Switch Theme:

A couple of BT related issues  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Ferocious Black Templar Castellan






Sweden

OK, so I have two questions regarding some rules involving the Black Templar.

First, assume that a unit is consisting of one Black Templar marine (his friends got toasted), the Emperor's Champion and a Grey Knight Grand Master. If the Champ gets killed by a Fire Prism, does the unit count as a Black templar unit for the purpouses of Righteous Zeal? The issue came up when we were playing tonight, and a marine, the EC and a GKGM were standing on an objective, it was round 7 and the outcome of the game depended on wether the squad had to move due to a failer morale check or not.

Player A argued that the unit counts as a mixed unit, since it has both Black Templar and Grey Knight elements.

Player B argued that the unit counts as a Black Templar unit since the unit has a BT model in it. (A bit related, by this logic, the whole unit should also count as a GK unit and thus get the Shrouding special rule, correct?)

Onlooker C claimed that the BT model has to take a righteous zeal test, and fall back if it fails, while the Grand Master stays where he is, as he isn't a BT.

We solved the situation by playing it with a righteous zeal test, which they passed, and the issue was as such null and void, howerver it might be good to know stuff such as this if it happens again...

Question 2: How is the "Kill Them All!" rule supposed to be interpreted in 5th edition? Since it says something like "[...] when testing to shoot at a target other than the closest[...]", I guess RaW would be that the only thing the rule does is -1 Ld when doing something that doesn't exist anymore, and thus the rule is pointless. Am I right in making this assumption or does the rule in fact still force a morale test at -1 Ld?

For thirteen years I had a dog with fur the darkest black. For thirteen years he was my friend, oh how I want him back. 
   
Made in us
Wolf Guard Bodyguard in Terminator Armor





I thought the EC could never join a unit.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Brother Ramses wrote:I thought the EC could never join a unit.
No, he just cannot take a command squad.

So answer the OP:
1) It is a mixed unit.
2) You take the Ld Test as detailed in the codex, making BT the only army to still have to make Target Priority Checks!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/12 19:24:41


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: