Switch Theme:

Noob Question - Ork battle wagons and turrets.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Squishy Oil Squig




Lets say you model your own battle wagon, and you put all the weapons it carries in one massive turret - if everything is a modelled turret that can turn, then can it use like turret on games workshop vehicle? is this legal?

I believe this has been discussed before, but i couldn't find a link. ( and is there an official 40k forum? - i couldn't fine one )
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







steam_bucky wrote:Lets say you model your own battle wagon, and you put all the weapons it carries in one massive turret - if everything is a modelled turret that can turn, then can it use like turret on games workshop vehicle? is this legal?

I believe this has been discussed before, but i couldn't find a link. ( and is there an official 40k forum? - i couldn't fine one )
No. You use however the vehicle is actually modeled unless a codex tells you otherwise.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in ca
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine





Did you guys know Canada has a friggin desert?

gwar is right. one way you can get by this is by converting the turrets into being each on top of each other. sort of like GW`s battlewagon with the kannon/zaap gun which on top of it, there was a big shoota.

You're not playing the game like I play it...why aren't you playing the game like I play it?! O_O 
   
Made in au
Squishy Oil Squig




So I can convert the turret placement but not make a new turret to house everything.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I have more questions, and thanks for your help thus far.

There are many weapon configurations for the battle wagon - how do you know which guns go where? Which are turret mounted, which are hull mounted. I own the codex and there is nothing saying where anythings is.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/02 00:11:29


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




As was said above: the ONLY determiner, if the codex is silent, is HOW they are modelled.
   
Made in us
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets





Alexandria

Also it shouldn't be too big of a prob, best to run a wagon with just 1 or 2 big shootas, and those are only there as immobilization protection on weapon destroyed results.

- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts 
   
Made in au
Squishy Oil Squig




nosferatu1001 wrote:As was said above: the ONLY determiner, if the codex is silent, is HOW they are modelled.


This Noob is confused. The codex is silent on this on the placement of weapons. The only guide I have to go by is the battle wagon model witch has 2 turrets and does not suit all gun configurations possible for a battle wagon. ( for example you could take a KillKannon, a kannon and 4 rokkit launchas - thats 6 weapons )

If the rule of thumbs is it how the unit is modelled when the codex is silent, then which below is correct.

------------
The unit has 2 turrets, with a single guns in each. All other weapons are hull mounted? ( which i have to model on? )

OR

I can model the turrets to contain all weapons in the battle wagon. ( id have to make a new turret really )
------------

Sorry to be a pain.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/02 08:22:21


 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

No what nosferatu said was – since the rules don't say how the weapons are mounted, the way you model them determines theyr fire arc, so if you do model them all on turrets they can all rotate, if you model them to be mounted on the hull somewhere they can only shoot things on that side of the vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/02 08:58:32



Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in au
Squishy Oil Squig




HoverBoy wrote:No what nosferatu said was – since the rules don't say how the weapons are mounted, the way you model them determines theyr fire arc, so if you do model them all on turrets they can all rotate, if you model them to be mounted on the hull somewhere they can only shoot things on that side of the vehicle.


Thank you for the clarification guys - much appreciated.
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






MT

Gwar! wrote:
steam_bucky wrote:Lets say you model your own battle wagon, and you put all the weapons it carries in one massive turret - if everything is a modelled turret that can turn, then can it use like turret on games workshop vehicle? is this legal?

I believe this has been discussed before, but i couldn't find a link. ( and is there an official 40k forum? - i couldn't fine one )
No. You use however the vehicle is actually modeled unless a codex tells you otherwise.


Where in the rule book does it state this? Not trying to create an argument I just want to know.

orks 10000+ points
"SHHH. My common sense is tingling."--Deadpoool
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote: ...it doesn't matter how many times I make a false statement, it will still be false.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Geemoney wrote:
Gwar! wrote:
steam_bucky wrote:Lets say you model your own battle wagon, and you put all the weapons it carries in one massive turret - if everything is a modelled turret that can turn, then can it use like turret on games workshop vehicle? is this legal?

I believe this has been discussed before, but i couldn't find a link. ( and is there an official 40k forum? - i couldn't fine one )
No. You use however the vehicle is actually modeled unless a codex tells you otherwise.


Where in the rule book does it state this? Not trying to create an argument I just want to know.
It says it in the Rulebook FAQ. The rulebook itself actually only permits the use of citadel models, thus making conversions or scratch built models a moot point.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/03 18:52:34


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






MT

The rulebook clearly covers a scratch built model. But what about a conversion built out of citadel models? Does a bit of greenstuff and a different arm make something not a citadel miniature?
btw I did not see that entry in the FAQ.

orks 10000+ points
"SHHH. My common sense is tingling."--Deadpoool
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote: ...it doesn't matter how many times I make a false statement, it will still be false.

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Geemoney wrote:The rulebook clearly covers a scratch built model. But what about a conversion built out of citadel models? Does a bit of greenstuff and a different arm make something not a citadel miniature?


The rulebook doesn't address scratch-builds or conversions at all. It simply refers to 'models' as being 'the Citadel miniatures used to play games of Warhammer 40000'

From this, it can be construed that we're only supposed to use the standard models supplied by GW for the purpose... but I would only recommend making that argument against the guy pulling out a model obviously converted to take abuse the rules, as it's a shaky one.


Geemoney wrote:btw I did not see that entry in the FAQ.


The guy who wrote the Rulebook FAQ wrote:Q. On page 59, the rules for the arc of fire of
pintle-mounted (or bolt-on) weapons address
those mounted on turrets and those mounted
directly on the hull. But what about those
mounted on smaller structures (like a Rhino’s
cupola) that look like they can rotate 360º, even
though they aren’t proper turrets?

A. Remember that the rule is: if it looks like you
can point the gun at it, then you can, even if it’s
glued in place’. The rest is just a set of guidelines
about the arcs of fire of weapons glued in place,
and does not cover all possible weapons
mounting and vehicles. If the structure the gun is
pintle-mounted on is obviously capable of
rotating 360º, like in the case of a Rhino’s cupola,
then it should be treated as having a 360º arc of
fire. However, if you mount the same storm
bolter on a Razorback, even though it still can
rotate 360º, it won’t obviously be able to fire
through the Razorback’s main turret, and so it
will have a ‘blind spot’. In the same way, the
shuriken catapult mounted under the hull of a
Wave Serpent, Falcon, etc. looks like it can rotate
360º, but it does not look like it can be fired
through the main hull right behind it, so we
normally play that it can be fired roughly in the
180º to the vehicle’s front, which seems like an
acceptable compromise.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/03 21:40:19


 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Fixture of Dakka






Chicago

The ork codex has some answers here too.


Q: How are the boomgun and other weapons mounted on a Looted Wagon?

A: Players are free to mount the weapons on their converted or scratch-built models however they see fit (i.e. in a turret, sponson, hull or otherwise), as long as this is absolutely clear by looking at the model.


The answer to this question is not limited to the Looted Wagon, and encompasses all converted and scratch-built models.

So, if you want one big turret, make one big turret.

   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

And call it the dakka nest


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver






MT

@insaniak: What I meant was scratch built models aren't covered under what can be considered a model for the game according to the rulebook.
And redbeard's reference clearly talks about what you can and cannot do with conversions, your quote only really talks about LOS issues, not where you can or cannot put a gun.
So according to redbeards quote I can do whatever I want to with a conversion....

orks 10000+ points
"SHHH. My common sense is tingling."--Deadpoool
Daemon-Archon Ren wrote: ...it doesn't matter how many times I make a false statement, it will still be false.

 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Fixture of Dakka






Chicago

That is true, you can do whatever you want with your conversions. However, if you take this to extremes, you will find that no one wants to play with you.

Mounting battlewagon weapons on turrets doesn't count as that extreme, though. All the weapon options that come with a battlewagon are mounted in various turrets and have 360 degrees of fire. If you want to consolidate them onto one turret, no one will mind. Knock yourself out, make it look good and orky!

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: