| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 21:34:10
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
This came up in a Necron v. BA Battle Report and I was curious if it was legal.
Tomb Spyder Moves Six, Pops a Scarab Swarm 2 Inches forward and then assaults using the Swarm (Gaining additional base width). Potentially 15-16" Charge. Not broken, but interesting.
Artificer rule says that each turn the Spyder is not in Close Combat, you can create a swarm at the start of the assault phase.
Can you still assault?
(removed run again)
|
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/05 21:36:13
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 21:45:44
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
I don't play 'crons but as your using your asssault phase to spawn scarabs I'd say you can't assault.
What rules govern the scarabs though? Can they asssault?
|
"Praise Be To The Omissiah!"
"Three things make the Empire great: Faith, Steel and Gunpowder!"
Azarath Metrion Zinthos
Expect my posts to have a bazillion edits. I miss out letters, words, sometimes even entire sentences in my points and posts.
Come at me Heretic. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 21:49:10
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Scarabs are part of the same unit as the Spyders, so it's all or nothing.
The rule specifically says 'Each Necron Turn, a TS that is not in close combat can expend energy to create a Scarab swarm. The swam is placed into contact with the Spyder at the start of the Assault Phase...'
edit: And I notice that it is 'In Contact' so that takes away the 2" of coherency gain. Blah. Now you're just gaining the width of the scarab base.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/05 21:50:02
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 21:51:43
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
Then i would say no they can't assualt as its all or nothing. As some of the newly made unit can't assault
|
"Praise Be To The Omissiah!"
"Three things make the Empire great: Faith, Steel and Gunpowder!"
Azarath Metrion Zinthos
Expect my posts to have a bazillion edits. I miss out letters, words, sometimes even entire sentences in my points and posts.
Come at me Heretic. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 21:58:19
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
I saw that thread and thought the same thing, but no you shouldn't be able to assault after making the swarm.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:00:51
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Nothing I can find in the rules prevents you from declaring an assault with the unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:02:08
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
thats RAW I asume?
|
"Praise Be To The Omissiah!"
"Three things make the Empire great: Faith, Steel and Gunpowder!"
Azarath Metrion Zinthos
Expect my posts to have a bazillion edits. I miss out letters, words, sometimes even entire sentences in my points and posts.
Come at me Heretic. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:07:59
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Well, given that the scarab rules dont prevent you from assaulting, and it is carried out before moving into combat thus meaning you can still produce the swarm, the Rules as Written dont seem to prevent it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:09:17
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
Well since it's my battle report that spawned this discussion I'll chime in. It state's that as long as the unit is not in assault at the beginning of the turn it may spawn a scarab swarm. You roll a d6 and on a 1 the spyder takes a wound. No where does it say that you cannot assault after doing so. The only restriction it gives is that the scarab must be in btb with the tomb spyder. I view it like the tervigon spitting out gaunts. The gaunts are then able to act normally, and the tervigon is able to act normally.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/05 22:09:40
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:12:23
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
I'm with you on this one, although the Terv thing doesn't really help since that is Movement phase.
I think this is closer to rules like Faith or Orders that say 'At the Start of X phase...' allow you to do something, but don't take over your whole phase.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:30:32
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
New York, NY
|
As Warmaster said, nothing prevents this. At the start of Assault phase, if the Spyder isn't in combat, it can make a Swarm, then the unit can declare assaults with the Swarm in Front.
|
Death to the False Emperor!
2000pt |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 22:34:38
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Badass "Sister Sin"
|
Thanks guys. Curiousity satisfied.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 23:14:55
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Agreed. Ran into this recently in a league game. Necron player ran two monoliths and three tomb spiders for some counterassault. The spiders are really useful, and can pull a surprising amount of wound abuse shenanigans from each generating 1 scarab base at a time, which then counts as T6 for pretty much all purposes since there is one T3 and one T6 in the unit, and in 5th edition you use the higher in that situation. The extra assault distance was a surprise to me too, but seems to be totally legit.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 23:18:11
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
If you really want to scratch your head try and figure out what to do when a tomb spyder with scarab attendants attempts to move through cover  .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 23:31:24
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Warmaster wrote:If you really want to scratch your head try and figure out what to do when a tomb spyder with scarab attendants attempts to move through cover  .
What's difficult about that? You don't get any of the benefits the scarab has to move through cover.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 23:36:55
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine
|
Kevin949 wrote:Warmaster wrote:If you really want to scratch your head try and figure out what to do when a tomb spyder with scarab attendants attempts to move through cover  .
What's difficult about that? You don't get any of the benefits the scarab has to move through cover.
The rules say you always move at the speed of the slowest model of the unit. So the scarab moves like a jetbike and the spyder moves like a monstrous creature.
So does that mean that you role 3d6 as per the monstrous creature rules? or does having the scarab in there mean you have to do 2d6, even though nothing moves 2d6.
Also even if you do use the 3d6 if the scarab ends up in difficult terrain do you have to make a separate roll for him to see if it takes a wound on a one since it moves as if it's a jetbike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 23:42:21
Subject: Re:Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
The game assplodes as yet another situation that GW didn't prepare for strikes again!
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/05 23:50:24
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Warmaster wrote:Kevin949 wrote:Warmaster wrote:If you really want to scratch your head try and figure out what to do when a tomb spyder with scarab attendants attempts to move through cover  .
What's difficult about that? You don't get any of the benefits the scarab has to move through cover.
The rules say you always move at the speed of the slowest model of the unit. So the scarab moves like a jetbike and the spyder moves like a monstrous creature.
So does that mean that you role 3d6 as per the monstrous creature rules? or does having the scarab in there mean you have to do 2d6, even though nothing moves 2d6.
Also even if you do use the 3d6 if the scarab ends up in difficult terrain do you have to make a separate roll for him to see if it takes a wound on a one since it moves as if it's a jetbike.
Yes the scarab would make a dangerous terrain test but also scarabs ignore terrain anyway so they don't make any dice rolls for going over terrain. Also, you have to move at the slowest pace at any time and this would be the spyders pace.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 00:50:05
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
Boston, Massachusetts
|
Do scarabs ignore dangerous terrain tests? I don't recall reading that anywhere.
I typically play them as moving like infantry. If the unit was multiple monstrous creatures then I could see using 3d6 and pick the highest, but it's a mixed unit. I play it that I roll 2d6 and pick the highest. I don't think i usually do difficult terrain tests for the scarab because he is technically infantry and he would be "moving like infantry" when he's with the TS.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 00:53:34
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
RobPro wrote:Do scarabs ignore dangerous terrain tests? I don't recall reading that anywhere.
I typically play them as moving like infantry. If the unit was multiple monstrous creatures then I could see using 3d6 and pick the highest, but it's a mixed unit. I play it that I roll 2d6 and pick the highest. I don't think i usually do difficult terrain tests for the scarab because he is technically infantry and he would be "moving like infantry" when he's with the TS.
no no, I didn't say they ignore taking dangerous terrain tests, but they ignore making a roll for going through terrain. It says it in the scarab entry, they ignore terrain. But like all jetbikes, if they start or end their turn in difficult terrain they must take a dangerous terrain test.
I would say roll 3d6 for the spyder as normal as the scarabs would easily keep up with it, just hope you don't fail those dangerous terrain tests. that 5+ save sucks.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 01:03:07
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
Boston, Massachusetts
|
You don't get saves from Dangerous Terrain tests.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 01:04:50
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Oh? I'll have to re-check my friends book, we always played it that you do. Even worse then. :(
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 01:13:04
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
RobPro wrote:You don't get saves from Dangerous Terrain tests.
Yes, you do. You don't get Armour or Cover saves. You still get Invul Saves.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 01:58:19
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
Boston, Massachusetts
|
Gwar! wrote:RobPro wrote:You don't get saves from Dangerous Terrain tests.
Yes, you do. You don't get Armour or Cover saves. You still get Invul Saves.
It says you take a wound with no saves. I could be wrong, my rulebook's in my trunk. If you'd like to provide me with the page number, I'd appreciate it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 01:59:23
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
|
RobPro wrote:Gwar! wrote:RobPro wrote:You don't get saves from Dangerous Terrain tests.
Yes, you do. You don't get Armour or Cover saves. You still get Invul Saves.
It says you take a wound with no saves. I could be wrong, my rulebook's in my trunk. If you'd like to provide me with the page number, I'd appreciate it. 
14.
"On the roll of a 1, the model suffers a wound, with no armour or cover saves allowed"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 02:08:28
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
RobPro wrote:Gwar! wrote:RobPro wrote:You don't get saves from Dangerous Terrain tests.
Yes, you do. You don't get Armour or Cover saves. You still get Invul Saves. It says you take a wound with no saves. I could be wrong, my rulebook's in my trunk. If you'd like to provide me with the page number, I'd appreciate it. 
No, it doesn't.  Page 14
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/06 02:08:40
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/06 03:19:52
Subject: Tomb Spyder Slingshot
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Warmaster wrote:Kevin949 wrote:Warmaster wrote:If you really want to scratch your head try and figure out what to do when a tomb spyder with scarab attendants attempts to move through cover  .
What's difficult about that? You don't get any of the benefits the scarab has to move through cover.
The rules say you always move at the speed of the slowest model of the unit. So the scarab moves like a jetbike and the spyder moves like a monstrous creature.
So does that mean that you role 3d6 as per the monstrous creature rules? or does having the scarab in there mean you have to do 2d6, even though nothing moves 2d6.
Also even if you do use the 3d6 if the scarab ends up in difficult terrain do you have to make a separate roll for him to see if it takes a wound on a one since it moves as if it's a jetbike.
I think the rules cover this fine. You roll 3D6 and pick the highest to see how far the Spyder moves and if this turns out to be less than 6" then the Scarabs will have to move at that speed as well...not because of the terrain, but because they have to slow down to match the Spyder's movement rate.
And of course the Scarab would have to take a Dangerous terrain test if it ends its movement in terrain.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|