Switch Theme:

Allies as HQ and Assassin Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





Gainesville, Florida

1. Can you take an allied HQ to take place of your own armies HQ requirement? ie. Inquisitor for Guard.

2. Does the Callidus Assassin get a +1 for 2 1-handed weapons. It lists both a c'tan phase sword and Poisoned Blades in its Wargear.

Jtw1n
Vostroyan XCIX "The Heirs Apparent" 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

jtw1n wrote:1. Can you take an allied HQ to take place of your own armies HQ requirement? ie. Inquisitor for Guard.


Nope. The rules in the DH and WH books for taking them as allied require you to fill compulsory slots from the parent list.


2. Does the Callidus Assassin get a +1 for 2 1-handed weapons. It lists both a c'tan phase sword and Poisoned Blades in its Wargear.


Yes. Or No.

The poisoned blades are never defined as a single handed weapon, nor as a close combat weapon. So they don't count as an additional CCW.

The Neural Shredder is listed in the FAQ as being a single-handed weapon... in which case it can possibly be used for the bonus attack. Opinions are a little divided on that, as page 37 of the rulebook refers to getting the +1 attack from single-handed weapons, whilst page 42 specifically refers to CCW's (which includes pistols)... The Neural Shredder is not classified as a pistol, or a close combat weapon, so some players feel it shouldn't grant the bonus attack.


So, best recourse is to discuss it with your opponent, or run it past the TO in the case of an organised event.


This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/14 01:40:51


 
   
Made in us
Hardened Veteran Guardsman





Gainesville, Florida

Thanks for the help.

Jtw1n
Vostroyan XCIX "The Heirs Apparent" 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

2. Yes. As Insaniak has already pointed out, page 37 says single handed weapons, so the Neural Shredder applies. Page 42 also mentions single handed weapons, Fighting With Two Single-Handed Weapons, and then
spells it out with this:
A normal and a special weapon
These models gain one additional attack. All of their
attacks, including the bonus attack, benefit from the
special weapon’s bonuses.
So type is irrelevant. If they ever come out witha single-handed Heavy Weapon, then it and another single-handed weapon would give the +1 bonus.

Regarding the poison needles. They are not used in hth at all. They are a piece of wargear taht allows a special attack to be made post-consolidation, so have no effect in combat.

Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

don_mondo wrote:2. Yes. As Insaniak has already pointed out, page 37 says single handed weapons, so the Neural Shredder applies. Page 42 also mentions single handed weapons, Fighting With Two Single-Handed Weapons, and then
spells it out with this:
A normal and a special weapon
These models gain one additional attack. All of their
attacks, including the bonus attack, benefit from the
special weapon’s bonuses.
So type is irrelevant. If they ever come out witha single-handed Heavy Weapon, then it and another single-handed weapon would give the +1 bonus.

Regarding the poison needles. They are not used in hth at all. They are a piece of wargear taht allows a special attack to be made post-consolidation, so have no effect in combat.


Um no. They are 2 special weapons not a normal and a special weapon. Poisoned blades and C'tan phase sword both have special abilities therefore this applies that prevents the extra attack.


Two different special weapons
When it is their turn to attack, these models must
choose which weapon to use that turn, but they never
get the bonus attack for using two weapons (such is
the penalty for wielding too many complex weapons!).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/14 16:22:58


5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
Made in us
Heroic Senior Officer





Woodbridge, VA

Ummm, no, the poisoned blades she carries are not hth weapons at all. As I already explained above..........

When/If i can use them to attack with in the combat, then they apply.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2010/05/14 16:29:26


Don "MONDO"
www.ironfistleague.com
Northern VA/Southern MD 
   
Made in us
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant




Ohio

Oops I got confused reading through everything. I do not think you would get an extra attack from either.

5000+ Points
3000+ Points
3500+ Points
2000+ Points
Cleveland Penny Pincher 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: