| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 17:34:10
Subject: Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...
|
I am looking in the BGB, where does it show that each vehicle in a squadron and dedicated transports count as one kill point each. (Stupid 8 months without a game!)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 17:50:33
Subject: Re:Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Morphing Obliterator
|
p91, Annihilation, 2nd paragraph.
"At the end of the game each player receives 1 "kill point" for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed.
A dedicated transport is a single unit and so gives 1KP
A vehicle squadron is a single unit and so gives 1KP (regardless of how many vehicles are in the squadron).
|
taking up the mission
Polonius wrote:Well, seeing as I literally will die if I ever lose a game of 40k, I find your approach almost heretical. If we were to play each other in a tournament, not only would I table you, I would murder you, your family, every woman you ever loved and burn down your house. I mean, what's the point in winning if you allow people that don't take the game seriously to live? |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 17:59:47
Subject: Re:Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...
|
I see that, where does it say the transport counts as a single unit? And I thought if you had 3 IG tanks in a unit it was worth 3 kill points not just one, am i just remembering wrong? I have been out of it for a bit and I am *trying* not to let the guy I am playing get to me and argue. He has dead dedicated transports, I have 1 dead walker in a group of three but he won't take the point since he has a squdron of tanks about to get toasted by a unit of fire dragons from very close range.
I think he is really upset that he is not doing too well after braging for about 30 minutes how no one that he has ever played can touch him, and it would be a real privilage for me to get the chance, but since he wants to practice for 'ard boys... yadda, yadda, yadda.
Current score 3 (5 with transports) to 0 (1 with walker).
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 18:02:10
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 18:06:24
Subject: Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets
|
dedicated transports are a "unit" as defined by the rules, therefore theyre worth 1kp, squadrons are also a "unit" in their entirety, so to get the kp you need to kill thee enti8rre squadron.
|
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 3000 pts
- 7500 pts
- 2000 pts
- 2500 pts
3850 pts |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 18:10:43
Subject: Re:Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Dedicated Transports are a unit. If they weren't, they wouldn't do anything at all.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 18:13:51
Subject: Re:Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...
|
Right page number for them being a unit? I actually have found the bit about the entire unit needing to be killed, sucks for him. Upside the squad is one kill point, down side, it is destroyed on immobilized and shares extra hits. Btw, fire dragons scored 5 pens and a glance on unit, with 3 destroyed results, lost 0 fire dragons. Now he should kill them and get his first kill point.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 18:18:53
Subject: Re:Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Orion_44 wrote:Right page number for them being a unit? I actually have found the bit about the entire unit needing to be killed, sucks for him. Upside the squad is one kill point, down side, it is destroyed on immobilized and shares extra hits. Btw, fire dragons scored 5 pens and a glance on unit, with 3 destroyed results, lost 0 fire dragons. Now he should kill them and get his first kill point.
The entire rulebook is the page number. If the Transport is not a unit, NONE OF THE RULES IN THE BOOK APPLY TO THEM, and they do nothing, they can't move, can't shoot, can't be shot at etc etc etc. They are a separate unit, as they do not have to keep coherency with the unit it is bought for.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 18:19:08
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 18:26:39
Subject: Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...
|
Okay, we are all running into the same issue. My opponent is not going to give me the kill point until I show that the dedicated transport is a different unit. I have now killed the last guardsman who was in one of the units and ended my shooting phase, so score is 5 to 0 and my avatar with one wound is going to assault a shaken hellhound so I should have 6 by the end of my turn. He should have at least 2 by the end of his. I do like the don't have to keep coherency argument though, it whould work if this comes up with a normal player.
And I do know that transports are separate kill points normally, just not for this game!
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 18:28:17
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 18:32:25
Subject: Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Orion_44 wrote:Okay, we are all running into the same issue. My opponent is not going to give me the kill point until I show that the dedicated transport is a different unit. I have now killed the last guardsman who was in one of the units and ended my shooting phase, so score is 5 to 0 and my avatar with one wound is going to assault a shaken hellhound so I should have 6 by the end of my turn. He should have at least 2 by the end of his. I do like the don't have to keep coherency argument though, it whould work if this comes up with a normal player.
And I do know that transports are separate kill points normally, just not for this game! 
If he refuses to listen to the rules, stop playing him. Nothing we say is going to convince him.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 19:02:25
Subject: Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
I'm fairly certain it's stated that DT are seperate units under the section for DT. You should be able to find dedicated transports in the index. At the very least flip through the section about transports. The blurp about DT is in a grey box with the title Dedicated Transports. Worst comes to worst let him have his way and then he gets to ard boyz he'll have quite a shock. Sounds like you're kickin' some tail anyways.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/04 19:02:46
nosferatu1001 wrote:That guy got *really* instantly killed. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/04 21:37:19
Subject: Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Orion_44 wrote: My opponent is not going to give me the kill point until I show that the dedicated transport is a different unit. I have now killed the last guardsman ...
If he's playing Guard, have a look in the Codex, page 99, just under the heading 'Dedicated Transports'
"These vehicles do not use up any force organisation chart selections, but otherwise function as separate units'
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 01:41:58
Subject: Real quickie for page reference
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
"For example, a Rhino bought for a Space Marine Tactical Squad (Troops) counts as a unit of Troops..." -Rulebook, p87.
"These vehicles [dedicated transports] do not use up any force organisation chart selections, but otherwise function as separate units." -IG Codex, p99.
Too easy.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|