Switch Theme:

Multiple Combat and Consolidation  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Death-Dealing Dark Angels Devastator






This question arose yesterday at a tournament and both rule lawyers present and the TO ( hey, that's me! ) fell short of an answer on the spot. I feel this is a rather noob question, but cannot pin point the exact rules applying.

Let'S use orks and SM in the example, as nits X and Ys always confuse me:

A unit of Ork Boyz assaluts on a Rhino and a 5-man Tactical squad nexts to it. After attacks are made, The Space marines are all dead, but the Rhino is undamaged. Do the orks get a D6 Move, or do they stay next to the tank to hit in the SM player's assault phase.

Hypotetical questions from the same example:

Are the Orks forced to mode D6, or they can simply chose to saty next to the tank.
If both units were destroyed, do the Orks get a consolitation move ( or sweeping advance move.. D6 move... ) since they were in combat with a tank?

Thanks a lot.

"This is a gentleman's game."

Hellfire: No excuses, hobby like a champion
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







SkizO wrote:This question arose yesterday at a tournament and both rule lawyers present and the TO ( hey, that's me! ) fell short of an answer on the spot. I feel this is a rather noob question, but cannot pin point the exact rules applying.

Let'S use orks and SM in the example, as nits X and Ys always confuse me:

A unit of Ork Boyz assaluts on a Rhino and a 5-man Tactical squad nexts to it. After attacks are made, The Space marines are all dead, but the Rhino is undamaged. Do the orks get a D6 Move, or do they stay next to the tank to hit in the SM player's assault phase.

Hypotetical questions from the same example:

Are the Orks forced to mode D6, or they can simply chose to saty next to the tank.
If both units were destroyed, do the Orks get a consolitation move ( or sweeping advance move.. D6 move... ) since they were in combat with a tank?

Thanks a lot.
Page 41 states "After assault resolution, all units that were involved in that multiple combat must make pile-in moves towards enemies that fought in that combat." Since the Rhino did not fight in the combat, you cannot do this. Therefore, you will consolidate as normal.

Consolidate states "This means that they may move up to D6" in any direction" and "Consolidating models must therefore stop 1 " away from all enemy models". The Vehicle and Assaults rules state: "In a multiple fight including enemy vehicles and other unit types, the result of the fight is worked out as normal against the latter, ignoring the vehicles."

Therefore, (I think, not feeling well and not thinking right ), the Orks MAY consolidate, but if they do, they must move more than 1" from the rhino and will not be able to attack it next turn. If they Don't, they remain in BTB and will attack it next turn (at S3 remember, so don't do this unless your PK is in BTB with the Rhino).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker






At first I thought to disagree, thinking your argument would allow consolidation after assaulting lone vehicles. However, after reading the rules and because vehicles can't be locked in combat, I agree.

Incidentally, I'm not feeling too clever after staying up all night playing dragon age. What's up with you?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/02 19:33:00


 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Soup and a roll wrote:At first I thought to disagree, thinking your argument would allow consolidation after assaulting lone vehicles. However, after reading the rules and because vehicles can't be locked in combat, I agree.

Incidentally, I'm not feeling too clever after staying up all night playing dragon age. What's up with you?
Staying up all night playing Vassal

But yeah, you cannot consolidate after combat with Non Walker Vehicles only.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/02 19:39:04


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Gwar,

I would believe that each model has those restrictions. The models not in BTB could not consolodate into the vehicle but may move d6 within coherency. the models in BtB are free to NOT move, but if they do so they must end up 1" away from the vehicle.
   
Made in us
Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman





I agree with the consensus, with one potential objection:

Gwar! wrote:
Consolidate states "This means that they may move up to D6" in any direction" and "Consolidating models must therefore stop 1 " away from all enemy models". The Vehicle and Assaults rules state: "In a multiple fight including enemy vehicles and other unit types, the result of the fight is worked out as normal against the latter, ignoring the vehicles."

Therefore, (I think, not feeling well and not thinking right ), the Orks MAY consolidate, but if they do, they must move more than 1" from the rhino and will not be able to attack it next turn. If they Don't, they remain in BTB and will attack it next turn (at S3 remember, so don't do this unless your PK is in BTB with the Rhino).


Emphasis: "must therefore stop 1 " away from all enemy models" vs. "must move more than 1" from the rhino" If you ask me, any units in BtB with the Rhino would be able to stop less than 1" away, so long as they don't move closer to it. (e.g. they can move parallel to its flank) just a minor point, and it probably won't come up much, but I was wondering your opinion...
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Gwar, a minor mistake:

The PK Nob doesn't have to be in b2b just within 2" of a model that is(third paragraph of "successive turns" BRB pg 63)

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: