| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/28 15:31:09
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
I was wondering if you can only take rhinos and drop pods if accompanied by a troops with that option. So my main question is can you just take a Drop pod with out the troops and or Bjorn with a drop pod even though it dosn't say he can take one?
|
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/28 15:42:32
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Grey elder wrote: I was wondering if you can only take rhinos and drop pods if accompanied by a troops with that option. So my main question is can you just take a Drop pod with out the troops and or Bjorn with a drop pod even though it dosn't say he can take one?
The problem is, what would you count them as on your army list? they are designed for troop transport, and don't get me wrong i wouldn't mind being able to field a Razor Back or two for no reason other than mobile fire support. But there isn't a spot for them, do they go under Heavy? Troops?
and i am not sure about Bjorn and a Drop pod, i wouldn't see why not, if a dread can take one, but i don't own a SW Codex so please don't quote me on that.
|
"Not all who wander are lost." -J.R.R. Tolkien
ARMIES:
5000+
2000+
1000+
1000+
2500+
1000+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/28 15:48:11
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
hcordes wrote:Grey elder wrote: I was wondering if you can only take rhinos and drop pods if accompanied by a troops with that option. So my main question is can you just take a Drop pod with out the troops and or Bjorn with a drop pod even though it dosn't say he can take one?
The problem is, what would you count them as on your army list?
The RAW say they do not take up any force orgizantion slots.
Also this question kind of originated from the Dark Angels codex faq but Iam still wondering about my original question  .
Q. Can you use a Drop Pod on its own, with no
squad inside?
A. Yes you can.
Dark Angels codex FAQ
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/28 15:52:49
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/28 15:55:50
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Grey elder wrote: I was wondering if you can only take rhinos and drop pods if accompanied by a troops with that option. So my main question is can you just take a Drop pod with out the troops and or Bjorn with a drop pod even though it dosn't say he can take one?
No, you can't. The only place that gives you permission to take them is accompanying a unit.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/28 15:57:52
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The FAQ is right but it's not about buying the transport, it's about using it. Nothing requires that a squad rides the transport they bought. You still need permission to buy those vehicles - which a squad with the option of a dedicated transport handily provides.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/28 15:58:04
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
The Dark Angels FAQ says you can "use" one empty, but this is ambiguous as to whether that just means drop it empty, as opposed to purchasing it empty. Everywhere I've seen takes the more conservative read, allowing a squad to purchase a pod and deploy normally, dropping the pod empty, but not allowing a player to buy a completely empty separate pod for their army.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/28 16:01:36
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Adolescent Youth on Ultramar
MI
|
Mannahnin wrote:The Dark Angels FAQ says you can "use" one empty, but this is ambiguous as to whether that just means drop it empty, as opposed to purchasing it empty. Everywhere I've seen takes the more conservative read, allowing a squad to purchase a pod and deploy normally, dropping the pod empty, but not allowing a player to buy a completely empty separate pod for their army.
This is how I've always seen it done and played it. It gives up a kill point either way but you can use it to block normal travel or to create a minor choke point of sorts or get a extra gun on the table WHERE you want it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/28 19:28:03
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
Grey elder wrote:hcordes wrote:
The problem is, what would you count them as on your army list?
The RAW say they do not take up any force orgizantion slots.
Riiiiight..... but you have to have the squad, in order to get six razor backs i need six tactical squads...... i can use the razor backs how ever i want.... but i need the squads.
I mean with what you are saying, i can purchace 12 razorbacks with various weapons, and loose nothing on the Force Chart as far as slots go..... and i've barley gotten close to 500pts?!?!?! (depending on weapons) thats a lot of fire power for next to nothing. Not really fair....
|
"Not all who wander are lost." -J.R.R. Tolkien
ARMIES:
5000+
2000+
1000+
1000+
2500+
1000+ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/29 03:04:17
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Mannahnin wrote:The Dark Angels FAQ says you can "use" one empty, but this is ambiguous as to whether that just means drop it empty, as opposed to purchasing it empty. Everywhere I've seen takes the more conservative read, allowing a squad to purchase a pod and deploy normally, dropping the pod empty, but not allowing a player to buy a completely empty separate pod for their army.
So seeing as this is not a set definition it open to discussion and there fore has the potential to be taken with out a squad if playing dark angels?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/04/29 03:05:47
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/29 03:30:24
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Grey elder wrote:Mannahnin wrote:The Dark Angels FAQ says you can "use" one empty, but this is ambiguous as to whether that just means drop it empty, as opposed to purchasing it empty. Everywhere I've seen takes the more conservative read, allowing a squad to purchase a pod and deploy normally, dropping the pod empty, but not allowing a player to buy a completely empty separate pod for their army.
So seeing as this is not a set definition it open to discussion and there fore has the potential to be taken with out a squad if playing dark angels?
Gonna have to say no there. There is no place that allows you to purchase them as a unit anywhere in the book. The only place you can get them is with a unit, as an "upgrade" for the unit.
|
Tournament Organizer for the Midland/Odessa Gaming Society |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/29 03:34:58
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Aramus wrote:Grey elder wrote:Mannahnin wrote:The Dark Angels FAQ says you can "use" one empty, but this is ambiguous as to whether that just means drop it empty, as opposed to purchasing it empty. Everywhere I've seen takes the more conservative read, allowing a squad to purchase a pod and deploy normally, dropping the pod empty, but not allowing a player to buy a completely empty separate pod for their army.
So seeing as this is not a set definition it open to discussion and there fore has the potential to be taken with out a squad if playing dark angels?
Gonna have to say no there. There is no place that allows you to purchase them as a unit anywhere in the book. The only place you can get them is with a unit, as an "upgrade" for the unit.
But if it says they do not count the force organisation chart do you have to adhere to the chart when buying them seperately?
|
My purpose in life is to ruin yours. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/29 04:05:15
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
Grey elder wrote:
But if it says they do not count the force organisation chart do you have to adhere to the chart when buying them seperately?
p67 BRB
DEDICATED TRANSPORTS
Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex will include a
transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected
together with the unit. These ‘dedicated
transports’ do not use up a slot on the force
organisation chart. Other vehicles may also have a
transport capacity, but they are chosen separately
as normal and occupy a force organisation chart
slot of their own.
Pretty clear that you cannot.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/29 06:44:34
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Gorkamorka wrote:Grey elder wrote:
But if it says they do not count the force organisation chart do you have to adhere to the chart when buying them seperately?
p67 BRB
DEDICATED TRANSPORTS
Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex will include a
transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected
together with the unit. These ‘dedicated
transports’ do not use up a slot on the force
organisation chart. Other vehicles may also have a
transport capacity, but they are chosen separately
as normal and occupy a force organisation chart
slot of their own.
Pretty clear that you cannot.
Thanks, didn't have the BRB handy when I posted
|
Tournament Organizer for the Midland/Odessa Gaming Society |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/29 11:04:32
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Anti-Armour Swiss Guard
|
Grey elder wrote:
So seeing as this is not a set definition it open to discussion and there fore has the potential to be taken with out a squad if playing dark angels?
Yeah, right. Like ANYONE still plays those green marines anymore using that codex. [sarcasm].
Grey elder (hah! I probably have more grey hair than you.) Easter was 4 weeks ago. Stop hunting for eggs, they've long since melted away.
Dedicated transports HAVE to be purchased for a unit. Period.
Regardless of whether or not they occupy a FOC slot. You still need a unit to be able to get them.
|
I'm OVER 50 (and so far over everyone's BS, too).
Old enough to know better, young enough to not give a ****.
That is not dead which can eternal lie ...
... and yet, with strange aeons, even death may die.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/04/29 15:14:07
Subject: Can you take non-dedicated transport?
|
 |
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control
|
I am pretty sure this thread went 20 posts too long. lol
but the idea of just purchasing transports, to make a wall of razorbacks is pretty cool, just like buying my whole squad power weapons, you know I just buy them for the Sarg, and he passes them out to the unit, right? the book doesn't say i can't do that /sarcasm
|
"Not all who wander are lost." -J.R.R. Tolkien
ARMIES:
5000+
2000+
1000+
1000+
2500+
1000+ |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|