Switch Theme:

do sponsons on a tank count as 1 weapon or 2?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




When moving at combat speed can a tank choose to shoot both its non defensive sponson weapons as its one weapson of choice? For example can a valkerie shoot both its heavy bolter sponsons once it has moved at combat speed? Can a leman russ shoot both its plasma cannon sponsons at combat speed? The rulebook states that one single weapon can shoot if a tank moves at combat speed (plus defensive weps). Does "single weapon" mean weapon slot on the tanks weapon list or a single gun on a tank model?
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

It means single weapon.

Sponsons are separate weapons.

 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Vincent305 wrote:When moving at combat speed can a tank choose to shoot both its non defensive sponson weapons as its one weapson of choice? For example can a valkerie shoot both its heavy bolter sponsons once it has moved at combat speed? Can a leman russ shoot both its plasma cannon sponsons at combat speed? The rulebook states that one single weapon can shoot if a tank moves at combat speed (plus defensive weps). Does "single weapon" mean weapon slot on the tanks weapon list or a single gun on a tank model?
It means a single weapon.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Vincent305 wrote:When moving at combat speed can a tank choose to shoot both its non defensive sponson weapons as its one weapson of choice? For example can a valkerie shoot both its heavy bolter sponsons once it has moved at combat speed? Can a leman russ shoot both its plasma cannon sponsons at combat speed? The rulebook states that one single weapon can shoot if a tank moves at combat speed (plus defensive weps). Does "single weapon" mean weapon slot on the tanks weapon list or a single gun on a tank model?


The posters above are correct, but to answer your questions concerning the specific vehicles you mentioned, look at page 73 concerning what can fire at what movement speeds.

Because a Valkyrie is fast, it can fire ALL weapons at combat speed. So at combat speed, assuming you had a decked out Valkyrie (who wouldnt take that) you would be able to fire your multi-laser, your 2 multiple rocket pods, and 2 sponson bolters.

Because a Leman Russ has Lumbering Behemoth, it can automatically fire its turret weapon along with one other offensive weapon plus any defensive weapons. So moving at combat speed, you would be able to automatically shoot the turret weapon, one of your sponson (or other offensive weapon of choice) and any defensive weapons.

The only reason I bring this up is due to the special circumstances that each vehicle has allowing it different firing rules.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





...and the LRC can fire all of its guns. Why?

Because Black Templars are awesome.

But actually because the Hurricane Bolters, as S4 weapons, are considered "defensive."







There's just an acre of you fellas, isn't there? 
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






London

...and the DH LRC can always fire it's Hurricane Bolters, regardless of how far it has moved

Valk
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: