Switch Theme:

Necrons WBB in close combat  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Sorry if this has been done before but here goes:

If a necron squad is wiped out in CC but is within 6" of a squad of the same type, and was killed only by 'normal' attacks can they take WBB rolls in the next necron turn?

Can they take the roll if they were killed by PW's but there is a Lord with Res Orb and a squad of the same type within 6"?

Can a squad take a WBB roll if wiped out in CC along with an attached lord, but there is a same type squad within 6"?

Can you ever make WBB rolls if you are destroyed in a sweeping advance, but have a same type squad within 6"?

Thanks in advance.

Flashman
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




1) It depends. If the unit is wiped out due to just attacks and NOT sweeping advance then they may attempt a WBB check, as long as unit of same type within 6" etc.

2) Yes, as long as the Lord was alive at the I step that the power weapons killed the unit. Caveat from 1 above applies - if they were sweeping advanced the unit is just gone, no WBB

3) as 2) above. The presence of the lord does *nothing* to change this

4) No. Sweeping Advance removes the ENTIRE UNIT, including any downed necrons, and denies them the use of the special rule.

Likely you will get someone chiming in claiming that you do get SA saves, however they are wrong wrong and wrong. The SA rule allows NO SPECIAL RULE to save the unit, unless the special rule *specifies* that it can. Now, WBB does not specify it can save the unit from SA, so it doesnt.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:1) It depends. If the unit is wiped out due to just attacks and NOT sweeping advance then they may attempt a WBB check, as long as unit of same type within 6" etc.

2) Yes, as long as the Lord was alive at the I step that the power weapons killed the unit. Caveat from 1 above applies - if they were sweeping advanced the unit is just gone, no WBB

3) as 2) above. The presence of the lord does *nothing* to change this

4) No. Sweeping Advance removes the ENTIRE UNIT, including any downed necrons, and denies them the use of the special rule.

Likely you will get someone chiming in claiming that you do get SA saves, however they are wrong wrong and wrong. The SA rule allows NO SPECIAL RULE to save the unit, unless the special rule *specifies* that it can. Now, WBB does not specify it can save the unit from SA, so it doesnt.
nosferatu1001 has everything spot on, especially about the Sweeping Advance. WBB does not help against SA whatsoever.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Thanks for that, cleared it mostly up. Just one question, can I assume that if the lord with orb is last to die in a unit, the downed necrons recieve the orbs benefits to their WBB's. However, if the lord dies first, then no benefits are available to his squad mates who die while the Lord is down? So in basic terms a downed Lord with Orb awaiting his WBB has no effect on the game until he is on his feet again.

Flashman
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He has no effect while dead - so if a high Init enemy kills him first, then the squad with power weapons afterwards, the squad will get no benefit from the Res orb (although the lord will still get his chance, of course!)
   
Made in gb
Wicked Canoptek Wraith





UK

Thanks very much, that all nice and clear now.

Flashman
 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

nosferatu1001 wrote:He has no effect while dead - so if a high Init enemy kills him first, then the squad with power weapons afterwards, the squad will get no benefit from the Res orb (although the lord will still get his chance, of course!)


So if the enemy squad has the appropriate gear and initiative difference can this be achieved right?


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







HoverBoy wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:He has no effect while dead - so if a high Init enemy kills him first, then the squad with power weapons afterwards, the squad will get no benefit from the Res orb (although the lord will still get his chance, of course!)


So if the enemy squad has the appropriate gear and initiative difference can this be achieved right?
Yup. For example, a Squad of Burnas with a Mek (also with a Burna) charge a group of Necron Warriors and a Lord. The Lord ends up in btb with the Mek. In the I4 step, The Lord does his stuff but whiffs like a lady, while the mek is well 'ard and manly and rips the Necron lord apart.

The Burnas, at Initiative 3, then proceed to rip into the Warriors, who now cannot qualify for WBB.

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Furious charging Kharne doesa number on the Lord at I6, then the unit of chosen with power weapons at I4 rip into the warriors.

Quite a few combinations can achieve this!
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Thanks thats all i needed to know.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: