Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/11 14:14:04
Subject: Reserves and Nids
|
 |
Unbalanced Fanatic
|
Okay, I got tired of searching so many pages of forums. Here is the question: If I have the swarmlord, a hive tyrant w/ hive commander and a lictor...do all their +1 for reserve rolls add up? So on turn two I could have reserves come in on a 1 (2) conceivably? I cannot not find rules in book that says it is not cumulative.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/11 14:15:58
Subject: Reserves and Nids
|
 |
Heroic Senior Officer
|
Good question, lotsa arguments about it, no 'official' answer. Try advanced search.
|
Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/11 14:17:50
Subject: Reserves and Nids
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Father Gabe wrote:Okay, I got tired of searching so many pages of forums. Here is the question: If I have the swarmlord, a hive tyrant w/ hive commander and a lictor...do all their +1 for reserve rolls add up? So on turn two I could have reserves come in on a 1 (2) conceivably? I cannot not find rules in book that says it is not cumulative.
Yes, in this case they do add up.
However, 2 Tyrants or 2 Lictors do not add up.
|
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/11 16:09:01
Subject: Reserves and Nids
|
 |
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine
|
Don't forget that the Lictor's reserve bonus only works from the turn after it has arrived itself. So if it arrives at turn 2, it'll work from turn 3. Which basically makes the Lictor all but completely useless in your equiation, as by turn the bonus counts, you already have a 2+ reserve roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/11 16:31:16
Subject: Reserves and Nids
|
 |
Unbalanced Fanatic
|
I figured 2 hive tyrants wouldnt stack. However, the Swarmlord is not a hive tyrant? Rules wise, I dont have a codex handy but Im somewhat sure he is not a "hive tyrant"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/11 16:36:57
Subject: Reserves and Nids
|
 |
Sneaky Striking Scorpion
In my happy place, I'm in my happy place...
|
Yup, this is answered. Tyrant/Swarmlord stack. Giving +2. Since Lictor isn't there at beginning of turn +2 gives you a 3+ to show up. After that it no longer matters as you will show up on 2+ anyway. (Roll of 1 always fails).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/11 16:39:11
Subject: Reserves and Nids
|
 |
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime
|
Father Gabe wrote:I figured 2 hive tyrants wouldnt stack. However, the Swarmlord is not a hive tyrant? Rules wise, I dont have a codex handy but Im somewhat sure he is not a "hive tyrant"
No, the Swarmlord is NOT a hive Tyrant. Also, he has a Different rule, which is why it stacks. Orion_44 wrote:Yup, this is answered. Tyrant/Swarmlord stack. Giving +2. Since Lictor isn't there at beginning of turn +2 gives you a 3+ to show up. After that it no longer matters as you will show up on 2+ anyway. (Roll of 1 always fails).
No, it isn't. A Roll of 1 for reserves is NOT always a fail. The only time it is always a Fail is if you are an Eldar Army with an Autarch, as the Eldar codex tells you it is in that one specific case. If you have a Lictor, a Hive Tyrant with Hive Commander and a Swarmlord, and it is the start of turn 3, your units will arrive on a 3+ with a +3 bonus to your reserve rolls, meaning that you need to roll more than a 0 on a D6 to have your reserves arrive (or to put it another way, your doods come in on a 0+).
|
This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2010/05/11 16:42:27
Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2010/05/11 17:52:17
Subject: Reserves and Nids
|
 |
Unbalanced Fanatic
|
Sweet you guys rule! This could really work well, minus the lictor, for the 'ard boyz this weekend. I should have used the most important rule...common sense. Since the units were different and rules different they would stack. Oh well better safe then sorry.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|