Switch Theme:

Dedicated Transport Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





So, I was under the belief that dedicated transports could only be taken if another unit in your army has the option of choosing that dedicated transport. I questioned an opponent about this and he said that they could be bought because they had a cost in the book. I know I have also seen it in the book (and also on here somewhere). I have looked in mine and my opponents codex and at the dedicated transport entry but I cannot find where it explicitly states such (IE Dedicated transports can only be selected by another unit in the codex).

   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







s2ua7 wrote:So, I was under the belief that dedicated transports could only be taken if another unit in your army has the option of choosing that dedicated transport. I questioned an opponent about this and he said that they could be bought because they had a cost in the book. I know I have also seen it in the book (and also on here somewhere). I have looked in mine and my opponents codex and at the dedicated transport entry but I cannot find where it explicitly states such (IE Dedicated transports can only be selected by another unit in the codex).
You are right, he is incorrect.

You cannot buy them as is because there are no Dedicated Transport FoC slots.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

Your opponent is incorrect. You can only buy the DT for the specific unit that is allowed to purchase/unlock it. It does not need to tell you you cannot select it, there is nothing allowing you to choose it.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




If your opponent still insists that he is right then buy a nice piece of equipment from the war gear section and give it to whomever you want. You can buy it because the price is in the book and anyone can just "pick up something that is laying around".
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Shame GW is phasing armories out, but you can play Grey Knights and give them all artificer armor for super cheezy space marines.


Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I guess I am asking for passages within the BRB just so I can discuss (it is truly a discussion and not an argument) it with my friends. I was looking at the FoC entry and it states that they "are attached to the units they are bought for." so I guess I will use that as my main point. Any other entries that are definitive that I may have missed?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

What FOC position would Dedicated Transports take up?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





They dont take one up. One of the arguments against them being taken for anything other than an upgrade to a unit that lists them is that a person could take 500 dedicated transports if they were able to be purchased without the unit requirement. The person I was discussing this stated that was exactly how it worked. Again, I am not trying to slam the person I was having the discussion with, I just want to have all the facts before discussing it again.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon






s2ua7 wrote:They dont take one up. One of the arguments against them being taken for anything other than an upgrade to a unit that lists them is that a person could take 500 dedicated transports if they were able to be purchased without the unit requirement. The person I was discussing this stated that was exactly how it worked. Again, I am not trying to slam the person I was having the discussion with, I just want to have all the facts before discussing it again.

The rules for dedicated transports make it fairly abundantly clear that they are purchased alongside units.
P67
Sometimes a unit entry in a Codex will include a
transport option, allowing a vehicle to be selected
together with the unit. These ‘dedicated
transports’ do not use up a slot on the force
organisation chart. Other vehicles may also have a
transport capacity, but they are chosen separately
as normal and occupy a force organisation chart
slot of their own.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/03 05:24:47


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Thats what I thought too, but he argued that just because the unit had the option of purchasing a vehicle, that it didnt mean that it was the only way of purchasing a dedicated transport with regard to that specific entry. Now I know that he is not trying to be TFG as I have played with him before and he was not my opponent this time so he had no vested interest in this.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I don't see why he would want to purchase them seperatly. Razorback spam prehaps?

The rules for DTs are quite clear like Gorkamorka said.


the only units that i am aware of that can be purchased seperatly from the FoC legally are Summoned Deamons for C:CSM.

only models with a potentially unlimited supply.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Buffalo NY, USA

@ Grey Templar:
Tyranid Spores?
Tau Gun Drones?

I only bring these up in case your associate trys to use these as a precident. Be ready to argue that in order to field these units they still need to buy the unit that "spawns" them.

Why do I have a feeling that your associate is an IG player and trying to spam Chimeras?

ComputerGeek01 is more then just a name 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Gundrones are either FA or get bought as an upgrade for suits. I think spores take FA slots too.


yeah, an IG player is probably trying to spam chimeras.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Buffalo NY, USA

I was refering to that Tau tank that craps out drones. I can't remember what it is called and it might be discontinued for all I know.

ComputerGeek01 is more then just a name 
   
Made in ca
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot





You might want to remind your friend that the ruleset is permissive. There would have to be a sentence specifically allowing you to take a DT without a unit attached.

nosferatu1001 wrote:That guy got *really* instantly killed.
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





Syracuse, NY

It is really hard to find specific entries in the BRB that exactly address a friend/opponent/person who just makes up rules.

Daemons Blog - The Mandulian Chapel 
   
Made in us
Sneaky Sniper Drone





Grey Templar wrote:Shame GW is phasing armories out, but you can play Grey Knights and give the justicar artificer armor for super cheezy space marines.



Fixed.

GW Products Always 20% off!
1,750 
   
Made in us
Boosting Space Marine Biker






Sacramento, CA

If you want to use logic on your friend, ask why there are dedicated transports at all if you can just select them independently. Choosing a transport as dedicated would only be a drawback (since the price never changes and you can only deploy the chosen unit in it) so you would be better off always choosing them separately, if that were possible. Because of this, dedicated transports cannot be chosen independently else the dedicated transport rules would be obsolete.

This isn't RAW, I know, but makes sense when consider the purpose of the rules.

Edit: Grammar

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 16:39:01


Blood Wardens - 1500 Points (41% Painted)
 
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

The only dedicated transport i can think of that takes up a FOC slot is a Land Raider.

if i am reading the C:CSM right it can either take up a HS slot or it can be a DT for a Terminator squad.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




And even that is not true for all codexes - BA can ONLY take dedicated LR.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Praxiss wrote:The only dedicated transport i can think of that takes up a FOC slot is a Land Raider.

if i am reading the C:CSM right it can either take up a HS slot or it can be a DT for a Terminator squad.


if taken as a DT it doesn't take a FOC.

SMs can take up to 5 LRs in a non appoc list.

2 Terminator transports, 3 HS slots.


BAs can only get LRs as DTs so they are special.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer






And BT can put everyone and their mother in a Crusader. Meaning we can get 12 possible land raiders. 3 elites, 6 troops, and 3 HS.

Ask Not, Fear Not - (Gallery), ,

 H.B.M.C. wrote:

Yeah! Who needs balanced rules when everyone can take giant stompy robots! Balanced rules are just for TFG WAAC players, and everyone hates them.

- This message brought to you by the Dakka Casual Gaming Mafia: 'Cause winning is for losers!
 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight



Buffalo NY, USA

@ Xca|iber: That's right buddy! Because when it comes to saying F-U to Rowboat and wiping their butts with the codex Astartas NO ONE does it better then the Black Templars!

ComputerGeek01 is more then just a name 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: