Switch Theme:

Dedicated Transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




England, UK

I'd like some opinions regarding Dedicated Transports in Annihlation missions. I brought it up to my club manager who said that they count as their own kill point, which I disagree with. I play Orks on occasion, and when you bring alot of Trukks, I walk on thin ice in kill point missions, seeing as how they are so poorly armoured.

The 40k rulebook doesn't state anything regarding Dedicated Transports as being worth a kill point, and if the rules don't state that it is, in my eyes it isn't. I would say that for example a Trukk and it's squad of Boyz would be one kill point, as that transport is dedicated to that unit, therefore being a part of that unit. Unit = Kill point.

Have I missed something? Or am I in the right?
   
Made in ca
Black Templar Recruit Undergoing Surgeries



BC, Canada

The rule book specifies that the player is awarded a single kill point for every "unit" destroyed. As you are allowed to move your dedicated transport across the board individually from the unit that it was originally purchased for (making it its own unit) I would extrapolate that they most definitely count towards the KP total.

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







samrtk wrote:I'd like some opinions regarding Dedicated Transports in Annihlation missions. I brought it up to my club manager who said that they count as their own kill point, which I disagree with. I play Orks on occasion, and when you bring alot of Trukks, I walk on thin ice in kill point missions, seeing as how they are so poorly armoured.

The 40k rulebook doesn't state anything regarding Dedicated Transports as being worth a kill point, and if the rules don't state that it is, in my eyes it isn't. I would say that for example a Trukk and it's squad of Boyz would be one kill point, as that transport is dedicated to that unit, therefore being a part of that unit. Unit = Kill point.

Have I missed something? Or am I in the right?
You can disagree all you want, you are still wrong.

DTs are KP, end of Discussion.

They are not part of the unit because they do not have to keep coherency.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/27 01:19:41


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





They count as a kill point to counter balance the fact they can be used to contest objective claiming in the other two missions.

Jack


The rules:
1) Style over Substance.
2) Attitude is Everything.
3) Always take it to the Edge.
4) Break the Rules. 
   
Made in us
Focused Fire Warrior





5 miles north of Funkytown

If you really have qualms with this you could play modified KPs where all units are worth 2 KP and Dedicated Transports are worth 1 KP

The best thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realise it doesn't say anything it's far too late to stop reading it.
-Courtesy of TheBlueRedPanda


 
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




England, UK

I don't have too much of a problem with it, it's just that the rules aren't clear, and I wanted to hear other peoples views on it, seeing as though there is no clear answer.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







samrtk wrote:I don't have too much of a problem with it, it's just that the rules aren't clear, and I wanted to hear other peoples views on it, seeing as though there is no clear answer.
There is a Clear Answer though.

Not liking a rule doesn't make it unclear.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




England, UK

Point me to where it is clear. I've been looking through the rules and it is nowhere clear on how they stand as kp or not; hence this thread.
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Is it a unit?

check.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

If it is not a unit, then there are no rules governing how to use it. In that case, it looks a lot like terrain to me, you must have reserved all your Orks!

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




England, UK

The Ork codex says Trukks function as seperate units, but does not specify if they are a unit themselves; likewise there is nothing in the main rulebook that says that DTs do count as killpoints. You cannot field a Trukk without a squad in it. This is the whole purpose of this thread, to come to a conclusion, rather than people just throwing their opinions with no evidence to back them up.

This is the video that 'opened my interest' about this topic: Clicky
Watch at 3:57

It's not a case of me having problems with it, I just want clarification, because right now to me it seems like they aren't KPs, based on what I've seen. Go ahead flame me
   
Made in gb
Horrific Howling Banshee






samrtk wrote:The Ork codex says Trukks function as seperate units, but does not specify if they are a unit themselves;


Think you have answered your own question

I think everyone will agree they do, as other poster said as they can contest objectives, can be heavily armed etc. Just wouldn't make any sense for them not to be KPs, bit crap for orks but not the end of the world

13th of 300 Blood Bowl GT '08
7000
3500
1500
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

There's a definition/explanation of what a unit is at the front of the book, and transport vehicles (regardless of whether dedicated or not) clearly fall into it.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




England, UK

Fair enough. Cheers for the assist.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

Er .... "You cannot field a Trukk without a squad in it."


Thats not true ... you dont have to start the unit inside its dedicated transport, its just no OTHER unit can start inside it., though they can embark normally once the game starts.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/27 16:13:39


- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker





East Bay, CA

It could be worse, you could be bringing devilfish which unless you change their weapon layout for a bunch of points count as 2 KP (once they are destroyed the drones break off and form another unit that has another KP

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/27 17:03:47


In the fight between you and the world, back the world.
-Frank Zappa
2k+
1850 8/4/3


 
   
Made in gb
Cackling Chaos Conscript



England

Fizzywig wrote:It could be worse, you could be bringing devilfish which unless you change their weapon layout for a bunch of points count as 2 KP (once they are destroyed the drones break off and form another unit that has another KP

waaah?! i have been cheated- we played that as 1 KP last game i played v tau... damn..
saying that though, we were playing infinite turns (we were bored..) so killpoints are irrelevant- tabled is an instant win

sons of the tempest 10/1/1 WDL. 1000 points

Raynor's Raiders
WIP starcraft themed army, currently in buying stages

Unnamed Daemons

Glubzog Nutcracka's green tide


 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






That sounds as silly as biovores firing free kill points at the enemy in the old codex.

@ samrtk: It does suck that your fragile trucks are worth KP but its a symptom of having to blanket so many different armies and styles with a single set of rules. If transports aren't kill points you could have swarms of lazorbacks and land raiders mincing about with impunity.
   
Made in us
Waaagh! Warbiker





East Bay, CA

Ashtaroth wrote:
Fizzywig wrote:It could be worse, you could be bringing devilfish which unless you change their weapon layout for a bunch of points count as 2 KP (once they are destroyed the drones break off and form another unit that has another KP

waaah?! i have been cheated- we played that as 1 KP last game i played v tau... damn..
saying that though, we were playing infinite turns (we were bored..) so killpoints are irrelevant- tabled is an instant win


Often tau players will forget to put down the drones (lord knows I did) or think that putting them down is optional(again, I figured it had to be optional right?!?) but no, the tau player MUST put down the two drones, and then you have to kill them separately (although if you cant kill the drones you probably have bigger problems) you don't get the KP until the drones get killed.

if the Devilfish has SMS'es then its only 1KP.


its pretty lame but them's the breaks.

In the fight between you and the world, back the world.
-Frank Zappa
2k+
1850 8/4/3


 
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith




England, UK

Soup and a roll wrote:@ samrtk: It does suck that your fragile trucks are worth KP but its a symptom of having to blanket so many different armies and styles with a single set of rules. If transports aren't kill points you could have swarms of lazorbacks and land raiders mincing about with impunity.


I just meant Dedicated Transports, like Rhinos and Trukks, not Heavy Support stuff, that would be insane

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/28 07:42:30


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





But Land Raiders can also be dedicated transports, depending on the army and what unit is taking them.

Jack


The rules:
1) Style over Substance.
2) Attitude is Everything.
3) Always take it to the Edge.
4) Break the Rules. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




samrtk wrote:
Soup and a roll wrote:@ samrtk: It does suck that your fragile trucks are worth KP but its a symptom of having to blanket so many different armies and styles with a single set of rules. If transports aren't kill points you could have swarms of lazorbacks and land raiders mincing about with impunity.


I just meant Dedicated Transports, like Rhinos and Trukks, not Heavy Support stuff, that would be insane



My 3 dedicated transport chaos land raiders, or 3 dedicated tranport battlewagons (2 as troops!) would love to disagree with you...
   
Made in se
Malicious Mutant Scum



Dakka, the home of YMDC-idiocy and buttards

P.92 Rulebook
Under "Multiple Unit Choices":
"...Apart from being bought as a single choice, these units operate and count as seperate units IN ALL RESPECTS."
Therefore dedicated transports are worth 1 KP

Another example of this is a character with a retinue, being worth 2 KP. 1 for the character, and 1 for the retinue.
NOT 1 for the entire group.
As shown on P.91 "Annihilation" --> "Victory Conditions"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: