Switch Theme:

Ard Boyz Kill points question...no its not about drop pods!  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Florida

here is a question.

Swarmlord/Hive Tyrant etc is worth 2KP.

what are the Tyrant guards worth? 1 or 2KP? They are a retinue unit, only purchasable if a Tyrant or Swarmlord is taken, yet they occupy a seperate entry in the codex. Albeit, one that doesnt count to force organization purposes...

so what the call? 1 or 2KP?

15000 - Tyranids
4000 - Skaven
1500 - Dark Eldar
2500 - Daemons
1500 - Necrons  
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







HiveFleet wrote:here is a question.

Swarmlord/Hive Tyrant etc is worth 2KP.

what are the Tyrant guards worth? 1 or 2KP? They are a retinue unit, only purchasable if a Tyrant or Swarmlord is taken, yet they occupy a seperate entry in the codex. Albeit, one that doesnt count to force organization purposes...

so what the call? 1 or 2KP?
No, they are not a Retinue unit.

They are worth 2KP, as they are an HQ unit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/13 18:50:40


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Gwar! wrote:
HiveFleet wrote:here is a question.

Swarmlord/Hive Tyrant etc is worth 2KP.

what are the Tyrant guards worth? 1 or 2KP? They are a retinue unit, only purchasable if a Tyrant or Swarmlord is taken, yet they occupy a seperate entry in the codex. Albeit, one that doesnt count to force organization purposes...

so what the call? 1 or 2KP?
No, they are not a Retinue unit.

They are worth 1KP.

How do you get that, Gwar? They look like an HQ unit to me (as that's where they appear in the codex), even if one that doesn't occupy a Force Org slot.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







Janthkin wrote:How do you get that, Gwar? They look like an HQ unit to me (as that's where they appear in the codex), even if one that doesn't occupy a Force Org slot.
It was a typo, and I fixed it right away. You must have quoted me as I was editing it. :( Note how I edited it at 18:50 and you posted at 18:52. Dern Interwebs.

So to be clear, A Tyrant and Guard are worth 2KP EACH, for a total of 4KP.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2010/05/13 18:56:19


Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Florida

Gotcha, thats what I was thinking. Just wanted confirmation from another!

Thanks!

15000 - Tyranids
4000 - Skaven
1500 - Dark Eldar
2500 - Daemons
1500 - Necrons  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Surely if you join them together they are only worth 2KP? They join *as* an IC, but never are, meaning they are NOT a retinue and ytou only have a single unit deployed on the table.
   
Made in gb
Hanging Out with Russ until Wolftime







nosferatu1001 wrote:Surely if you join them together they are only worth 2KP? They join *as* an IC, but never are, meaning they are NOT a retinue and ytou only have a single unit deployed on the table.
No. You still have 2 units. They only Join as an IC. You still have 2 Units however, so they are worth 2KP in Normal games (4 at Ard Boyz).

Got 40k Rules Question? Send an e-mail to Gwar! for your Confidential Rules Queries.
Please do not PM me unless really necessary. I much prefer e-mail.
Need it Answered RIGHT NOW!? Ring me on Skype: "gwar.the.trolle"
Looking to play some Vassal? Ring me for a game!
Download The Unofficial FAQs by Gwar! here! (Dark Eldar Draft FAQ v1.0 released 04/Nov/2010! Download it before the Pandas eat it all!)
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

nosferatu1001 wrote:Surely if you join them together they are only worth 2KP? They join *as* an IC, but never are, meaning they are NOT a retinue and ytou only have a single unit deployed on the table.
Mmmm, worms in a can.

Depends on your local interpretation, I think. If, for example, you're using the INAT, then the Tyrant is free to walk away from the Guard at any time. You can also deploy them as separate units and join them up during the Movement phase.

I'd look at it this way: in a DoW scenario*, would you allow both the Tyrant and the Guard to be deployed as the single HQ unit? For my Tyranids, I wouldn't play it that way.

*Yes, I know there is no DoW in the Ard Boyz this year.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut







For the DoW question, the tyrant joins the unit "as if it were an independent character". That leaves you stuck in the situation of trying to deploy two HQ units when you're only allowed to deploy one, since RaW the two units (the not-quite-IC and the other unit) don't combine until they've been deployed.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gwar! wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Surely if you join them together they are only worth 2KP? They join *as* an IC, but never are, meaning they are NOT a retinue and ytou only have a single unit deployed on the table.
No. You still have 2 units. They only Join as an IC. You still have 2 Units however, so they are worth 2KP in Normal games (4 at Ard Boyz).


Joining as an IC makes you and the unit one and the same - the only time an IC is a seperate unit is in assault, when at the end it again reminds you that it becomes a member of the unit, singular.

If there were two units the HT could walk away, when it cannot as it is NOT an IC.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: