Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/07 10:02:55
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Ok I've got a trygon which can charge and comes into base contact with two tanks - can it do multiple assault because it's base comes into contact with both tanks?
I've been told in the past it cannot because the first sentence says the word "models" however if it said "model" it wouldn't make sense grammar wise.
After reading it I cannot see why a single model cannot do multiple assaults.
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/07 10:05:31
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
mercer wrote:Ok I've got a trygon which can charge and comes into base contact with two tanks - can it do multiple assault because it's base comes into contact with both tanks? I've been told in the past it cannot because the first sentence says the word "models" however if it said "model" it wouldn't make sense grammar wise. After reading it I cannot see why a single model cannot do multiple assaults.
A Single model cannot do multiple assaults because the first model in the assaulting unit MUST assault the Target unit, not "The target unit and another unit." Only the 2nd and subsequent models in a unit may assault a 2nd unit, which can never happen with a Unit of 1 model. It really is that simple.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/07 10:07:01
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/07 10:09:45
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Charging Dragon Prince
Chicago, IL, U.S.A.
|
I am no expert but I think for most units you have to allocate all your attacks to 1 target you get to choose if there are more than 1 possible target unit. you can't say, give 2/5 attacks to 1 unit and the other 3/5 attacks to a different unit. Whether its a squad or a tank. ICs are an exception who just do their hits at whatever is in base contact and only get hit by them in return. I am not familiar with the trygon, is it an IC? That would seem like it makes all the difference. Someone more geektastic please fill me in if I'm wrong about this, I'm still confused from edition crossover so I may be way off. Enlighten us because that's a good question IMO, just one that has never come up in any of my games.
|
Retroactively applied infallability is its own reward. I wish I knew this years ago.
 I am Red/White Take The Magic Dual Colour Test - Beta today! <small>Created with Rum and Monkey's Personality Test Generator.</small>I'm both chaotic and orderly. I value my own principles, and am willing to go to extreme lengths to enforce them, often trampling on the very same principles in the process. At best, I'm heroic and principled; at worst, I'm hypocritical and disorderly. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/07 10:21:15
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Blackclad Wayfarer
From England. Living in Shanghai
|
You may indeed split your attacks if engaged with multiple models, though this is not the question the OP was asking.
|
Looking for games in Shanghai? Send a PM |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/07 10:21:45
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Tower of Power
|
Gwar! wrote:mercer wrote:Ok I've got a trygon which can charge and comes into base contact with two tanks - can it do multiple assault because it's base comes into contact with both tanks?
I've been told in the past it cannot because the first sentence says the word "models" however if it said "model" it wouldn't make sense grammar wise.
After reading it I cannot see why a single model cannot do multiple assaults.
A Single model cannot do multiple assaults because the first model in the assaulting unit MUST assault the Target unit, not "The target unit and another unit."
Only the 2nd and subsequent models in a unit may assault a 2nd unit, which can never happen with a Unit of 1 model.
It really is that simple.
Thanks Gwar
|
warhammer 40,000 tactica and hobby blog - www.imperiusdominatus.com
Want list feedback and advice? e-mail imperiusdominatus@live.co.uk
Blood Angels - 2000 Iron Warriors - 2000 Orks -2000 Imperial Guard - 2000
Eldar - 2000 Hive Fleet Krakken - 2000 Dark Eldar - 2000 Necrons - 2000 Grey Knights - 2000 Daemons - 2000 Ravenwing - 2000 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/07 10:26:16
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
deleted due to redundancy
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/07 10:27:08
In one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 6", kill a few guys with his flamer, assault 6", kill two more guys with his bayonet, flee 12", regroup when assaulted, react 6", kill one more guy with his bayonet and then flee another 12".
So in one game turn an Imperial guardsman can move 42" and kill more than 5 people. At the same time a Chimera at top speed on a road can move 18"... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 03:38:37
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Not discounting Gawr!'s answer, but considering the enormous base a trygon comes with, I'd let you do it, seeing as it might not be possible to assault tank#1, without coming into contact with tank #2, because there's this:
There was a cheesy tactic (much discussed on the boards on whether its legal), sometimes attempted, of having two units checker boarded together:
X= Unit of Dire Avengers
O= Unit of Scorpions
XOXOXOXOXO
OXOXOXOXOX
... the "trick" was that this "not allowed to come within one inch of another unit" was exploited to disallow *any* assault, as both units ... protected each other with that 1 inch.
On the much larger scale of a single Trygon and some tanks ... Gwar! may have it RaW, but I think you'd be okay to split attacks, being in b2b with both vehicles, as the one rule exists allowing a model to split its attacks between units, if it were in b2b with 2 separate units.
The crux being allowed to come in b2b with 2 models at the same time.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/08 03:45:29
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 03:40:13
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Brothererekose wrote:Not discounting Gawr!'s answer, considering the enormous base a trygon comes with, I'd let you do it, seeing as it might not be possible to assault tank#1, without coming into contact with tank #2.
Also, there's this:
There was a cheesy tactic, sometimes attempted of having two units checker boarded together; the "trick" was that this "not allowed to come within one inch of another unit" was exploited to disallow *any* assault, as both units ... protected each other.
The 1" rule is ignored in the assault phase, so he could have assaulted unit A, and come within 1" of Unit B just fine.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 03:46:25
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
recently in a game, I assaulted a dreadnaught with a Trygon Prime and the base actually touched the base of a 2nd dread that standing near the first. By the rules, we agreed that he had assaulted both dreads since he was in base to base with both units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 03:48:21
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Doesn't this:
Gwar! wrote:The 1" rule is ignored in the assault phase, so he could have assaulted unit A, and come within 1" of Unit B just fine.
Contradict that?
Gwar! wrote:A Single model cannot do multiple assaults because the first model in the assaulting unit MUST assault the Target unit, not "The target unit and another unit."
Only the 2nd and subsequent models in a unit may assault a 2nd unit, which can never happen with a Unit of 1 model.
It really is that simple.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/08 03:51:08
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 03:53:05
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Brothererekose wrote:Doesn't this: Gwar! wrote:The 1" rule is ignored in the assault phase, so he could have assaulted unit A, and come within 1" of Unit B just fine. Contradict that? Gwar! wrote:A Single model cannot do multiple assaults because the first model in the assaulting unit MUST assault the Target unit, not "The target unit and another unit." Only the 2nd and subsequent models in a unit may assault a 2nd unit, which can never happen with a Unit of 1 model. It really is that simple.
No, it doesn't. You can come within 1" of another unit, you just cannot get into BTB with a 2nd unit with the 1st model in an assaulting unit. Being within 1" does not lock you in combat. Only being in BTB does. gannam wrote:recently in a game, I assaulted a dreadnaught with a Trygon Prime and the base actually touched the base of a 2nd dread that standing near the first. By the rules, we agreed that he had assaulted both dreads since he was in base to base with both units.
Well you did it wrong, plain and simple! The Trygon was not permitted to be in BTB with the 2nd Dreadnought at all.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2010/05/08 03:54:54
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 04:49:35
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Gwar! wrote:No, it doesn't. You can come within 1" of another unit, you just cannot get into BTB with a 2nd unit with the 1st model in an assaulting unit.
Being within 1" does not lock you in combat. Only being in BTB does.
Ah, got it.
|
"You can bring any cheesy unit you want. If you lose. Casey taught me that." -Tim S.
"I'm gonna follow Casey; he knows where the beer's at!" -Blackmoor, BAO 2013
Quitting Daemon Princes, Bob and Fred - a 40k webcomic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 09:47:06
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Squishy Squighound
Sydney, Australia
|
Excuse me if this is nothing, but what if (big if) the shortest possible route to the target unit brought you into contact with the second unit?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 09:49:29
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Boost One wrote:Excuse me if this is nothing, but what if (big if) the shortest possible route to the target unit brought you into contact with the second unit?
You instead take a slightly longer possible route as to make a legal assault, as the "shortest possible route" isn't actually the shortest possible route for a legal assault.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 09:51:37
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Squishy Squighound
Sydney, Australia
|
Neat
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 14:25:22
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Gwar! wrote:Boost One wrote:Excuse me if this is nothing, but what if (big if) the shortest possible route to the target unit brought you into contact with the second unit?
You instead take a slightly longer possible route as to make a legal assault, as the "shortest possible route" isn't actually the shortest possible route for a legal assault.
Doesn't it say in the book that you have to move in a straight line when assaulting? So if your straight line makes your first model contact another unit instead of the intended one, in theory wouldn't you then assault that unit instead of the intended?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 14:32:07
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Kevin949 wrote:Gwar! wrote:Boost One wrote:Excuse me if this is nothing, but what if (big if) the shortest possible route to the target unit brought you into contact with the second unit?
You instead take a slightly longer possible route as to make a legal assault, as the "shortest possible route" isn't actually the shortest possible route for a legal assault. Doesn't it say in the book that you have to move in a straight line when assaulting? So if your straight line makes your first model contact another unit instead of the intended one, in theory wouldn't you then assault that unit instead of the intended?
No, the rulebook says nothing of the sort. It actually says The model selected must be the one closest to the enemy (going around impassable terrain, friendly models and enemy models in units not being assaulted). Move the model into contact with the nearest enemy model in the unit being assaulted, using the shortest possible route.
Note the lack of permission to assault a 2nd unit and, in fact, a very explicit rule to STAY AWAY FROM MODELS NOT BEING ASSAULTED!
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/08 14:33:45
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 14:54:38
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Yellin' Yoof on a Scooter
Twin Cities, MN
|
Also note that it would be DEAD impossible to position the MC in a way where the shortest route to one model puts it into base contact with another upon arrival.
|
5,000 +
5,000 +
1,000
1,750
1,850 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 16:12:50
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Gwar! wrote:No, the rulebook says nothing of the sort. It actually says The model selected must be the one closest to the enemy (going around impassable terrain, friendly models and enemy models in units not being assaulted). Move the model into contact with the nearest enemy model in the unit being assaulted, using the shortest possible route.
Note the lack of permission to assault a 2nd unit and, in fact, a very explicit rule to STAY AWAY FROM MODELS NOT BEING ASSAULTED! 
Ah. Hm, I wonder what my buddy was talking about then with moving in a straight line and running into another squad and such.
Dang it, that's it, I'm getting a rulebook today! About frikken time.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 16:26:33
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Boosting Black Templar Biker
California
|
Kevin949 wrote:Gwar! wrote:No, the rulebook says nothing of the sort. It actually says The model selected must be the one closest to the enemy (going around impassable terrain, friendly models and enemy models in units not being assaulted). Move the model into contact with the nearest enemy model in the unit being assaulted, using the shortest possible route.
Note the lack of permission to assault a 2nd unit and, in fact, a very explicit rule to STAY AWAY FROM MODELS NOT BEING ASSAULTED! 
Ah. Hm, I wonder what my buddy was talking about then with moving in a straight line and running into another squad and such.
Dang it, that's it, I'm getting a rulebook today! About frikken time.
Don't have my rule book in front of me but I believe it's the second and subsequent models in the assaulting unit that will have the potential to contact another unit thus causing a 'multiple assault'.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 16:45:14
Subject: Multiple assault?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
zeshin wrote:Don't have my rule book in front of me but I believe it's the second and subsequent models in the assaulting unit that will have the potential to contact another unit thus causing a 'multiple assault'.
Ah, that was probably it. Interesting how you can "go around" enemy units if you want to assault but then there is the rule that models can never through other models or some such thing. All I remember is that rule made it so I couldn't get my lord into CC range when he was attached to an immortal squad because of where they were positioned there was no way for him to move without bypassing everyone packed in in front of him. *Shrug* Oh well. Rule book ordered!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 16:50:33
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well, a model can only do one assault, however, if you can get into base to base contact with both tanks you'll be able to split your attacks amongst the two tanks (or 3 if thats possible)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 17:43:51
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
 It should be quite possible to get into btb with two separate models with one large based MC. picture the following:
....a...b...... MMM
If the MC ( MMM) assaults model a, then the shortest route to model a will have it skimming around the edge of model b.
Now it all comes down to whether or not avoiding impassable terrain means entering or touching. If it menas entering then MMM could touch the edge of model b as it goes around (and in fact would be required to do so for a shortest path). Model b is impassable terrain, so MMM cant enter/ move over model b.
But being in btb isnt the same as entering, so we have a grey area.
I personally would be in favor of MMM not being to be allowed to actually be considered in btb (as it would make life simpler for the combats) but Im not certain here.
Being in btb means that the distance from MMM to b is zero....but the distance being zero also means that MMM didnt actually enter impassable terrain, its just touching it. And the rules do say models cant move into or across impassable terrain. But touching seems to be allowed (no inappropriate touching pls however, lets keep this PG  )
So it may be possible to end up in btb contact with models that werent assaulted, simply because being in any assault move removes the restriction of moving within 1" of enemy models.
At the very least it would suggest that if model b were a dreadnought it would be able to attack MMM....
Sliggoth
|
Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 22:36:51
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Sliggoth wrote: If the MC (MMM) assaults model a, then the shortest route to model a will have it skimming around the edge of model b.
Skimming around, but not touching... because the rules specifically forbid that.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/08 23:22:19
Subject: Re:Multiple assault?
|
 |
Swift Swooping Hawk
|
Ahh, right; there is the added rule about not being able to move into btb with a unit that they arent assaulting. So the 1" rule goes away but there is the added new rule of no btb with others, until the first model has moved. So that does cover it airtight.
Sliggoth
|
Why does my eldar army run three fire prisms? Because the rules wont let me use four in (regular 40k). |
|
 |
 |
|