Switch Theme:

Allied Grey Knights in a Space Marine Transport  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Societal Outcast



Indiana

I have a general Space Marine Army with allied Grey Knights. I want my little silver baddies (the GKs) to get in a vehicle. I'm pretty sure 5e lets me stick them in there, but what I am not sure about is when. To wit, can I DEPLOY them in a Rhino, Razorback or Land Raider despite the fact that it technically belongs to the army they have joined as allies? My understanding is that I could take a dedicated transport and leave it empty upon deployment--perhaps the relevant unit would need to be next to it. So if that is true, why can't I fill it with Grey Knights from the beginning? At any rate, I'd very much prefer exact page references to the rules/codices about this.

“Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win. If we die we die fightin so it don’t count. If we runs for it we don’t die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!” - Commonly held Ork view of warfare  
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

The dedicated transport rules (or perhaps it’s the deployment rules) state that only the unit it was purchased for can START the game deployed in a dedicated transport. Any unit which can legally embark, OTOH, can start deployed in a non-dedicated transport, which is taken with its own Force Org slot.

Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

You can't take Grey Knights with Space Marines

GK Codex page 21

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




re-read that codex, ductvader. you can take GK allies in a SM codex list. you CANNOT take SM's in a DH list that has GK's, however.

After the orbital strikes, Thunderhawk bombardments, Whirlwinds, Vindicators, fusion and starfire and finally Battle Brothers with flamers had finished cleansing the world of all the enemies of Man, we built a monastery in the center of the largest, most radioactive impact crater. We named the planet "Tranquility", for it was very quiet now.
 
   
Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter




Grand Rapids Metro

Honersstodnt wrote:re-read that codex, ductvader. you can take GK allies in a SM codex list. you CANNOT take SM's in a DH list that has GK's, however.


Sorry...I actually knew that...but playing GK as a pure army has got me into a one track mindset of of thinking about allies...thanks.

Come play games in West Michigan at https://www.facebook.com/tcpgrwarroom 
   
Made in us
Societal Outcast



Indiana

Mannahnin wrote:The dedicated transport rules (or perhaps it’s the deployment rules) state that only the unit it was purchased for can START the game deployed in a dedicated transport. Any unit which can legally embark, OTOH, can start deployed in a non-dedicated transport, which is taken with its own Force Org slot.


That is helpful. To clarify, you state "Any unit...can start deployed in a non-dedicated transport, which is taken with its own Force Org slot," does this mean that the GKs CANNOT start in a SM Land Raider? The Land Raider is not dedicated and as an allied force, does this mean that my force has two Force Orgs or just one that is shared and weird?

“Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win. If we die we die fightin so it don’t count. If we runs for it we don’t die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!” - Commonly held Ork view of warfare  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

polonius916 wrote:That is helpful. To clarify, you state "Any unit...can start deployed in a non-dedicated transport, which is taken with its own Force Org slot," does this mean that the GKs CANNOT start in a SM Land Raider?


If the LR is taken as a stand-along vehicle, yes, they can start in it. If it is taken as a dedicated transport, they can not.


The Land Raider is not dedicated and as an allied force, does this mean that my force has two Force Orgs or just one that is shared and weird?


The rules for allies in the WH and DH codexes still use a single FoC. So the GK's are a part of the same chart, and a part of the same army. They can use any non-dedicated transport freely, and can climb aboard any dedicated transport after the game starts.


Note that the same is not true of DH transports... Dedicated Transports selected from Codex: DH can only transport the unit for which they were purchased.

 
   
Made in us
Societal Outcast



Indiana

Sweet, thanks.

“Orkses never lose a battle. If we win we win. If we die we die fightin so it don’t count. If we runs for it we don’t die neither, cos we can come back for annuver go, see!” - Commonly held Ork view of warfare  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: