I have a cookbook that says that "tomatoes count as vegetables [for the purposes of these recipes]" and a specific recipe calls for "any vegetable" to be used, would I not be able to use a tomato? While it is not technically a vegetable, it "counts as" a vegetable and so fits the requirements.
Or, more directly related to 40k, if a model has a special rule that says "power weapons are treated as normal close combat weapons against this model", would that prevent a unique weapon that "counts as a power weapon" from functioning, even though it might have a different name?
To me, if Weapon ABC "counts as" Weapon 123, then any rules interaction with Weapon 123 would also affect ABC.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 17:54:49
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator
|
if they were the same they would say so...
ie - hurricane bolters ARE three TL SB..
but they don't. they 'count as' so we can make the connection as to what they can do.
|
Nivondu
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 18:08:26
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
I'm not saying that a Hurricane Bolter IS three twin-linked bolters; I'm saying that because they "count as" three twin-linked bolters then they must be treated as three twin-linked bolters in every sense of the term. You can't just say that they are treated as twin-linked bolters for one or two things but not for everything else.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 18:21:51
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Death-Dealing Ultramarine Devastator
|
Then why not just say 'hey the LRC has three TLB on each side' I understand what you're saying too. I just wish we had a clearer definition for "counts as" I guess.
|
Nivondu
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 18:25:26
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
i think this is easy, read the rules, the simplest explanation is usually the best, the codex does not list 'the hurrican bolter' as an option to receive psycannon ammo, it should be as simple as that. all this 'counts as' stuff, is really just an easier way of GW telling you to use 'the other' weapons profile,save's them some print space.
|
"Not all who wander are lost." -J.R.R. Tolkien
ARMIES:
5000+
2000+
1000+
1000+
2500+
1000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 18:26:46
Subject: Re:Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
I completely agree with Cheexsta, and that's where my original confusion came from. It just doesn't make sense that a weapon that is in every way per-described as a Bolter just changes because in the definition includes "Count As" isn't covered by the upgrade.
|
"United States Marine Corps: When it absolutely and positively has to be destroyed overnight"
"If all else fails, empty the magazine" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 18:28:33
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
The book came out after the tank, so if you could upgrade to Psycannon it would be on the list of vehicle upgrades. and its not.
The only thing listed are storm bolters, and heavy bolters.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/23 18:29:27
"Not all who wander are lost." -J.R.R. Tolkien
ARMIES:
5000+
2000+
1000+
1000+
2500+
1000+ |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 19:33:31
Subject: Re:Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Pauper with Promise
|
It doesn't even matter if they were bolters because only storm bolters and heavy bolters benefit from the vehicle upgrade "Psycannon bolts"
Had two onlys in there :/
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/23 19:34:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 19:40:54
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
nivondu wrote:Then why not just say 'hey the LRC has three TLB on each side' I understand what you're saying too. I just wish we had a clearer definition for "counts as" I guess.
Because they they would have to add a line of text that states a weapon destroyed result kills all 3. And GW is cheep so they chose to cop-out with counts as to save printing cost.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 19:53:57
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Clthomps wrote:nivondu wrote:Then why not just say 'hey the LRC has three TLB on each side' I understand what you're saying too. I just wish we had a clearer definition for "counts as" I guess.
Because they they would have to add a line of text that states a weapon destroyed result kills all 3. And GW is cheep so they chose to cop-out with counts as to save printing cost.
Surely the cost is completely negligible? If I were to write the rules for Hurricane Bolters (and do it properly), I'd give it two modes, ala Missile Launcher, which would also open up the option of having something with a non twin linked Hurricane Bolter: Hurricane Bolter (Close): R12", S4, AP5, Heavy 6 Hurricane Bolter (Ranged): R24, S4, AP5, Heavy 3
|
This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2010/04/23 19:57:22
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 20:11:01
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Screaming Shining Spear
NeoGliwice III
|
Gwar! wrote:Clthomps wrote:nivondu wrote:Then why not just say 'hey the LRC has three TLB on each side' I understand what you're saying too. I just wish we had a clearer definition for "counts as" I guess.
Because they they would have to add a line of text that states a weapon destroyed result kills all 3. And GW is cheep so they chose to cop-out with counts as to save printing cost.
Surely the cost is completely negligible?
If I were to write the rules for Hurricane Bolters (and do it properly), I'd give it two modes, ala Missile Launcher, which would also open up the option of having something with a non twin linked Hurricane Bolter:
Hurricane Bolter (Close):
R12", S4, AP5, Heavy 6
Hurricane Bolter (Ranged):
R24, S4, AP5, Heavy 3
So.. If the rules were just like ML, so 2 modes you'd have to use choose one mode before firing. You choose "Close", and the target is 13" away -> you miss. No Heavy 3 hits.. I understand that with 3 bolters you shoot and THEN if the target is <12" it's shooting 3, if 12" to 24" it's 6.. Or am I wrong here?
|
Good things are good,.. so it's good
Keep our city clean.
Report your death to the Department of Expiration |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 20:15:19
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Macok wrote:Gwar! wrote:Clthomps wrote:nivondu wrote:Then why not just say 'hey the LRC has three TLB on each side' I understand what you're saying too. I just wish we had a clearer definition for "counts as" I guess.
Because they they would have to add a line of text that states a weapon destroyed result kills all 3. And GW is cheep so they chose to cop-out with counts as to save printing cost.
Surely the cost is completely negligible?
If I were to write the rules for Hurricane Bolters (and do it properly), I'd give it two modes, ala Missile Launcher, which would also open up the option of having something with a non twin linked Hurricane Bolter:
Hurricane Bolter (Close):
R12", S4, AP5, Heavy 6
Hurricane Bolter (Ranged):
R24, S4, AP5, Heavy 3
So.. If the rules were just like ML, so 2 modes you'd have to use choose one mode before firing. You choose "Close", and the target is 13" away -> you miss. No Heavy 3 hits.. I understand that with 3 bolters you shoot and THEN if the target is <12" it's shooting 3, if 12" to 24" it's 6.. Or am I wrong here?
No, you are right. Heh, I guess there IS method in GW's madness.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 21:58:33
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Stubborn Temple Guard
|
The reason I always knew Psycannon bolts didn't work with the Hurricane Bolters is that Psycannon rounds re for SECONDARY ARMAMENTS and the Hurricanes are the primary weapons.
|
27th Member of D.O.O.M.F.A.R.T.
Resident Battletech Guru. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 22:53:07
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
Gwar! wrote:Except they aren't. They COUNT AS bolters else, because they aren't actually bolters. So what do you perscribe to things that 'count as'? If they dont take on all the attributes of the things they are mimicing then surely they would take on none of them. Your logic suggests that because they arent actually bolters they have no weapon profile and so are useless. 'Count as' in terms of weapons and abilities is not defined anywhere in the rules so it comes down to reasonable logic. This being the case then surely things that 'count as' something else take on all the attributes of what theya re mimicing because that makes most sense. Anything else is simply a houserule.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/23 22:53:37
taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 22:58:00
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
It states it can be bought for Bolters, not Hurricane bolters.
End of.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 23:08:47
Subject: Re:Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
But hurricane bolters count as bolters. Otherwise the weapons do nothing as they have no profile of their own. So hurricane bolters for all intents and purposes are bolters, and I can buy psycannon bolts for bolters.
If you say they cant without giving good reason then presumably you play that DH crusaders have two sponson weapons that are unable to shoot.
|
taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 23:09:46
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Does the vehicle armoury let you buy them for Bolters, or Storm Bolters?
Storm Bolters /= Bolters OR Hurricane Bolters.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 23:15:47
Subject: Re:Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh
|
I just checked my copy of Daemon Hunters and the Land Raider listed there can not take any optional equipment but it has twin linked lascannons in each sponson and a twin linked heavy bolter on its hull. So I fail to see the relevance of that particular point.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/23 23:24:55
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
LR Crusaders are what were taling about.
Asking if the Psycannon bolts can be, on vehicles, bought for SB or Bolters. If they have seperated them out into vehicle and nonvehcile then stating you can use them with Bolters would be pointless, as vehicles dont carry bolters...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/24 01:09:07
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Alriiiiiight, now I see where I've gone wrong. I was looking at the regular Psycannon Bolts upgrade, not the one for vehicles which specifies Storm Bolters and Heavy Bolters. Sigh. This is why you never get in a rules debate at 3am... So, in retrospect: no, the Psycannon Bolts do nothing for your Hurricane Bolters.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/04/24 01:11:29
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/24 04:34:41
Subject: Psycannon Bolts and Hurricane Bolters
|
 |
The Hammer of Witches
A new day, a new time zone.
|
Yes. It's always amazing whenever this topic comes up, because honestly, all it takes is a little reading comprehension to get your answer.
|
"-Nonsense, the Inquisitor and his retinue are our hounoured guests, of course we should invite them to celebrate Four-armed Emperor-day with us..." Thought for the Day - Never use the powerfist hand to wipe. |
|
 |
 |
|